Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fawlty Towers, Series 2 (2001) - Almost Fawltless!
Much has been written about Fawlty Towers. I do not intend to repeat all of this in depth, but confine myself to saying that this mid seventies comedy series from John Cleese and Connie Booth was one of the most perfect comedies ever made. Characters and performances were pitch perfect, the set up ideal for a variety of hilarious situations. It made the irate hotelier...
Published on 8 Jun. 2012 by Victor

versus
26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Caveat emptor - you may not get what you expect
Firstly, let's get one thing clear; the sitcom episodes presented on the disc are among television's highest achievements. I can't recommend them highly enough.
However, would-be buyers should be wary of this particular DVD edition. The first thing to note is that the copy Amazon supplied to me has _none_ of the special features claimed above, with the sole exception...
Published on 30 Dec. 2008 by Simon Fell


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fawlty Towers, Series 2 (2001) - Almost Fawltless!, 8 Jun. 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Much has been written about Fawlty Towers. I do not intend to repeat all of this in depth, but confine myself to saying that this mid seventies comedy series from John Cleese and Connie Booth was one of the most perfect comedies ever made. Characters and performances were pitch perfect, the set up ideal for a variety of hilarious situations. It made the irate hotelier and his Spanish waiter into national icons. Part of the genius was that it wrapped up after 2 series, so there was no tailing off in quality or changes in cast that afflict so m any other classic comedies. It's just Fawltless, mixing elements of farce and absurdism to provide 12 episodes of howling laughter.

This 2001 DVD release OK. It contains all six episodes from series two on a single disc, with no real extras. The picture quality is OK. But these days there is the definitive 2009 remastered version box set of both series plus loads of extras at a very reasonable price, and I would recommend you purchase that set rather than this. So almost Fawltless, 5 stars for the superb comedy, but you're better off getting the 2009 release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faulty Towers, 4 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely fantastic. My 7 year old has just discovered Basil and laughs so much she falls off the sofa. Every house should have this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh Mr Fawlty....., 14 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant series, excellent fun at a good price.

However, some of the special features listed are not included, e.g. the "special illustrated booklet". It only has the director's commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Caveat emptor - you may not get what you expect, 30 Dec. 2008
Firstly, let's get one thing clear; the sitcom episodes presented on the disc are among television's highest achievements. I can't recommend them highly enough.
However, would-be buyers should be wary of this particular DVD edition. The first thing to note is that the copy Amazon supplied to me has _none_ of the special features claimed above, with the sole exception of the director's commentary (more about that below). No special interviews, no outtakes, no booklet (illustrated or otherwise) etc etc. Yes it does have scene selection, but I would hardly consider that a 'special feature'. I would have submitted a correction to the Amazon catalogue info, but if you check this you'll notice there's no mechanism for correction of content details like these - hence this review.
OK - perhaps you feel you can manage without the special features and just want to see the episodes. Fine, but maybe you should try not to support an edition which is so shoddily put together. Among the numerous annoyances this disc offers are the following:
(i) The levels on the original soundtracks of the episodes do not seem to have been remastered in any way, and consequently are inordinately quiet compared to modern DVD levels. Of course you can turn up your TV or sound system (a long way!), but then you'll find that every time you go back to the menu(s), the soundtrack on those is absolutely deafening! Whoever authored this DVD hasn't even taken the trouble to match up these levels to ensure a basic level of useability of the product.
(ii) The aforementioned menus are far too busy with several extended clips from the episodes themselves, plus animated icons etc. Whilst this is to some extent a matter of personal taste (or lack of it), owners of older DVD players should be aware that some mature players cannot handle these overly fussy menus, causing potential navigation difficulties.
(iii) The director's commentary (the sole special feature of all those offered that you actually get, remember) is a most peculiar affair. The commentary hasn't been mixed with the episode soundtrack, so you see the silent episode, with _only_ Bob Spiers' comments. But it's clear from some of the things that Mr Spiers says (and from some of the very long gaps in his commentary) that he _thinks_ we are also hearing the episode soundtrack. And of course we should be - it's the most pathetic cock-up. Once again, the person or team who authored this DVD haven't even bothered to make the most basic checks on the work they've done.
(iv) Finally - and least importantly but absolutely indicative of how much care has gone into this release - the copy I received (which I assume is typical) has a very nice silvery grey DVD case. Very nice, that is, until you realise that you can't read the information printed on the reverse of the printed inlay without taking it out of the box sleeve (or holding it open and squinting down the gap). I ask you....
So - great actual content, worthy of 5++ stars, but sloppy and unprofessional presentation, completely unworthy of the BBC. Hence the two stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Of British!, 4 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want to see a brilliant British sitcom then this is the DVD for you. All the episodes are hilarious and make great family viewing. A British classic-Fawlty Towers is something everyone should enjoy. I found this DVD appeals to all ages and is very entertaining. Series two has wonderful episodes, like 'The Kipper and the Corpse' and 'The Waldorf Salad.' I would recommend this DVD to anyone and it would be great for keeping the family entertained on a wet Sunday afternoon.

There is one word of warning when buying this DVD though-it unfortunately does not have all the special features which are listed like, the "special illustrated booklet." This is a shame because this would make the DVD perfect in my view. However, if you simply want to enjoy some fantastic comedy then I can't recommend this series highly enough. It is worthy of 5 stars and a whole lot more besides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 23 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The series is quite good, hilarious. But it was suppose to have Spanish audio and subtitles what is not there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Fawlty, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having come across an episode of Fawlty Towers on TV, my two daughters (and I) just had to watch the rest of them. They were great, just as I remember from the first time around!

And if you do a google search for connie booth you get to see even more of her.... on video dailymotion. (Best not do it with your daughters watching).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cleese's finest hour, 29 Aug. 2013
Fawlty Towers will live on forever as one of the best sitcoms ever long after all the so called "comedies" of today have all been discarded. It remains a classic after all these years and that is down to the quality of the writing by John Cleese and Connie Booth and the performances that the cast all give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic episode, 12 Mar. 2014
By 
John HOLLAS (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What more can be said about Fawlty Towers? Brilliant. They don't make them like that any more. I shall buy another episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is enough material for entire conference(Psychiatrist), 30 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
I saw Fawlty Towers for the first time by coincidence as a late TV show. That was the first time TV made me laughed to cry. I was still a student at that time and that was my evening pleasure after all day's study. Although I am not a fan of Monty Pyton and serial is now about 25 years old, I still find Fawlty Towers as the best comic serial ever. It is not slimy as some American serials and on the other hand it is not too black. John Cleese is very persuasive with his growing lies and pretending. I can't decide which episode were my favourite, but "The Psychiatrist" with checking the wall and "Waldorf Salad" with chef's letter, are certainly in the very top class. I have waited for DVD edition of Fawlty Towers and here it is. The media must be permanent because according to my previous experiences I will watch the serial again from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anniversary
Anniversary by Bob Spiers
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews