Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
I bought this film with not many expectations and whist reading the reviews I Found that many people were complimenting the 3D effects and thought why not?

Arrived quickly, stuck it on and I was very impressed, the depth and effects of the film are brilliant, I'm not just saying it, I do actually mean it! Don't think, just buy it!
Published on 20 Jan 2012 by HH

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Anticipation of death is worse than death itself
Horror franchises typically stumble when they get to Part Fives. Friday the 13th Part V: terrible. Saw V: awful. Halloween 5: appalling. Strangely many of them use 3D as a way of pulling in the punters for gore effects that splatter into three dimensions. Final Destination 5 is nothing new and no exception to this rule despite not being completely awful.

A...
Published on 18 Oct 2012 by Inspector Gadget


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 20 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this film with not many expectations and whist reading the reviews I Found that many people were complimenting the 3D effects and thought why not?

Arrived quickly, stuck it on and I was very impressed, the depth and effects of the film are brilliant, I'm not just saying it, I do actually mean it! Don't think, just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WATCH YOUR STEP, 19 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If you have seen one of these before, you know the plot. The movie introduces the characters, in this case they are a group of office workers. They travel. One has a premonition of death and saves the group only to find out there exists an unseen expiration date on all of us, and if you go past that date you must die in a bizarre abnormal manner. If you have sat through all the "Friday the 13th" movies and thought they were all different, you might try this series. As for me, knowing basically the whole plot before it unfolds...over the last 5 films is a bit boring. The re-addition of Tony Todd issuing a warning as if he is "Death" himself was one of the highlights. Many of the main characters are named after famous horror directors: Peter Friedkin is named after "The Exorcist" director William Friedkin; Candice Hooper is named after Tobe Hooper who directed "The Texas Chain Saw Massacre" and "Poltergeist";and Olivia Castle is named after William Castle who directed "The Tingler" and the original "House on Haunted Hill."

Death has rules, just like killing vampires and zombies. You would think if you cheat death, then you must die. However, that is not the case. If you kill someone who wasn't supposed to die, you get their years.

It is my understanding the DVD will have an alternate ending. The gore was fairly decent. The movie has a lot of things thrown at the camera. Clearly it was designed for 3-D.

F-bomb, no sex or nudity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rollercoaster Ride but same old Final Destination format, 8 Jan 2012
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The problem with the Final Destination series of horror movies is that they are a bit same ol' same ol'. They need to change the format a bit as they start off with a disaster where a group survive, and then they start to die in the same order that they would have died had they not been saved, and so on. Having said that the Final Destination movies are fun if you are not squeamish and don't let the Computer Generated Images, blood and gore get to you. Frankly, I find most of it quite laughable. If somebody gets their head blown to smithereens in the movies, it looks like it was an elephant that got it's head blown to bits. Sorry, is that too much information?

In Final Destination 5, the horror starts when a group of employees of the same company are on a coach, travelling across a bridge, which starts to fall apart in the middle. One of the employees has a premonition while sitting there on the coach, and yells to everyone to get off. And here starts the same old Final Destination pattern where lives are saved and then they begin to have accidents and die later in the order that they died in the premonition. It's a fun movie, as I say, but I do think the writer could think of a different format. All the same, there is a great deal of inventiveness in how individuals can shuffle off this mortal coil and if you are thinking of having laser treatment on your eyes, you might like to get it done before you watch this. (Oh, and it has been argued on other websites that what happened is impossible but we have to remember this: it is a movie! Half the stuff that happens is scientifically impossible. So just sit back with your popcorn and enjoy the rollercoaster ride.

Further reviews of mine can be seen at: Movies and Books World, shown on my profile. Thanks for reading this. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Gore, Predictable & A Bloody Good Ending!, 24 Dec 2011
1st off this movie still isn't as good as the first 2, but saying that it's still a pretty good movie! The gore was pretty spot on, these maybe the best effects out of all 5 movies (Especially the Bridge), theres also a new rule discovered....but can that infact help cheat death? Nicholas D'Agosto is probably the only likable character, the rest are pretty annoying! Some of the deaths are predictable well for me the 1st two were! how can't they be after all these sequels? Tony Todd has been brought back after all this time...you'll find out why once its over!

Now for the ending.....5 words....Just WOW! and Very Unexpecting!

Overall it's another great movie from the franchise, let's just hope that they've finished with these movies now as it ended too perfectly to carry on....5 star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the sequels, 14 May 2013
By 
maximus (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The first movie made an impact because it was quite original in its genre, at the time. They became a bit more samey and ironic after that, almost as if not a suspense "horror" movie, which the first one was. This 5th one captures some of the spirit of the first in the franchise and has some interesting new twists. No spoilers here, so you will have to watch it to know. But to me it does sort of round off the set very nicely (assuming they keep them at 5).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Anticipation of death is worse than death itself, 18 Oct 2012
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Horror franchises typically stumble when they get to Part Fives. Friday the 13th Part V: terrible. Saw V: awful. Halloween 5: appalling. Strangely many of them use 3D as a way of pulling in the punters for gore effects that splatter into three dimensions. Final Destination 5 is nothing new and no exception to this rule despite not being completely awful.

A bunch of cronies on an office retreat survive a suspension bridge collapse after one of the group inexplicably has a premonition (sounds overly familiar) of said disaster. Death doesn't like to be cheated...Tony Todd...ironic accidents...blah blah...exposition...you're all going to die...yadda yadda...one by one...blah blah blah blah. It's the same old rehashed plot, recycled dialogue, and overdone deaths that seem to defy logic and physics. As usual there is a last minute twist, which by this point you're just waiting to be revealed and get it finished with, that doesn't quite add up for many reasons, but coherence has hardly been a strong point of the series.

Basically, all this film offers are a few scenes of dread and tension which are all undone by cheap, fake, quick, deflating CGI gore effects. Not once in my life have I ever been horrified by computer-generated blood. Give me some tangible gore by Chris Walas or Tom Savini any day over something half-heatedly cartooned onto the movie in post-production.

This series has been cheating death for 12 years and it's high time that Final Destination reached its final destination.

The Blu-ray is in nice-looking 2.40:1 1080p with DTS HD-MA sound with a whole bunch of extras I couldn't care less about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than I expected, 31 May 2012
The 4th installment was incredibly disappointing... problem with made for 3D movies: the majority of them are only made to look good when you're wearing the glasses, everything else tends to go South due to lack of attention on anything other than being a 3D sensation (which is never going to be something I care about much).

Due to this, I wasn't that optimistic about FD 5, however I must say, it was waaaay back on form! The death scenes are imaginative and very gruesome. The big mass death scene at the beginning was very intense. The build up to the fatalities are back to their best, teasing the audience for a good few minutes as to what is actually going to kill them! The dark humour is awesome.

The rules have changed a bit in this installment, which I wasn't too sure about at first, but it was a very cool twist that separated it from the rest a bit.

Oh and Tony Todd is back (best known for Candyman) major plus!

The ending is brilliant, I won't give it away... but loyal fans of the series will love it! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3D finaly works!!!, 8 Feb 2012
The final destination movies are basicaly all the same. The only thing that difers is the cast and the premonition. As the franchise went on, the casting was worst, the plot was worst and even the 3D on part 4 didn't save the movie.
On part 5 allthought the actors were not very good, the plot, the 3D and the ending made the experience worth to watch and own.
Cool movie, cool deaths and very competent 3D effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Destination 5 - 3D, 29 Jan 2012
If you enjoy 3D, you will enjoy this. If you've already seen the film, you know about the disaster set pieces at the beginning and end that frame the story - they are just as amazing on TV as they were on the big screen. It was well worth the money and I will be watching it again. The macabre playfulness of waiting to see what will happen next and who it will happen to hasn't diminished. This is what 3D is all about; the ability to take a good little story and add some real visual punch. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best 3D film ever!, 22 Dec 2011
Firstly, as my review title shows, I'd like to point out that this film has (by a considerable way) the best 3D effects I've ever seen in a film. To many films put minimal effort into the effects but still charge the extra 2 pound for admission. The effects are so good that I would probably drop my review rating to 4 stars if you are watching in 2D (nothing against the film its just the 3D turned it from 'great' into 'awesome'!

Now onto the film. Its pretty much what you would expect from a final destination film. People cheat death and then die in very horrific ways. The acting is much improved on previous entries and the deaths more suspenseful and inventive. As others have stated I didnt care too much for the 'you can avoid death by doing this' plot line but the rest of the film flowed well. Finally just when you think you can't enjoy the film anymore they throw in a jaw dropping twist which will be appreciated by all fans of the series. My mate and I just looked at each other in a definate OMFG moment! Neither of us even remotely saw it coming and we left the cinema very happy indeed.

To summarise I think I would rank this in my top 3 films of 2011. It has everything, AMAZING 3D, humour, suspense, grizly deaths, massive set pieces and a fantasic plot twist. You dont even need to think about buying, just do it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Destination 5
Final Destination 5 by Steven Quale
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews