Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all!
Has there been a Dallas shaped hole in your life since the coming & goings of the Ewings disappeared off our screens? Well fear not because that hole can be filled with Dirty, Sexy, Money! Following the exploits of the darling Family, Trip the father and head of the clan, is he as clean as he makes out? His wife, what's her dirty little secret? The twins, Jeremy & Juliet,...
Published on 29 Oct 2008 by Mrs. F. L. Marney

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Season One
The idea behind this series is great. Nick George, a lawyer who grew up with the richest family in New York, the Darlings, because of his father being the family lawyer has escaped their clutches and made his own life; only to be dragged back in again following his father's suspicious death in a plane crash. It then follows his struggles to keep his morals and family in...
Published on 15 Jan 2010 by underthethumb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all!, 29 Oct 2008
By 
Mrs. F. L. Marney (Watford, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Has there been a Dallas shaped hole in your life since the coming & goings of the Ewings disappeared off our screens? Well fear not because that hole can be filled with Dirty, Sexy, Money! Following the exploits of the darling Family, Trip the father and head of the clan, is he as clean as he makes out? His wife, what's her dirty little secret? The twins, Jeremy & Juliet, can he find love & responsibility, is she more than an empty headed bimbo?, Karen the older daughter, how many men can she get through? And Brian the older son and man of God, who's not exactly a good Christian. Into this mix comes a lawyer who's father worked for the Darling family and has just died in plane crash, but who caused the plane the crash, The Darlings? The Mysterious Simon Elder?

A fabulous mix of comedy, drama, mystery, the super rich life style, great acting, especially from the great Donald Sutherland, secrets and sex. Highly enjoyable, ridiculous fun with a surprisingly terrific sound track and cinematography. High quality trashy fun, pour yourself a large glass of wine sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Season One, 15 Jan 2010
By 
underthethumb (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The idea behind this series is great. Nick George, a lawyer who grew up with the richest family in New York, the Darlings, because of his father being the family lawyer has escaped their clutches and made his own life; only to be dragged back in again following his father's suspicious death in a plane crash. It then follows his struggles to keep his morals and family in tact while serving the Darlings as their new lawyer.

So the concept is great but unfortunately there just isn't enough sustance to the story to carry it for the length of the series and while it keeps the main theme throughout of Nick's struggle and his investigation of his father's death, it only really skates over the surface of these ideas most of the time, concentrating on the more frivolous storylines of the spoilt children. It is still good viewing on the most part but I can't help feeling it could have been so much better if they had made it darker and grittier; especially considering the calibre of the actors taking part.

This box set contains all ten episodes from the first season, plus plenty of extras including deleted scenes and featurettes on the making of and characters of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Sexy Money comes up top trumps over other US drama!, 6 Jun 2009
By 
With the other drama series out in America at the moment 'Dirty Sexy Money' has surely come out on top. This opening season has been throughly enjoyable and has been led by the great Donald Sutherland. He shows that he still has it in him to produce a first class performance as the head of the Darling family. Themes of love, lust, murder and the odd politics thrown in give this drama something different, and I have to say at last some good television has finally come over from our American friends.

May this series long continue and be enjoyed by all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its simply darling!, 10 April 2009
By 
dolcevita (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Another quirky offering from across the pond ~ this is soap at its best!
Donald Sutherland shows again how real acting talent will always reign supreme and reign supreme he does as the head of the unhinged but totally fascinating Darling clan.
Its all here, the intrigue, the love interests, the murders, the politics but, somehow, pulled together it all works and leaves you wanting more.
No-one could try to sell this as serious drama but you know, sometimes, its good to just lay back, chill out and escape to another world!
Dx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb escapist entertainment - 10 stars!!!, 26 April 2014
I got this at my favourite s/h dvd emporium and had no clue about it save Donny Suddy was in it. It's sold as a modern day Dallas but it is far better than the Texas soap of yore. The acting is of high quality, the scripts are good and the storylines can be a bit OTT mad but it is a nice hearted show with a cast who all seem to enjoy making it. My favourite character was Brian, the aggressive priest superbly played by Blair Underwood. I even like Jeremy the rich brat expertly played by Seth Gabel, a character I would usually not like but he has charm and humour. Then there are the babes, Karen is very sexy, Juliet is a real cutie and my favourite was Nick's wife Lisa who is like a prettier Davina McCall in her sexy lingerie. I like how at the end she and Jeremy seem to be getting close. The extras are good and many, funny but short bloopers, good deleted scenes, a few small docus and three good audio commentaries on three episodes. DSM is good funny, kind of silly entertainment and it is well made and acted. Just relax and enjoy. Also, the depection of wealth was well put together - just right. I am definitely buying season 2 and suggest you give this show a try too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased the DVD because I liked the series on TV, very good and good value for money 3 out of 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Sexy Money season 1, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this. Loved all the episodes and bought it at a good price. Sad that the series ended but really enjoyed it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DALLAS + ARTHUR = DIRTY SEXY MONEY, 26 Aug 2012
By 
K. Doughty (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having just gone a little cold turkey from watching the last season of weeds (season 6) on Lovefilm, I was looking for my next USA box set fix. I then found Dirty Sexy Money - totally great fun. It's basically 'Dallas meets Arthur' with the antics of completely disfunctional super rich family being plus a parallel subplot of the family lawyer trying to get to the bottom of who killed his father. The latter is pretty much irrelevant but the over the top dramatics and shenanigans is compelling entertainment.

Nip Tuck, Burn Notice (which my brother in LA works on btw), Weeds, Sex in the City, Entourage - now Dirty Sexy Money - nobody makes these glossy, sharply scripted shows as dark and delicious as the USA.

Highly recommended 9/10

Ps. The lawyer's wife is a hottie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars RICHLY DYSFUNCTIONAL, 11 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The title is certainly more eye-catching than those of "Dallas", "Dynasty" and "The Colbys", but the content is the same - an OTT family awash with money, morals in rather shorter supply.

The Darlings' lawyer died in a plane crash after four decades of service. Son Nick (Peter Krause, ex-"Six Feet Under") has taken over. Outwardly always so calm, so reasonable, he has a secret agenda. Did one of the family have his father killed? He WILL find out.

And what a family! Patriarch Tripp oozes charisma and good humour but is ruthless and manipulative. (Donald Sutherland is superb, a major reason to watch.) Wife Letitia (Jill Clayburgh) loves drink and for forty years had a secret lover. (Work it out.) Oldest son Patrick (Michael Baldwin) is being steered towards the White House, but his transsexual mistress may prove an impediment. His brother Brian is a mean spirited preacher with an illegitimate son. Sister Karen alternates between weddings and divorces. Twins Juliet and Jeremy compete to see who can be the more empty headed and extravagant. Hovering in the wings and aiming for centre stage is powerful Simon Elder (Blair Underwood) - he with reason to hate the Darlings and to bring them crashing down. Nick remains astonishingly restrained in the circumstances, crises requiring almost 24/7 attention.

Not for a moment to be taken seriously, this is glossy escapism - a welcome diversion from television's grimmer offerings. Amidst the laughs there are occasional hints of greater substance. Note, for example, Brian - he initially so odious but gradually seeming to develop more worthy aspects. Lots of interesting, illuminating bonuses. (Often scenes in New York owe much to green screen.)

Recommended for those who wish simply to sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must See TV, 22 Jun 2009
By 
Ms. Judy Gudgeon (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This series is absolutely fabulous! The characters are excellently portrayed and the storyline addictive. Make sure you have plenty of spare time when you start watching this because once you have seen episode one, you will want to watch the remaining episodes in one go !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pilot
Pilot by Michael Grossman
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews