Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mother's shame
I loved this book from beginning to end and never imagined the ending ....as it turned out,a truly enjoyable read
Published 20 months ago by christine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars feedback
Quick service with no problems. I got this book for my mum who hasn't read it yet,but she likes Rosie Goodwin`s books
Published 16 months ago by Fiona Palabinskas


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mother's shame, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mother's Shame (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book from beginning to end and never imagined the ending ....as it turned out,a truly enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saga Storytelling at its best., 26 April 2014
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Mother's Shame (Paperback)
It does not matter what class you come from, a baby born out of wedlock is the same in 1857. These secrets can shock the community and destroy a family. In Nuneaton, the only place some of these young girls go is a place called Hatters Hall.

Hatters Hall, is the local asylum, but with a special wing for unmarried pregnant women. It is in this place that Isabelle finds herself, taken in the night from her family home by her father and incarcerated until such times as the shame is over and she can come home and marry.

Maria finds herself at Hatters Hall in very different circumstances, to work. She is put with Isabelle and has to be her maid, as Isabelle is in fact a lady of class and Maria is very much not. Together an unlikely friendship forms and they find they have something in common and also that they both want to escape Hatters Hall. For it does not matter if you work there or are a patient, you will always be trapped.

They both go on a journey which is going to take strength, courage and determination, not to just survive the journey but at the destination as well. The destination is Tasmania.

The story moves across oceans, as Maria and Isabelle, as well as Isabelle's brother Joshua embark on a very different lifestyle to one that they have all been used to. At their destination, they are tested again as the culture is very different to that of England and it even seems possible that life is easier for them all.

Like any saga, there is enough ups and downs in this novel and the contrasts between different classes, backgrounds, cultures and religion are all covered so well by Rosie Goodwin. She knows how to create such a strong story with equally strong and where needed weak characters (Isabelle's father for instance) that the book pulls you right in from the first page and you actually care about them and want only the best.

I enjoyed the book, especially the long and arduous journey, it was not simply a day's flight on a plane. This was going to take them four months. I felt every wave and storm as they made their way to the future. Even when Isabelle became rather trying, I still felt for her. When Maria had to confront her past on the ship, I wept until I knew she was going to be safe.

If you like family saga's, or simply cracking good stories with lots to keep you turning the page, then this is certainly the book and probably the author for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another excellent read by Rosie Goodwin - waiting eagerly for the next book, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mother's Shame (Kindle Edition)
Rosie Goodwin captivates the reader in all her novels. A Mother's Shame is a good insight into life in that era.
Looking forward to Rosie's next novel.
Excellent service from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Areally great read, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mother's Shame (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoy Rosie Goodwin books they keep your interest right to the end would recommend her books to everyone always sad when I get to the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mother's Shame (Kindle Edition)
The excellent story writing of Rosie Goodwin makes you feel like you are there , looking over on the events of the tale. The story covers the lives of two young girls, Maria and Isabella , both from completely different backgrounds and the story of how the lives entwined. The ending leaves you imagining how the out come will change their lives .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic writer, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mother's Shame (Kindle Edition)
i have read all rosies books and they never let you down, she is an absolute star, this last book i was really sad to reach the end, i wanted it to go on and on, a must read and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mother's Shame (Kindle Edition)
I could not put this down. Superb. Brilliant. What am I going to do now. If you want a cracking good story, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mothers Shame, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mother's Shame (Kindle Edition)
As always Rosie Goodwin has done it again brilliant book. Look forward to the next book, never have been disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mother's Shame (Hardcover)
Rosie Goodwin is one of my favourite authors, I have all her books. The trouble is I read them in a few days and have a long wait for the next one.
This book is up to Rosie usual high standard, I couldn't put it down and read late into the night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Motherls Shame, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mother's Shame (Kindle Edition)
A very moving read, loved it from beginning to the very end ! This is the first book by this author that I've read, can't wait to start another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Mother's Shame
A Mother's Shame by Rosie Goodwin
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews