Customer Reviews


195 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!
A bus full of employees off for a retreat get stuck in traffic on a suspension bridge, which then collapses. However one guy, Sam, has a premonition of the disaster and manages to get himself and seven colleagues to safety before they get sliced and diced. What a stroke of good luck...or so they thought.

The premise is the same as in the previous films, if you...
Published on 15 April 2012 by Amy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Anticipation of death is worse than death itself
Horror franchises typically stumble when they get to Part Fives. Friday the 13th Part V: terrible. Saw V: awful. Halloween 5: appalling. Strangely many of them use 3D as a way of pulling in the punters for gore effects that splatter into three dimensions. Final Destination 5 is nothing new and no exception to this rule despite not being completely awful.

A...
Published on 18 Oct. 2012 by Inspector Gadget


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 15 April 2012
By 
Amy (Cambs, England) - See all my reviews
A bus full of employees off for a retreat get stuck in traffic on a suspension bridge, which then collapses. However one guy, Sam, has a premonition of the disaster and manages to get himself and seven colleagues to safety before they get sliced and diced. What a stroke of good luck...or so they thought.

The premise is the same as in the previous films, if you cheat death it will come after you as your time is up. Although in this sequel there is a twist, if you kill someone else they will take your death and you will live out their remaining years.

I am a big fan of the first two Final Destination films but was sorely disappointed by the third and fourth films, however this sequel was back on track and was fantastic in the cinema 3D version.

The disaster scene on the bridge was really impressive and the death scenes imaginitive, along with the return of a rather creepy Tony Todd, made this film on par with the first two.

One of the things I love about these films are that they do not take themselves seriously. They're not scary, they make you laugh and think 'Ouch, that's gonna hurt' at the same time, with plenty of blood and gore thown in for good measure.

I also loved the twist at the end, which I did not see coming and was really impressed with.

This film is a must see for any comedy/gore fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WATCH YOUR STEP, 19 Aug. 2013
If you have seen one of these before, you know the plot. The movie introduces the characters, in this case they are a group of office workers. They travel. One has a premonition of death and saves the group only to find out there exists an unseen expiration date on all of us, and if you go past that date you must die in a bizarre abnormal manner. If you have sat through all the "Friday the 13th" movies and thought they were all different, you might try this series. As for me, knowing basically the whole plot before it unfolds...over the last 5 films is a bit boring. The re-addition of Tony Todd issuing a warning as if he is "Death" himself was one of the highlights. Many of the main characters are named after famous horror directors: Peter Friedkin is named after "The Exorcist" director William Friedkin; Candice Hooper is named after Tobe Hooper who directed "The Texas Chain Saw Massacre" and "Poltergeist";and Olivia Castle is named after William Castle who directed "The Tingler" and the original "House on Haunted Hill."

Death has rules, just like killing vampires and zombies. You would think if you cheat death, then you must die. However, that is not the case. If you kill someone who wasn't supposed to die, you get their years.

It is my understanding the DVD will have an alternate ending. The gore was fairly decent. The movie has a lot of things thrown at the camera. Clearly it was designed for 3-D.

F-bomb, no sex or nudity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rollercoaster Ride but same old Final Destination format, 8 Jan. 2012
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
The problem with the Final Destination series of horror movies is that they are a bit same ol' same ol'. They need to change the format a bit as they start off with a disaster where a group survive, and then they start to die in the same order that they would have died had they not been saved, and so on. Having said that the Final Destination movies are fun if you are not squeamish and don't let the Computer Generated Images, blood and gore get to you. Frankly, I find most of it quite laughable. If somebody gets their head blown to smithereens in the movies, it looks like it was an elephant that got it's head blown to bits. Sorry, is that too much information?

In Final Destination 5, the horror starts when a group of employees of the same company are on a coach, travelling across a bridge, which starts to fall apart in the middle. One of the employees has a premonition while sitting there on the coach, and yells to everyone to get off. And here starts the same old Final Destination pattern where lives are saved and then they begin to have accidents and die later in the order that they died in the premonition. It's a fun movie, as I say, but I do think the writer could think of a different format. All the same, there is a great deal of inventiveness in how individuals can shuffle off this mortal coil and if you are thinking of having laser treatment on your eyes, you might like to get it done before you watch this. (Oh, and it has been argued on other websites that what happened is impossible but we have to remember this: it is a movie! Half the stuff that happens is scientifically impossible. So just sit back with your popcorn and enjoy the rollercoaster ride.

Further reviews of mine can be seen at: Movies and Books World, shown on my profile. Thanks for reading this. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Anticipation of death is worse than death itself, 18 Oct. 2012
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Horror franchises typically stumble when they get to Part Fives. Friday the 13th Part V: terrible. Saw V: awful. Halloween 5: appalling. Strangely many of them use 3D as a way of pulling in the punters for gore effects that splatter into three dimensions. Final Destination 5 is nothing new and no exception to this rule despite not being completely awful.

A bunch of cronies on an office retreat survive a suspension bridge collapse after one of the group inexplicably has a premonition (sounds overly familiar) of said disaster. Death doesn't like to be cheated...Tony Todd...ironic accidents...blah blah...exposition...you're all going to die...yadda yadda...one by one...blah blah blah blah. It's the same old rehashed plot, recycled dialogue, and overdone deaths that seem to defy logic and physics. As usual there is a last minute twist, which by this point you're just waiting to be revealed and get it finished with, that doesn't quite add up for many reasons, but coherence has hardly been a strong point of the series.

Basically, all this film offers are a few scenes of dread and tension which are all undone by cheap, fake, quick, deflating CGI gore effects. Not once in my life have I ever been horrified by computer-generated blood. Give me some tangible gore by Chris Walas or Tom Savini any day over something half-heatedly cartooned onto the movie in post-production.

This series has been cheating death for 12 years and it's high time that Final Destination reached its final destination.

The Blu-ray is in nice-looking 2.40:1 1080p with DTS HD-MA sound with a whole bunch of extras I couldn't care less about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than I expected, 31 May 2012
The 4th installment was incredibly disappointing... problem with made for 3D movies: the majority of them are only made to look good when you're wearing the glasses, everything else tends to go South due to lack of attention on anything other than being a 3D sensation (which is never going to be something I care about much).

Due to this, I wasn't that optimistic about FD 5, however I must say, it was waaaay back on form! The death scenes are imaginative and very gruesome. The big mass death scene at the beginning was very intense. The build up to the fatalities are back to their best, teasing the audience for a good few minutes as to what is actually going to kill them! The dark humour is awesome.

The rules have changed a bit in this installment, which I wasn't too sure about at first, but it was a very cool twist that separated it from the rest a bit.

Oh and Tony Todd is back (best known for Candyman) major plus!

The ending is brilliant, I won't give it away... but loyal fans of the series will love it! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 26 Feb. 2015
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favourite 3-D horror film.
I love the whole franchise and this is another solid effort at the whole you can't cheat death thing.
However where this film really scores is if you are into 3-D then you are in for a treat.
The 3-D special effects are brilliant. There is one bit when even on a second viewing it still managed to make me jump.
One of my all time 3D destinations.
Terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best 3D film ever!, 22 Dec. 2011
Firstly, as my review title shows, I'd like to point out that this film has (by a considerable way) the best 3D effects I've ever seen in a film. To many films put minimal effort into the effects but still charge the extra 2 pound for admission. The effects are so good that I would probably drop my review rating to 4 stars if you are watching in 2D (nothing against the film its just the 3D turned it from 'great' into 'awesome'!

Now onto the film. Its pretty much what you would expect from a final destination film. People cheat death and then die in very horrific ways. The acting is much improved on previous entries and the deaths more suspenseful and inventive. As others have stated I didnt care too much for the 'you can avoid death by doing this' plot line but the rest of the film flowed well. Finally just when you think you can't enjoy the film anymore they throw in a jaw dropping twist which will be appreciated by all fans of the series. My mate and I just looked at each other in a definate OMFG moment! Neither of us even remotely saw it coming and we left the cinema very happy indeed.

To summarise I think I would rank this in my top 3 films of 2011. It has everything, AMAZING 3D, humour, suspense, grizly deaths, massive set pieces and a fantasic plot twist. You dont even need to think about buying, just do it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Same again please, 10 Oct. 2012
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The original Final Destination in this on-going saga was a fresh breath of air. At a time when teen horror was becoming stale, FD was inventive, original and full of surprises. Now in its fifth instalment, and with surely more to come, the ever diminishing quality of the premise is starting to show some cracks.

The main problem is that you can map out the entire film from the start and could probably even guess the gruesome ways in which the gloriously over the top gory deaths play out. Whilst the concept of death trying to tie up loose ends by offing the ones who cheated him is still an interesting and varied take on the slasher/stalker film, it has now become predictable with little in the way of suspense.

However the set pieces are still fun and the opening disaster is, as always, a feast for the eyes. It remains fun to guess how each character is going to meet their end. The set up never ends in the way it would at first appear. Where the cracks start to show is in the environment and situations the characters find themselves in. A familiar massage parlour death takes place as well as a death during a sporting practice which shows that the imagination is starting to wear thin. There is an attempt at a twist and a slightly more suprising ending lifts the whole film, but overall the attempt to inject some much needed life into the concept gets brushed away completely by the end.

The characters are all non-descript and do not offer much in the way of empathy or endearment. They are cannon fodder of the highest order. In reality though this is not a character piece and the over the top deaths are all that matters. In this department FD5 delivers as normal. Finding ever more ludicrous ways to end a scene and a life.

FD5's main strength is in its entertainment. There is little in the way of redeeming features and nothing that will surprise you but it is mindless entertainment. The 3d is shamelessly thrown in your face but again does not diminish the fun to be had. In fact if you are having a cheeky giggle throughout this is probably the film for you. Silly, brainless entertainment. Business as usual then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars You Have Reached Your Average Destination, 17 Aug. 2012
By 
For a long time the adage that each sequel must be worse than the next did not apply to the `Final Destination' franchise. Films 1-3 all brought something to the table and could all make a case that they were the best. Then the 3D monstrosity came about that was `The Final Destination', somehow making death's design boring. With my temperature towards the series turned to lukewarm, `Final destination 5' would have to do something to break out of the slump. The 5th instalment may not be great, but it is far better effort than `4'.

When a group of work colleagues all get on a the same coach together you pretty much know what you are in for; one horrific bridge collapse, some time reversal and we are safely in Final Destination territory. It does not matter who the people are, they are merely victims standing in the way of death's design. The facelessness of the actors on offer has become worse as the franchise progresses and `5' does suffer from using a bunch of handsome nobodies, only comedic relief in the form of David Koechner and P J Byrne stand out.

With a disposable cast, `5' had to do something for the increasingly stale films and it does. An additional rule is added to death's design that shakes things up nicely. All of a sudden for the bravest souls there may be a way out. This deviation from the strict formula that has held films 1-4 together is a blessing and makes the story bits between deaths slightly more bearable. Unfortunately, the death scenes are just not as good as in earlier films with only excruciating Gymnasium antics being memorable. There is an interesting ending to the film that long term fans of the series will appreciate, but there is no hiding the fact that the films are just no longer innovative enough. No longer is a Final Destination film a must see for horror fans, now they are passable entertainment.

The lack of 3D on the BluRay is nowhere near as intrusive as in the last film so HD is the way to go. The featurettes are good fun, especially the one exploring the 5th instalment's place in the franchise as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I'm beginning to notice a pattern:), 26 Sept. 2011
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Death does not like to be cheated. Not only does death it like to be cheated, it apparently has a sense of irony, a macabre sense of humor, and compared to the previous movies in the series, seemingly endless and original ways of restoring the balance.

I went to see this with two friends, one of whom had never seen a Final Destination movie, and she definitely did not want to see this one, she wanted to sneak into the Smurf movie instead.

So, as the movie introduces us to our usual collection of destiny deceivers, it presents the different characters in new and interesting ways. This time, a group of people going on a company retreat, though not all of the people work for the company. This time it's not a plane about to take off, a freeway pileup, or racing cars in a stadium. It's a bus on a bridge, and I was surprised to be so gripped by what happened on the bridge I forgot what happened in previous movies. The further you get into the movie, the more gripping it gets.

If my friend wanted to flee she could not, maybe because she was rooted to her seat. Amateurs.

FD5 offers an interesting twist on a successful formula. Death has a new rule, by which it can be successfully cheated, and this creates an ethical dilemma for our participants. We get the stock characters, the suspicious police detective, who thinks the accident was no accident. The creepy mysterious guy who turns up at every scene and tells our survivors death does not like to be cheated. Is he death personified, you wonder? And then the bodies start piling up.

"If they didn't deserve to die, then why do you deserve to live."

The scenes are great, and highly inventive, and they tease and taunt you.

Particularly the gymnastic routine, will it be the pointy screw on the balance beam, the loosening bolt on the parallel bar, the frayed wire to the fan, spilling water creeping across the floor, or the defective and shaky over head air conditioner.

As the girl prepares for the Lasik scene, you think, doesn't she know? For the Lasik scene. I had to close my eyes at times. How it toys with your emotions. You can be squirming one moment while anticipating the next.

As I looked around I noticed many people covering their eyes at certain points. A little kid sitting next to me seemed strangely unperturbed by the goings on.

And, as a trainee chef ambles into the restaurant and there are naked flames, long skewers, and sharp knives everywhere, you wonder what is he thinking.

With our usual assortment of up and coming actors, I wondered who the survivors would be. I remember thinking she is too pretty to die early, but that was short sighted of me, as death does not respect the pretty.

Having seen almost all the Final Destination movies, I consider this the best since the original. Obviously, these types of movies are not for everyone, particularly not my smurf loving friend. But, if you have enjoyed Final Destination before, you will undoubtedly enjoy this one again. I loved the twist at the end.

I hope you found this review helpful, and I think you will enjoy the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Destination 5
Final Destination 5 by Steven Quale
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews