Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the author's best
In my opinion this is a better book than the one he wrote on the Normandy campaign. It is a well written overview of the disappointments sufferd by Britain's Imperial Armies and Allies in 1915 and is a must for the libraries of those who study, research or have an interest in WW1. The author was an ex-Royal Marine and he brings to the book a 'feel' for the ordinary man...
Published on 1 Sept. 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I think the book itself is very good being a good overview of the British experience in ...
This is specifically a review of the Kindle edition. I think the book itself is very good being a good overview of the British experience in 1915. However, the kindle edition is very poor. There are no maps (and these are referred to in the text) and the text if full of annoying stupid spelling mistakes. For example the battle of Loos is often referred to as Laos!!! A...
Published 1 month ago by David Bignell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the author's best, 1 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my opinion this is a better book than the one he wrote on the Normandy campaign. It is a well written overview of the disappointments sufferd by Britain's Imperial Armies and Allies in 1915 and is a must for the libraries of those who study, research or have an interest in WW1. The author was an ex-Royal Marine and he brings to the book a 'feel' for the ordinary man caught up in such horrendous events. I was fortunate to have studied with him and his death to cancer is deeply regretted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I think the book itself is very good being a good overview of the British experience in ..., 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Glory: The Western Front, 1915 (Kindle Edition)
This is specifically a review of the Kindle edition. I think the book itself is very good being a good overview of the British experience in 1915. However, the kindle edition is very poor. There are no maps (and these are referred to in the text) and the text if full of annoying stupid spelling mistakes. For example the battle of Loos is often referred to as Laos!!! A simple proof reading would have corrected this. Buy the book not the kindle edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but shoot your editor., 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Glory: The Western Front, 1915 (Kindle Edition)
This is a very readable incisive critique of the British dimension of the western front in1915,marred by a constant stream of spelling, grammar and punctuation errors throughout. This is by far the worst example of poor translation of a book from paper to electronic format, which detracted from my enjoyment and in several places, my comprehension of the author's points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good coverage of 1914-1915, 27 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It forms a good overall explanation and the details of the early years of the First World War - it is a good balanced and well thought out assessment of 1914 and 1915. It is a good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It was extremely good. It was necessary to hang on to the ..., 11 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Glory: The Western Front, 1915 (Kindle Edition)
It was extremely good. It was necessary to hang on to the various indicated time tables as the story unfolded
chapter by chapter, and the related Actions.

I assume that is the reason why you followed it with an extract of " War By Time Table " by AJP Taylor.

I have not been able to find a Kindle version of that Book.....????.

As a participant in WW2. I know that in general, when a situation of resistance was met the effort was made to go round it as soon as possible. and to contain the strong point until it could be overcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Death of Glory, 10 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr Bee (County Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Glory: The Western Front, 1915 (Kindle Edition)
Again very interesting subject matter and opinions based on historical facts. Unfortunately, like the previous book in this series "The Old Contemptables", this electronic edition is also full of typographical errors which considerably reduce any pleasure one might expect reading it. Come on Amazon ~ do you not proof read before publication?

Mr Bee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating perspective, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Glory: The Western Front, 1915 (Kindle Edition)
This book gave me a fascinating perspective on the Great War as a whole, not just events of 1915. The author examines the stereotypical view of the British troops being lions led by donkeys and comes to a differing conclusion after considering factors like the relationship with the French, tensions between the generals and our army's lack of equipment and appropriate training, which had to be overcome before they had any realistic chance of success. It is well-written, persuasive and manages to be both concise and in sufficient detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Glory: The Western Front, 1915 (Kindle Edition)
Great book, really love this author.

Give it ago, he opens up the debate on the 'donkeys' and give you plenty to think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Glory: The Western Front, 1915 (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book brilliant research
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews