Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Classic - Prince is The Man!
As a big-time Prince fan of the last three to four years, I really can't believe I've only just got round to watching "Purple Rain". The brand new 2-disc anniversary Special Edition led me to buy it. Wow, I was really looking forward to watching it, but I wasn't prepared for just how electric it actually is. Prince's musical performances throughout...
Published on 9 Jan. 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars POOR VIEWING
Very poor viewing.
Published 10 days ago by sims


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Classic - Prince is The Man!, 9 Jan. 2006
As a big-time Prince fan of the last three to four years, I really can't believe I've only just got round to watching "Purple Rain". The brand new 2-disc anniversary Special Edition led me to buy it. Wow, I was really looking forward to watching it, but I wasn't prepared for just how electric it actually is. Prince's musical performances throughout the movie are nothing short of astounding - he REALLY has the moves in this one. I am very familiar (from repeated listens) with the classic "Purple Rain" album and all its songs, but to see them in the context of the movie completely alters your perception of the tunes and lyrics - like COMPUTER BLUE, THE BEAUTIFUL ONES, WHEN DOVES CRY and PURPLE RAIN itself. There is something undescribably hypnotising about the scenes where Prince and The Revolution perform. The closing songs BABY I'M A STAR and I WOULD DIE FOR U show how much energy and sheer talent Prince was brimming with in his mid-20s (he's overflowing!), it blew me away. It even makes Michael Jackson seem inanimate even in his peak years.
Prince shows you how to win the girl of your dreams - drive her to a lake, make her jump in, then drive off - absolutely hilarious stuff in hindsight.
Some of the scenes are very 1980s and unintentionally hilarious but this adds to the film's overall charm. Morris Day is the coolest cat on the block (and hilarious), and when his group The Time perform THE BIRD you get to see Morris Day and Jerome Benton light up the stage Minneapolis funk style - I love their dancing in this bit, and how Benton provides Morris with a mirror mid-performance.
I already can't wait to watch it again, I really can't!
Extras are terrific - particularly seeing a young Eddie Murphy pre-Beverly Hills Cop admit he is a "Prince groupie".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Purple Rain remains one of the most contemporary and entertaining films of its decade, 29 Jun. 2007
By 
This movie is soooo 80's and watching this last night had me dying while bringing back some fond memories. This semi-biographical tale of Prince's struggling to make it in the music industry is hit and miss throughout. For those who haven't already seen this; the film is really nothing more than a feature-length music video marking Prince's acting debut; he is essentially playing himself here, and is surprisingly charming. Prince is no actor...he mumbles his lines and resorts to melodrama in serious scenes...but his performance truly conveys a great deal of pain and conflict.

For a musician in his first role, he is actually quite good. Morris Day is a virtual scene-stealer; the "Time" leader plays, who else, Morris Day and his performance is inspired and funny. Prince's then-band mates Wendy and Lisa also shine as well as Apollonia who is adequate as The Kid's love interest. Clarence Williams III ("The Mod Squad") gives the best performance here as The Kid's father; his rage, confusion, and guilt truly come through in a brilliant performance, and his role should have been bigger.

"Purple Rain" is certainly an ego trip for its star. But Prince certainly deserves to have a big head because the music in "Purple Rain" is nothing less than awe-inspiring. He deservedly won an Oscar for his score, and the excitement of his live shows are truly on display here. The Time is also fun to watch; "Purple Rain" includes their performances of two of their biggest hits, "The Bird" and "Jungle Love."

"Purple Rain" is not without its imperfection. The film doesn't fully investigate The Kid's home life with the exception of a few throwaway scenes. Despite the charms of most of the performers, the acting is amateurish and often laughable. Despite its shortcomings, "Purple Rain" is a modern classic, the quintessential 80's picture. If you get a chance, rent or buy this DVD, the quality is great as well as the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 4 Mar. 2009
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Let's be honest: Prince isn't a great actor. He is, however, a superb musician and one of the best live performers I've ever seen, and this film provides a glimpse of the great man doing what he does best.

The story is very, very simple: Prince (or "The Kid") is a musician who regularly plays at a club in Minneapolis. As his music becomes more self-indulgent the manager of the venue threatens to ditch his star act unless he plays what people want to hear, and as a result tensions begin to build within the band. The Kid falls in love, makes a woman strip and jump into a lake, two of his band members write an instrumental song called "Purple Rain", Prince plays it, drives the crowd wild, and his job at the club is saved. Hurrah.

In some ways the film falls into the category dubiously named "so bad it is brilliant", but on the whole it is tremendous fun. The live performances are great, the songs are just superb, and Prince plays with a puppet. What more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Height of 80's Cool - The King who was Prince, 5 Sept. 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I remember watching Prince in concert at Earls Court, back in 1990. I've never seen anybody else hold an audience like he did that night. When he sang Diamonds and Pearls, people were holding up their lighters and swaying arms back and forth.
At the end of the concert, it didn't look like he would give an encore. He went off stage, until only the last couple of hundred people remained. Suddenly, he came back on stage with his band, and his thousands of fans came trooping back to their seats for the encore.
I've never seen any other artist do that, health and safety regs would probably ban that sort of trick these days. But he was so cool. And that's what this film is, cool.
Prince basically plays himself, a talented nightclub crooner, who has a difficult home life (his father is a wife beater), and pursues the girl of his dreams, the scrumptious Apollonia Kotero.
The film kicks off with the peerless Lets Go Crazy, with Prince doing what he does best, strutting his funky stuff on stage. He's soon wooing Apollonia, he takes her on a motorbike ride to a lake, persuades her to undress and dive in, and then rides off on the bike.
Some seduction technique, but you don't care because the glorious Take Me With You is playing in the background. The costumes are stunning, I looked at Prince's lavish outfits very closely, and the more I thought about it, the more I was reminded of Elvis Presley and his flamboyant costumery. Prince also has problems at his nightclub, his female band feel undervalued and challenge him about how he runs their act.
He's soon back on stage though, singing the majestic The Beautiful Ones to Apollonia, who is suitably impressed. However, Apollonia subsequently decides to join a rival band and falls out with Prince.
Cue a montage of flashbacks, accompanied by the stunningly original When Doves Cry. The film ultimately climaxes with a rendition of the titular Purple Rain, I Would Die for You, and Baby I'm a Star, but I won't say if Prince wins his girl back.
You watch him on stage performing songs like the aforementioned tracks, and you think, where the heck is the modern equivalent of Prince!? As a musical film, this is not quite an all-time great like West Side Story or Grease, or even Bugsy Malone or Fame.
There's no doubting that the music and concert segments are brilliant, and the parts of the film which are shot like music videos are great, but the film stars predominantly musicians, not actors, and it shows.
In any case, if you don't already own the album Purple Rain, that's a big gap in your music collection, and if you buy this film, I suspect that you'll soon have the album too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Brilliance, 3 Nov. 2011
By 
Wizo (Birmingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Picture and sound quality is impeccably sublime in comparison to the DVD. This movie ticks all the right boxes in terms of entertainment, plot, biographical references to the emotional and professional conflicts experienced by Prince. Interesting perspective into the world of Prince a peek into some of the mechanisms within the mind of Prince. Snapshot of a particular and significant period in the evolution of this creative multi talented world renowned genius. Funky soul shaking music with words that can penetrate the coldest heart and this movie is a must for any lover of real music. Love watching it again and again it will move you in many ways, prepare to be inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baby I'm A Star....., 17 Dec. 2004
By 
Lei-Lei Jayenne (Leytonstone, London) - See all my reviews
I'm in total agreement with some of the other reviews on here, this is without doubt the best rock'n'roll movie ever made.
This 20th Anniversary edition looks excellent thanks to the digital remaster.
The nightclub scenes are just brilliant, absolutely capturing the essence of a time when musicians could be daring and odd and still be loved for it. Check out some of the hairstyles and clothes of the audience members. Blimey!
The story-line is fairly auto-biographical, we all know that, and it's a fairly simple 'kid from messed-up family wants to break free thru his music' type scenario, but it's lack of a complex plot is more than made up for in the 'live' performances throughout the film. These bits capture Prince at possibly his most vibrant, electrifying and vital best. He engages both his audiences, us and the film one, through his performances, some of which are so damn foxy it hurts. The Darlin' Nikki bit anyone? Hot damn!!!
There are some real tender scenes aswell, I love the bit where he's talking through the puppet thing, and also some of the family scenes with his mum and the tragically sad story of his father. It's in these scenes we really see Prince's acting abilities, which through the rest of the film, it has to be said aren't always evident, bless him. Very touching.
The love story is a little flat, but I believe that's due to Appollonia not Prince. She's a little staged and it doesn't seem she could let herself go completely with him, even though they were lovers in real life I think?
Morris Day is quite a comic talent, and along with Jerome Benton, their scenes are of a fairly good comic/slap-stick standard.
The extras on this version are most interesting too. Particularly the 3 docus, First Avenue;The Road to Pop Royalty, Purple Rain; Backstage Pass and Riffs, Ruffles and a Revolution; The Impact and Influence of Purple Rain. Really good stuff on those. But was there really any need to stick on the awful footage of the MTV Premiere Party! Watch this bit once, and then never again!
Also includes 8 great videos, one of which is the Vanity 6 all-time 'classic' Sex Shooter! Eek!
Nice motorbike too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BD review 2014, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are so many good reviews for this movie (mostly DVD) that I will only describe shortly what I felt about it. Im not particular Prince fan, but very fond of concerts, this was the only thing I found on Blueray from him. I didnt even read description close, so didnt knew if it was a movie or a docu or what. But I mostly like it. It was very 80th, but I like to go back in time to remember how things was!

Details: Picture are varying from grainy to very good, mostly when needed it is good. Audio is also very good, with an extra punch in the bass. A strange thing, under the competition between the two groups in the end of movie, the not winning group (which also played good) seems to be given a worse mixing/mastering to make them sound way worser than the winners?

The plot was quite simple, but in this setting where I think music is essentiell, its OK. Acting was varying and maybe no one will be big star, but didnt disturbed much. The BD was worth its money alone just to see sweet Appollonia Kotero in her sexy skin leather outfit, when they were on a motorbike trip to a lake. If u like her to take suit off, u should also buy the movie (yes Im a man). It was one particular thing I did not liked so much in the story, most of the girls acting in the movie were not treated well. Was it to show how tough a mans world can be? I felt it unnecessary.

As a biker I also must comment Kids (Prince) motorcycle. Strange they didnt use a Harley when its a US movie! Anyway it was a nice bike, and typical for that time. This Honda (is it CM400) probably was much cheaper and made no problems during the film production. But of course in this story, price also fit young and not rich Kid better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Arrival of a Star into the Mainstream, 13 Mar. 2010
By 
Ms. J. De Souza (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think Purple Rain is when Prince arrived into the mainstream of popularity. He is an unusual and gifted phenomenon; unafraid of expressing his sexuality. Prince had a raw talent during this time, normal of many musical artists at the beginning stages of their career.

In my opinion, the Purple Rain DVD is more about the soundtrack than the film itself. You get to see Prince performing on stage as the 'Kid'; he's really just himself and it's fantastic to see his fancy footwork whilst singing now many of his great hits, such as Baby I'm a Star, Let's go Crazy and other lesser known tracks, such as Darling Nikki - look out for Prince 'humping' the stage during this one; later to become known as one of his trademark moves whilst performing.

Of course for those who like Prince's chart hits, there is the moving performance of Purple Rain.

The acting itself isn't going to award anyone with an Oscar, maybe a Razzie and if anything the performances come across as comical in an entertaining way, even though they're not meant to be.
But it's Prince and if you're already a fan, then this is him at his hottest, super cool best, at the beginning of his superstardom and like he's say knowingly of his gift, "Might not know it now, but baby ......I'm a Star!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love great music...., 29 Jun. 2008
I suppose one of the main reasons for watching the film is to try to extend an understanding of Prince, of that brilliant and enigmatic character whose unique talents have shaped the most joyful music of our generation. Whilst the film hints at a semi-autobiographical content, this is not fully explored. The Kid (the main character) has to overcome family difficulties and the scepticism of his peers, using his experiences, to shape his music.
Prince ,typically, is generous in allowing others to share the spotlight. Both the Time and Apollonia perform . Yet it is Prince's films and his concert performances are energetic and captivating. Darling Nikki is challenging and sexy. Purple Rain is soulful and magnificent. These sequences alone show an artist of stature and probably justify the cost of the DVD.
So it it better than a concert video? Maybe not... the script lacks dramatic energy and the acting is lightweight in places. Yet it is a wonderfully watchable record of the talents of one of our most mercurial performers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Purple Rain, 24 May 2010
By 
C. Harley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of those films that stands the test of time. I am not really a Prince fan in all honestly but I managed to sit through the whole film and rather enjoyed it. The Audio and Visual quality are nearly flawless and the price is good for a blu-ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Purple Rain
Purple Rain by Albert Magnoli
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews