Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ghost and Mrs Jeffries
Abigail Hodges is murdered in her own home and Inspector Witherspoon is charged with investigating the case. This means that Mrs Jeffries and the inspector's other domestic staff have a new investigation to work on to save them from boredom. The subsequent mystery involves them with some very dodgy mediums and they rope in their friend the eccentric Luty Belle...
Published 15 months ago by Damaskcat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Light book
Cheap buy and an okay story. Good for holidays, quick and easy read. Nothing too taxing in the story line.
Published 11 months ago by Sheila C


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ghost and Mrs Jeffries, 28 Dec. 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Abigail Hodges is murdered in her own home and Inspector Witherspoon is charged with investigating the case. This means that Mrs Jeffries and the inspector's other domestic staff have a new investigation to work on to save them from boredom. The subsequent mystery involves them with some very dodgy mediums and they rope in their friend the eccentric Luty Belle Crookshank to help them.

This is an interesting Victorian mystery with no swearing or on the page violence and plenty of interesting and likeable characters. It is an entertaining light read for those who like their mysteries to present them with a puzzle to be solved.

This series can be read in any order though if you read them in the order in which they were published you can track the developing relationships between the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, nicely told, 14 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost and Mrs Jeffries (Mrs.Jeffries Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished this book on special offer (more or less in one sitting) and am extremely pleased to see there is a whole series of them. Very nicely written comedy mystery and a lovely idea to have a whole group of Downstairs sleuths helping the ineffectual Inspector. The characterisation of the various servants could have been stronger, but since this wasn't the first book in the series then maybe Ms Brightwell already dealt with that in previous books - I will now go to the first in the series and find out! Good fun and a good read at the offer price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ghost and Mrs Jeffries, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost and Mrs Jeffries (Mrs.Jeffries Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This is a lovely little story to relax with a coffee and read. I thoroughly enjoyed it. It made a change from the usual detective stories that make you sit on the edge of your seat. Having read this one I have purchased more. I would certainly recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Jefferies, 27 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost and Mrs Jeffries (Mrs.Jeffries Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
A really good fun easy read. Would be a really good tv series as well. BBC please take note la
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As always, excellent !, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy reading the whole series and have them all. Sometimes, however, I am taken in by the three in a volume series, since the title is different. Please make sure you mention clearly that it is a three in one book or I end up with extra copies which I don't have time to sell again as it's time-consuming to take pictures and mail things out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ghost and Mrs Jeffries, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost and Mrs Jeffries (Mrs.Jeffries Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
a very good read and interesting facts also funny at times with a bit of a twist I would recommend this book to all who read detective story's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Light book, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost and Mrs Jeffries (Mrs.Jeffries Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Cheap buy and an okay story. Good for holidays, quick and easy read. Nothing too taxing in the story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ghost and Mrs Jeffries, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost and Mrs Jeffries (Mrs.Jeffries Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, it was very unusual and not the normal style of whodunnit at all. Kept me interested all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good interesting read, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost and Mrs Jeffries (Mrs.Jeffries Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I gfave this rating as I enjoyed the book and found it a bit different from what I expected.
Would recommend it as an absorbing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ghost and Mrs Jeffries, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost and Mrs Jeffries (Mrs.Jeffries Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Another good book about Mrs Jeffries, where she engages not just the household staff but a friend as well,long may she continue
with her sleuthing...Highly Recommend all these books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews