Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satirical Hollywood
The team behind A Mighty Wind and Best in Show return with this sly satirical take on how the 'buzz'on a movie can lead to all sorts of trouble.When the cast of the small Jewish themed movie Home for Purim start to find out that there is such a buzz on their movie the actors,producers and PR all start speculating what may happen.As the buzz grows what started as a gossip...
Published on 8 Jun 2007 by shansu69

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quietly amusing mockumentary style satire of Hollywood
Christopher Guest set a high bar for mockumentaries, with the likes of Best in Show and of course, Spinal Tap. However, in his latest outing he fails to reach those heights, even if he makes a movie which is still intermittently mirthsome and has some heart to go with the satire.
The mockumentary style is toned down a little, making this a slightly more conventional...
Published on 20 Feb 2008 by Mr. Stephen Kennedy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satirical Hollywood, 8 Jun 2007
The team behind A Mighty Wind and Best in Show return with this sly satirical take on how the 'buzz'on a movie can lead to all sorts of trouble.When the cast of the small Jewish themed movie Home for Purim start to find out that there is such a buzz on their movie the actors,producers and PR all start speculating what may happen.As the buzz grows what started as a gossip item on an internet web site gets into the mainstream and the local LA media start to take interest.

The usual suspects Christopher Guest,Gene Levy,Catherine O 'Hara,Harry Shearer are joined by the likes of Parker Posey and Ricky Gervais who plays a smarmy Hollywood studio 'suit' who wants the title of the movie changed to give it a wider audience.As the time passes the studio gets its way and the movie becomes Home for Thanksgiving and the actors involved veterans Marilyn Hack and Victor Allen Miller played by O'Hara and Shearer change from jobbing actors into semi-stars.

The main cast have done this thing before and are uniformely good and the ending set three months after the day of the Oscar nominations and the disappointments that are involved are also funny to anyone who has even a smidgen of knowledge of how Hollywood works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much to enjoy!, 19 Nov 2007
By 
M. F. Griffioen (amsterdam Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading quite a few disappointing reviews of this film, I felt less and less in a hurry to go and see it, even though I am a big Christopher Guest fan. But boy, am I glad I finally did buy a copy! Even if it feels a bit sketchy in places, every scene is a joy to watch, and the outtakes on the DVD are easily as good as anything that did make the final cut. Christopher Guest generously gives each member of his wonderful cast at least one scene to shine, and shine they do. Much has been said about Catherine O'Hara's performance, and she IS wonderful, both heartbreaking and hilarious as the character actress who gets bitten by the Oscar-bug. Fred Willard and the wonderful Jane Lynch are absolutely hysterical as the morning-tv show hosts from hell, who aren't that far away from anything we actually see on tv every day. As with all good satire, it feels like you are watching a documentary. When you see Catherine O'Hara's character watching the oscar nominees being read out on tv, waiting for her own name to be mentioned, you realise: that's what it actually must be like for these actresses! So, all in all, perhaps not Christopher Guest's most solid film, but I assure you, if you have liked his work before, you are going to love this one. I certainly did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quietly amusing mockumentary style satire of Hollywood, 20 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Christopher Guest set a high bar for mockumentaries, with the likes of Best in Show and of course, Spinal Tap. However, in his latest outing he fails to reach those heights, even if he makes a movie which is still intermittently mirthsome and has some heart to go with the satire.
The mockumentary style is toned down a little, making this a slightly more conventional film than usual. When the cast of has-beens and preening wannabes of a new B-movie `Home For Purim' find out that they are generating Oscar buzz, they start to believe the hype and act in increasingly erratic ways as their egos clash with the artificiality of Hollywood chat shows, agents, and producers.
There is definitely some genuine wit here - `Oscars - the backbone of an industry that doesn't have a backbone', but some characters work better than others, and there are few really scathing moments you'll remember long after the movie. (`French movies? Hate the subtitles... I keep thinking I am watching breaking news...').
Highlights include the truly dreadfully shallow Hollywood chat show presenters, and more especially the actors strained smiles as they listen to unforgivably crass questions coming their way. The moment when the show goes out to interview the `losers' who were not nominated is terrific, and seals the deal to turn warm smiles into chuckles for this reviewer. Best of all is the cameo from Ricky Gervais, the studio director who asks if it is possible to `tone down the Jewishness'.
A success then, worth watching, just not a rolling in the aisles laugh-fest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guest and Levy skewer Hollywood, but Catherine O'Hara makes it work, 30 July 2007
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
When a rumor spreads that an aging, passed-by actress named Marilyn Hack is in line for an Oscar nomination for her role in the yet-to-be-released corn-pone movie, Home for Purim, the gods of ambition, resentment, hope, angst and envy descend on Tinsel Town. This isn't one of Christopher Guest's and his partner Eugene Levy's docu-comedy satires, it's a cocked-eyebrow story about Hollywood pretensions. For Your Consideration has some clever set-ups, some genuinely funny actors strutting about while they improvise and some funny bits. But how do you successfully satirize something -- Hollywood -- which already is so bloated with self-esteem we snicker at the name?

Guest and Levy give us great takes on such smarmy situations as the Oscar race, the E! Network and it's clones, actor neediness, agents and writers, and self-justifying ambition. Trouble is, it's all being done in the real world while we watch. Few things in fiction are as awesome as in real life studios and stars campaign for Oscar wins. Few things are as awful as entertainment "reporters" with their inane, insincere questions and perfect grooming. Can one satirize performance art by screaming the p-word when in real life an artist on stage covers her nude body with Hershey's chocolate syrup and moans?

The idea of the movie, for me, just doesn't work, but that doesn't mean it lacks lots of funny piece-parts. The stand-out is Catherine O'Hara. She plays Marilyn Hack, an over-the-hill actress who is stunned to hear her name used in the same sentence as "Oscar." She doesn't believe it...she wants to believe it...she does believe it. From an actress resigned to hanging on by her fingertips in the movie world, she winds up blow-dried, lips plumped, in a too-tight short-short skirt doing the TV late-night entertainment rounds. O'Hara is magnificent...totally unafraid as an actress to show herself as the dumpy Hack, and then transformed through chemistry, injections, dye and corsets into a caricature of a Hollywood star. More importantly, O'Hara is so skilled as an actress she makes us like Marilyn Hack. Plus, she's funny.

Too bad, but I didn't heard any rumors about O'Hara and an Oscar nomination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good enough, 16 Oct 2008
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Christopher Guest, the Master of the Mockumentary, takes a satirical look at movie-making by using the old movie-with-a-movie technique. We see a really bad, low-budget movie called, "Home for Purim" being made by a motley collection of actors, writers, publicists, make-up artists, etc. One by one the actors hear they might be on the short-list for an Oscar nod so they make the talk-show circuit and await the official announcement.

I liked that this movie was less a mockumentary and more of a straight movie; although writer/director/star Guest is known for having his actors improvise the dialogue, this seemed more scripted and conventional. It isn't as hilarious as Best In Show, but it's certainly cute and enjoyable throughout thanks to his talented troupe of actors, especially Catherine O'Hara and Fred Willard. Unfortunately, the cast is way too large, giving everyone less screen time and making each character less connected to the plot and to the audience.

Poking fun of Hollywood is always fun and I enjoyed this movie, even though it's not Guest's best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much to consider., 19 July 2010
This really isn't one of Christopher Guest's better efforts, the characters are surprisingly weak and there are few laughs, and the film is really more of a satire on the Hollywood awards system. Guest's usually small tight-knit cast seems overblown with too many characters which have little chemistry with each other, there's even a completely pointless cameo from Ricky Gervais who looks genuinely uncomfortable. The only real highlight of the film was Catherine O'Hara's character's transformation from modest middle aged actress to surgically enhanced Hollywood glamour-puss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny already, 2 Sep 2008
This is very clever hilarious satire. Like Woody Allen the jokes are sometime subtle. Some of the cameos are superb, watch for Nina Conti and her cheeky monkey. However, I suspect a lot of the joke will be missed unless you know what the Jewish festival Purim is. As Ricky Gervais's character says, the film needs to be less Jewish to appeal, but that would destroy the point of the film.

The one disappointment is the ending, it fizzles out rather than having a definitive ending. I guess that the weakness of the mockumentary style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to standard!, 21 Jun 2007
I had very high expectations for this flick, being a big fan of Guest's output.

Ok, I was a little disapointed that its wasn't blatently funny in parts like Tap or Best in Show but lets face it if you enjoy a Guest movie once, you'll enjoy it forever. For Your Consideration will not be an exception to this rule. I'm already looking foreward to my next screening, anticipating those subtle gags which will stand out as hilarious this time.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The real deal, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Low key, brilliantly played and portrayed- here are the cast reunited once again in a dazzling display of masterly acting and observational skills.
I loved it- you will love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Am I missing something?, 12 Mar 2013
This was one of those films that everyone told me to watch cos it was hilarious.
I did not find it funny at all! Mind you, I hated Spinal Tap too & that was SUPPOSED to be funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For Your Consideration
For Your Consideration by Christopher Guest
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews