Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars72
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Amazon VideoChange
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Much has been written about Fawlty Towers. I do not intend to repeat all of this in depth, but confine myself to saying that this mid seventies comedy series from John Cleese and Connie Booth was one of the most perfect comedies ever made. Characters and performances were pitch perfect, the set up ideal for a variety of hilarious situations. It made the irate hotelier and his Spanish waiter into national icons. Part of the genius was that it wrapped up after 2 series, so there was no tailing off in quality or changes in cast that afflict so m any other classic comedies. It's just Fawltless, mixing elements of farce and absurdism to provide 12 episodes of howling laughter.

This 2001 DVD release OK. It contains all six episodes from series two on a single disc, with no real extras. The picture quality is OK. But these days there is the definitive 2009 remastered version box set of both series plus loads of extras at a very reasonable price, and I would recommend you purchase that set rather than this. So almost Fawltless, 5 stars for the superb comedy, but you're better off getting the 2009 release.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2010
Absolutely fantastic. My 7 year old has just discovered Basil and laughs so much she falls off the sofa. Every house should have this !
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2010
Brilliant series, excellent fun at a good price.

However, some of the special features listed are not included, e.g. the "special illustrated booklet". It only has the director's commentary.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2008
Firstly, let's get one thing clear; the sitcom episodes presented on the disc are among television's highest achievements. I can't recommend them highly enough.
However, would-be buyers should be wary of this particular DVD edition. The first thing to note is that the copy Amazon supplied to me has _none_ of the special features claimed above, with the sole exception of the director's commentary (more about that below). No special interviews, no outtakes, no booklet (illustrated or otherwise) etc etc. Yes it does have scene selection, but I would hardly consider that a 'special feature'. I would have submitted a correction to the Amazon catalogue info, but if you check this you'll notice there's no mechanism for correction of content details like these - hence this review.
OK - perhaps you feel you can manage without the special features and just want to see the episodes. Fine, but maybe you should try not to support an edition which is so shoddily put together. Among the numerous annoyances this disc offers are the following:
(i) The levels on the original soundtracks of the episodes do not seem to have been remastered in any way, and consequently are inordinately quiet compared to modern DVD levels. Of course you can turn up your TV or sound system (a long way!), but then you'll find that every time you go back to the menu(s), the soundtrack on those is absolutely deafening! Whoever authored this DVD hasn't even taken the trouble to match up these levels to ensure a basic level of useability of the product.
(ii) The aforementioned menus are far too busy with several extended clips from the episodes themselves, plus animated icons etc. Whilst this is to some extent a matter of personal taste (or lack of it), owners of older DVD players should be aware that some mature players cannot handle these overly fussy menus, causing potential navigation difficulties.
(iii) The director's commentary (the sole special feature of all those offered that you actually get, remember) is a most peculiar affair. The commentary hasn't been mixed with the episode soundtrack, so you see the silent episode, with _only_ Bob Spiers' comments. But it's clear from some of the things that Mr Spiers says (and from some of the very long gaps in his commentary) that he _thinks_ we are also hearing the episode soundtrack. And of course we should be - it's the most pathetic cock-up. Once again, the person or team who authored this DVD haven't even bothered to make the most basic checks on the work they've done.
(iv) Finally - and least importantly but absolutely indicative of how much care has gone into this release - the copy I received (which I assume is typical) has a very nice silvery grey DVD case. Very nice, that is, until you realise that you can't read the information printed on the reverse of the printed inlay without taking it out of the box sleeve (or holding it open and squinting down the gap). I ask you....
So - great actual content, worthy of 5++ stars, but sloppy and unprofessional presentation, completely unworthy of the BBC. Hence the two stars.
0Comment29 of 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
The pre-political correctness humour comes to the fore again in another classic set of episodes.

This time Basil has problems with Americans, health inspectors and various others who he considers to be riff raff.

It is all more tongue in cheek than the political correctness brigade would ever advise.

Perhaps the enduring appeal of Fawlty Towers is that only 12 episodes ere made and the concept wasn't done to death.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
If you want to see a brilliant British sitcom then this is the DVD for you. All the episodes are hilarious and make great family viewing. A British classic-Fawlty Towers is something everyone should enjoy. I found this DVD appeals to all ages and is very entertaining. Series two has wonderful episodes, like 'The Kipper and the Corpse' and 'The Waldorf Salad.' I would recommend this DVD to anyone and it would be great for keeping the family entertained on a wet Sunday afternoon.

There is one word of warning when buying this DVD though-it unfortunately does not have all the special features which are listed like, the "special illustrated booklet." This is a shame because this would make the DVD perfect in my view. However, if you simply want to enjoy some fantastic comedy then I can't recommend this series highly enough. It is worthy of 5 stars and a whole lot more besides.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
Comedies don't come anymore perfect than Fawlty Tower. Both the acting writing are all top notch. Fundamentally its black comedy where you have hotelier Basil Fawlty, the owner of the worst hotel in world. Where the service is appalling and boss Basil is constantly rude too his guests. This man is on verge of nervous breakdown who is in loveless marriage with what he calls his little nest of vipers, Sybil. On paper this shouldn't t work as comedy but it dose.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2011
The series is quite good, hilarious. But it was suppose to have Spanish audio and subtitles what is not there.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
What can one say other than that there is no other TV comedy like it and I don't believe anything will ever rival it's mix of slap-stick belly laughs and intellectual comedy. Hard to belive that anyone out there has not seen this iconic series, but if you haven'y you shoul and if you have it it at hand for those moments when life gets too much and you need an excape.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Having come across an episode of Fawlty Towers on TV, my two daughters (and I) just had to watch the rest of them. They were great, just as I remember from the first time around!

And if you do a google search for connie booth you get to see even more of her.... on video dailymotion. (Best not do it with your daughters watching).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.