Customer Reviews


247 Reviews
5 star:
 (161)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Head and shoulders above other rom-coms
Steve Carell (The 40-Year-Old Virgin) plays Cal Weaver, a divorced guy due to his wife's (Julianne Moore - The Big Lebowski) recent indiscretions with her colleague David (Kevin Bacon). Distraught and largely clueless about the dating scene, he sits at a bar drowning his sorrows night after night until the ultra-smooth pick-up artist Jacob (Ryan Gosling -The Notebook)...
Published on 27 Oct. 2011 by J. Morris

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars crazy, stupid and flyweight
Romantic comedies always seem to be disappointing - perhaps it's because you really hope it's going to be enjoyable escapism, but then it nearly always turns out to be paper-thin. Crazy Stupid Love fits this description, really - about a set of paper cutouts, even if the actors can't be faulted - the paper-thinness starts with the script. Clearly it is difficult to give a...
Published 11 months ago by schumann_bg


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Head and shoulders above other rom-coms, 27 Oct. 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Steve Carell (The 40-Year-Old Virgin) plays Cal Weaver, a divorced guy due to his wife's (Julianne Moore - The Big Lebowski) recent indiscretions with her colleague David (Kevin Bacon). Distraught and largely clueless about the dating scene, he sits at a bar drowning his sorrows night after night until the ultra-smooth pick-up artist Jacob (Ryan Gosling -The Notebook) decides to help him to meet new women. Meanwhile, Cal's lovesick son is obsessed with his 17-year old babysitter, Jessica (Analeigh Tipton - The Green Hornet), who in turn has quite an unhealthy crush on Cal himself, unbeknownst to him. While Cal finds his mojo, the remaining elements of his life wrestle with their own concept of love, often involving their feelings for him, whilst the perennial singleton Jacob falls hard for one of his conquests, Hannah (Emma Stone - Paper Man). Will things work out for anyone involved?

Whilst the premise of this film seems rather convoluted, it's remarkably easy to follow once it's laid out for you, the comedy is refreshing as it tends to steer clear of the usual set of rom-com clichés by providing functional characters that do fine in life, but wrestle with love - for instance Cal still has his job, Jessica does fine at school and Jacob is a master of his trade. But the growth of Carell's character throughout this 2 hour masterpiece is fantastic, he is the centre point despite Gosling's phenomenal acting.

I guess that the "player falls in love" story arc has been done far too many times before but I really think it's worth a mention that the scene where Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling dissect his methodology for getting laid is one of the best pieces of cinema I have seen all year and I watch a lot of film! - it's just so plausible and consequently believable and they have really great chemistry. This film is worth a watch for that part alone. The true beauty to this film is that it runs the gamut of love; unrequited first-love-crushes, marriage, the honeymoon period, infidelity and even just plain sleeping around - it truly covers all phases of love.

Extra Content: There are a couple of featurettes, "Ryan & Steve walk into a bar" which features the guys chatting the film over in the film's heavily-featured watering hole. "The player meets his match" which is a dissection of Jacob by Gosling himself, Carell and Stone. There are over 12 minutes of deleted scenes (it's already a 2 hour movie!!) which do add to the experience, the shopping scenes where Gosling kits out Carell are fantastic.

Crazy, Stupid, Love. is titled and packaged up like all of the other inane rom-coms out there, but this was a total surprise, it was a joy to watch, caught me totally unawares at a couple of points and really leaves you feeling good. Well worth a watch, especially for Ryan Gosling's part. Highly Recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A swing and a miss. A swing and a hit., 19 Aug. 2011
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As comedies go, I think this is probably one of the better ones you will see this year.

Steve Carell plays Cal, a husband who splits from his high school sweetheart, played by Julianne Moore, after she cheats. Hanging out in single bars every nights he sees this ladies man played by Ryan Gosling successfully pick up numerous women, while he says out loud to anyone who will listen, 'my wife cheated on me with xxxx.'

Meanwhile his teenage son has the hots for his babysitter, while the babysitter crushes on Cal. We have 4 romantic triangles between the main characters, that are developed to great comic effect.

So, Ryan Gosling's character takes him under his wing, as his wing man, and shows him how to score with the ladies, which leads to many interesting twists and turns.

There were several parts of this movie that made me cringe, one was the patheticness of the character played by Steve Carell. The teenage crush made me cringe a little, especially with the absurd things this kid did to get her attention.

In fairness this was more than balanced with some high quality scenes and interactions, particularly the scenes with Marisa Tomei, who I thought was absolutely brilliant, especially when her simmering emotions boil over at the parent teacher meeting.

The Dirty Dancing routine between Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone was simply movie magic, and one of the best scenes I have seen all year, two quality actors, chemistry, everything, perfect.

I have a sneaking suspicion that Ryan Gosling may be one the best actors on the planet. You probably know him from The Notebook, a perennial top 100 rental on leading dvd rental sites. He has studously avoided the mainstream doing indie and art house movies. Watching his performance in Blue Valentine with Michelle Williams convinced me of his greatness, with some reminders of a young DeNiro, without the psychotic overtones, or even perhaps Sean Penn, the most respected actor among his peers.

The proof may not be out there yet, and I am so glad to see him to see him in a mainstream movie. I hope that he will continue to make critically acclaimed movies and also more widely seen movies, and that he will get both the recognition, and ultimately the accolades he deserves.

Emma Stone, what can you say, she is the best of the young actresses who has emerged over the last two years, outstanding in Easy A, and now the lead in The Help, for which she may get an Oscar nom.

I hope this was helpful, and I think the movie is worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars crazy, stupid and flyweight, 4 April 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Romantic comedies always seem to be disappointing - perhaps it's because you really hope it's going to be enjoyable escapism, but then it nearly always turns out to be paper-thin. Crazy Stupid Love fits this description, really - about a set of paper cutouts, even if the actors can't be faulted - the paper-thinness starts with the script. Clearly it is difficult to give a sense of depth when you are trying above all to be entertaining, but some scripts manage it ... This one may be quite sharp, but it is unconvincing in most scenes and nothing feels real. There is one scene of surreal mayhem in a garden that is effectively out of control, and Julianne Moore has her moments, the film tapping into her extreme loveliness at certain points, particularly the last scene. I also thought Ryan Gosling rather similar on the male side - really very appealing. At one point a girl asks him if his physique has been photoshopped, whch was neatly ironic. The film uses modern technology a good deal - mobiles, selfies all play a role in revealing character and subtle lying which you don't condemn the character for. It does have a truth at its heart which has to do with the double standard people may have as people in themselves as opposed to being parents; perhaps it's inevitable up to a point. The film turns a few neat arabesques around this theme. Steve Carell is good in the lead, but it is too contrived, the story is too bent into the shape the writers want to give it (a sentimental one), it can be quite cutesy, and is hampered by a fairly flat soundtrack. It also has no visual depth or interest apart from the beauty of the actors already mentioned, no sense of lives beyond the immediate frame. Perhaps none of this would have mattered so much if it had been funnier, but much of it raises a smile at most. Marisa Tomei actually lifts it in the comic stakes when she appears about halfway through, but her role is quite small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LUV YOU JESSICA, 13 Jun. 2013
***Warning: Opening scene:

The movie starts out funny. Steve Carrol and his wife Emily (Julianne Moore) are sitting at a restaurant. Steve asks his wife what she wants. She blurts out, " A divorce." On the way home Steve jumps out of the car. When they get home, the babysitter asks, "What happened to you?" Steve very dryly says, "Emily said she wanted a divorce and I jumped out of the car." Meanwhile Emily is discussing with the sitter about her child and broccoli. The sitter had walked in on the 13 year old boy while he was choking his chicken. He in turn tells the babysitter he was thinking of her. This beginning scene had me hooked...then Emma Stone comes on the screen as icing on the cake. 5 star opening scene. Oh and the 17 year old babysitter (Analeigh Tipton) has taken a liking to Steve.

Steve does not take the divorce very well. He goes to a bar and pours out his grief to anyone who will listen and sometimes he talks to the thin air. He is taken in under the tutoring of pick-up artist Ryan Gosling who guarantees to make this sad sack into a lady killer. Steve does very well until he opens his mouth. When he talks he makes women want to leave the bar....with Ryan Gosling. Eventually Steve becomes a master Jedi. Kevin Bacon plays David Lindhagen, the "other man."

The movie has many laugh out loud moments, great characters and great actors with a wonderful climax scene. From the title you should be able to figure out this is a chick flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far better than expected!, 24 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I foolishly held off from buying 'Crazy, Stupid, Love' for almost a year. Ryan Gosling is my favourite actor, the star of so many of my favourite films of recent times, but I felt certain that this movie wasn't going to be my cup of tea at all, a romantic comedy isn't usually my thing. Thankfully I saw the trailer, it looked good, and I decided to give it a go - thank God I did.

Ryan stars as quick talking lady's man (quite different from his usual roles) who teaches a middle aged guy (Steve Carell), recently cheated on and departed from his long term partner (Julianne Moore) the art of womanising, impressing the ladies' and also to have the inner confidence he has always lacked. The result is a laugh a minute comedy that could put to shame several more celebrated movies of this genre. There's some clever twists and turns, and more than a few touching moments, particularly towards the end.

There's also a side story throughout the film, Steve Carell's young son is deeply in love with his babysitter and will stop at nothing to get her, despite the relatively small, but all important age gap. Thanks to Ryan, Carell does eventually pull another woman, and for me the funniest moment came with the twist that she is her son's teacher. She has a breakdown when Carell turns up with his wife for parent's evening, and it becomes clear that he still holds a lot of feelings for his unfaithful wife, pushing her nose out of joint and having an hilarious impact on her professionalism.

I was wrong about 'Crazy, Stupid, Love' and enjoyed it very much, if only all romantic comedies could be this good. What you have here is a cracking film with lots of laughs, plenty of heart, and some excellent performances - what more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A head above this year's buddy films, 30 Sept. 2011
There's been a spate of films lately where two or more very different people (who are often somehow friends) are forced to spend time together, and through various trials and tribulations, end up 'learning from each other'. Due Date, Hangover 2, Horrible Bosses (to an extent), The Change Up, and Crazy, Stupid, Love are the ones that I saw. In fact, I watched CSL two days after The Change Up.

The contrast could not have been greater. Where Change Up relied on your basic hard swearing and 'gag' gags (so very very tiresome in this day and age unless done really well), CSL was a much better thought-out film with multiple story lines weaving together smoothly, and normal, believable characters. The main plot is a man whose wife wants a separation, having had enough of their too-settled relationship. Spotted moping in a bar by a ladykiller, he is taught how to pull in women. CSL flows really well between serious moments (a couple coping with separation, the anxieties of teen love), and lighthearted/cringeworthy ones (Cal having his image remodeled, teen love again). None of the characters are filler, and the scenes with the kids especially feel as if they are out of a good 'indie' teen movie.

So in short, for me this film really stood out because it makes you laugh (a lot), think (just enough), and is actually *uplifting*, which cannot really be said about a film where Zach Galifianakis is pleasuring himself in a car in front of a small dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cast, 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off Ryan Gosling is naked in this film if this isn't enough to make you buy it.....haha

This movie is brilliant and so well acted!!! Emma Roberts as always is hilarious in this film Steve Carell is always funny and it was nice to see Ryan in a fun role.

I want revel too much but the last 30 mins are so funny!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great moments; but........, 22 July 2013
Bought this because | am a huge fan of Ryan Gosling and actually he didn't disappoint; nor did Emma Stone. But I just don't find Steve Carell funny or believable and I didn't really care about his marriage break up or whether it came right in the end. I did think that if this had been British it would have been funnier.

If you want to see Ryan Gosling in something really great order Lars and the Real Girl; its one of the sweetest films I have ever seen full of pathos, love and care it is everything that Crazy Studid love isn't!

Lars And The Real Girl [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much better than expected, 7 Jun. 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
From looking at the promotional poster and the title I thought that this movie looked terrible. I could't tell anything about what the film was about from looking at the poster but it certainly didn't look like anything to do with love. I didn't even recognise the actors in it (I think I'm going blind). On closer analysis I realised that I recognised all of them and they were all pretty well known so I decided to give it a chance.

As Crazy Stupid Love is a romantic comedy I assumed that reviews of it would be pretty bad, but I was wrong, as it actually has a rating of 76% on Rotten Tomatoes, which is remarkable for this genre. Perhaps the reason that it has such a high rating is because it's not about sappy love, it's about real love, about fighting for the one you love. Now it sounds like it might be a heavy movie, but it's not, the comic elements make it light-hearted and funny and there were several moments where I actually laughed out loud as opposed to the casual grin the usual rom-com cheesy jokes bring to my face.

This movie is basically about Cal (Steve Carell) and his family and friend's and their issues regarding love. Within the first couple of minutes of the film, Cal's wife has already asked him for a divorce, something I really wasn't expecting and that's when the story really kicks off. Cal meets Jason at a bar who really gives him a kick up the backside and helps him get his life sorted. Sort of. Well he manages to get Cal to stop moping around and he attempts to turn him into a suave and sexy man. Personally, I thought the movie got off to a rather slow start, but stick with it, it's definitely worth it and it gets much better. There is a large age range between the characters experiencing love and this brings diversity and some hilarity. It also shows that love is for everyone and anyone and you never know when it may strike.

Crazy Stupid Love combines a great plot with great actors and that's the key to it's success. Firstly, the actors bring recognition, as they are all quite famous and well-known. The protagonist is Steve Carell and he's joined by Ryan Gosling (The Notebook), Julianne Moore (Far From Heaven), Emma Stone (Easy A), Maisa Tomei (The Wrestler), Kevin Bacon (X-Men: First Class), Analeigh Tipton (America's Next Top Model), and many many more. As you can see these people are all well established with large numbers of nominated movies under their belts. Steve Carell is known for playing the role of the awkward guy who can't get the girl and initially that's exactly who his character, Cal, is, but then, he undergoes a transformation with the help of his new friend Jacob (Gosling) and he transforms and becomes confident and sexy, something which I, personally, have never seen Steve Carell pull off and surprisingly, he does it quite well. Most of the characters in this movie undergo some sort of personality tranformation during this movie and that is what really showed how talented all the actors were. The transitions were smooth and

I think what I love most about this movie is how the plot all came together. I have been able to predict the end of 99% of the rom-coms that I've watched in my life, but this one was different, I wasn't entirely sure what was coming or how it was going to happen. At the end, it becomes clear how all the different pieces of the story slot together and it really was quite ingenious and I was quite surprised.

I think this movie will appeal to both men and women because as I said, it isn't your usual sappy rom-com, with moments that kind of make you want to vomit. Men shouldn't be embarassed to go and see this in cinemas as they should find this equally enjoyable as women. If you're already in love then I guess you'll be able to relate to this even more than the rest of us so I definitely recommend it for you. As I mentioned there is a diverse age range in this movie so I think teenagers and above will find this movie appealing and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definition of a RomCom, 2 Jan. 2013
I have watched many Romantic-Comedy films and the more you watch of them, the more bored you get of the same worn out plot. So I was sceptical when my friend recommended this film to me.

However, it was absolutely fantastic. Steve Carrel was brilliantly funny (as usual) and all the cast members were good, no cheesy moments or anything too unrealistic. I would recommend this film to anyone as the story is original and funny and includes the 'aww' moments.

And Ryan Gosling was in it, so no more needs to be said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crazy, Stupid, Love
Crazy, Stupid, Love by John Requa
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews