Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder most foul
Never having been to Italy, nor familiar with this time period, I wasn't sure what to expect. Certainly I was in for either a treat or something else entirely. Luckily the writer wove her magic successfully. Florence 1497 was brought to life, as was the plot. I like stories with intrigue and powerful women, this has both, The writer blends her story subtly, though the...
Published 8 months ago by David Procter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars kinde ebook
read the review, and believed that this read would be just the thing for me. I find the book a little slow, heavy going, and not easy to read for long periods at a time. it doent seem to have that'grip' factor. maybe I just haven't read enough. still worth a look at though
Published 8 months ago by like2smile


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder most foul, 23 Feb 2014
This review is from: Murder in Mind (Kindle Edition)
Never having been to Italy, nor familiar with this time period, I wasn't sure what to expect. Certainly I was in for either a treat or something else entirely. Luckily the writer wove her magic successfully. Florence 1497 was brought to life, as was the plot. I like stories with intrigue and powerful women, this has both, The writer blends her story subtly, though the wording does get a little slow at times, one is never quiet sure who is teasing who. They say that men will be men well our lead characters are certainly men of their time. Ready with both rapier and wit, the town is, as they say, their oyster.

However Florence is wracked with treachery and deceit. The perfect spy thriller should keep the reader engaged until the reveal, Miss Pasch, I believe, succeeds in this. Isabella is a wonderful character, the setting I assume is correct, the plot suburb. Maybe i will look at Italian history more closely. If so then Miss Pasch will be the reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Conspiracy, murder and intrigue in spades, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mind (Kindle Edition)
This is one of those books that you get deeper and deeper into and before you know it you are neglecting all else. The chief protagonists are real and their supporting cast perform admirably. The plot itself grows to fill the pages and with an assassination looming, it is near enough impossible to foresee the outcome with any surety. Then the author ups the ante with a new twist that fits into the plot perfectly. I dare not get into more detail lest I spoil it for readers.

The author writes well, building on a believable plot with rich descriptions that are not overly wordy. I enjoyed the friendships and personalities of the leading characters which is a clincher for me. I can well imagine these characters going on to greater and more dangerous undertakings in future books.

Thank You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A trip to Florence this year. Bring your knives., 2 Mar 2014
By 
David Wilkin (La Habra Heights, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Murder in Mind (Kindle Edition)
This was a rare find indeed. A mystery that draws you in just as the characters involved are drawn in. Set in Florence in the late 1400s, the time of the Borgias. And all are chess pieces in the great game between the powers of the Pope, his son, and the French, along with those in Florence who crave to continue their independence and those who would end the Republic.

I don't want to give away too many spoilers. The cast of characters are so deep that you will see a large panoply of Florentine life and a touch of politics that Machiavelli not only wrote of in the Prince, but you will see him on stage in a few scenes as well.

That the author is able to weave a tale that is believable to a great extent and leaves you guessing for most of the tale is a grey testament to her skill. Some may see the villains unmasked before Ms. Pasch does so but still the telling has very masterful elements with strong men and women in roles to watch.

And that the big players, Cesare and Pope Alexander are in Rome, it is left to those uniquely concerned with matters in Florence to resolve matters there. That gives us even a more intimate feel for the era and the events.

Would we like more? Yes. This is a book that is worthy of a future reread to delve deeper into its nuances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars kinde ebook, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mind (Kindle Edition)
read the review, and believed that this read would be just the thing for me. I find the book a little slow, heavy going, and not easy to read for long periods at a time. it doent seem to have that'grip' factor. maybe I just haven't read enough. still worth a look at though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rich Tapestry of The Borgias' Florence, 21 Dec 2013
By 
Laurie (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mind (Kindle Edition)
Murder In Mind is a rich tapestry of life and death in the Borgias' Florence. Intrigue, murder, lusty courtesans and ruthless politicians and rulers -- it's all woven into this intricate, fascinating plot. History on a plate ladened with poison and seasoned with cameos of the rich and powerful of the day, from Cesare Borgia to Machiavilli and Botticelli. And with a wonderfully powerful and beautiful heroine leading the action. A true feast for lovers of historical fiction. Well-researched, intelligenty written; I'll look out for further books by Amelia Pasch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Florence as it is not known, 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mind (Kindle Edition)
I have been reading this book intermittently on my Kindle for ages and in spite of my persistence I don't feel adequately rewarded for making it to the end - was that the end? The book is badly edited - there is a difference between 'passed' and 'past'. The 'copse carrier' was my favourite! Many words are left out too, rendering some sentences incomprehensible.
In general I found the prose wooden; like wading through treacle. I could never quite get a handle on the characters and failed to care what happened to and of them. Where was the beauty of the city? The italian countryside? The emotion between the characters? The fear of being captured and killed? The end was just that - the end ( and very welcome too) - we never learned about the emotional denouement of the heroine (?) and her swain. They might at least have had a sloppy kiss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Medieval spy novel with a female protagonist!, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mind (Kindle Edition)
I loved the interesting twist in Murder in Mind that the protagonist was a female spy. Isabella was quite a character and not to be deterred from her mission by promise of personal happiness or a secure future. In fact, the more I read the greater my admiration was for this lady who braved the underworld of Medieval Florence. This was an enjoyable read both from the sense of history, the Italian setting and the suspense of possible murderous happenings in the wings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intrigue and mayhem in Medieval Florence., 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mind (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this tale set in medieval Florence. It had plenty of tasty historical details which enlivened and enriched the setting. The cast of characters is vast and varied and some are, naturally, much more likeable than others. It is many years since I visited the city of Florence but as I read I tried to match up my memories with the vivid scenes as described by the author. There are also some surprising details of events which made me want to reach for the history books to check their earliest origins-but I won’t spoil the story by telling you what. It’s the era of Borgia and Medici rule and of Popes who were less than pious or truly saintly, so the tale is full of intrigue and deadly dealings are rife. Political back stabbing is a fact of life- literally and figuratively. Vittorio Venditore’s geniality is balanced by some of his family who are portrayed as a lot less so. Lady Isabella seems a lady out of her time and not just because of her mode of dress, but the character I liked best is Allesandro Gironi, though his job as a security chief with endless staff seems incredibly ‘modern’. The main plot has some nice twists and turns and although I worked out who the political spanner in the works was well before the end, there were still other aspects to the intrigue and sub-plots which kept me guessing till the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Macchiavelli Would be Proud., 12 April 2014
By 
Robin E. Levin (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder in Mind (Kindle Edition)
Murder in mind is a mystery novel set in one of this reader’s favorite historical settings, renaissance Florence. Amelia Pasch succeeds in bringing Florence to life with colorful scenes of pageantry, taverns, bordellos, the stews, and the ladies of the night who ply their trade on the Ponte Santa Trinita.
The family of Vittorio Venditore expects the arrival of Lady Isabella St. Claire de Loraine with the expectation that she will be a suitable bride for Vittorio, an eminently eligible bachelor and advocate in the Florentine law courts. They are not aware that Lady Isabella is a spy for Duke Rene of Loraine and has come to Florence to uncover a plot to overturn the Republic and reinstate the rule of the Medici. This plot involves the assassination of Piero Soderini, the Gonfaloniere of Florence. Duke Rene is sympathetic to the republic and Lady Isabella’s instructions are that she must unmask the assassin and prevent the assassination and coupe d’etat. She is accompanied by her maid servant, Maria, by her aide de camp, Gilbert, and by a half dozen loyal bodyguards.
There are not just one, but two beautiful female spies in the story. The other one is Silvestra Cariponi, mistress of Pope Alexander VI, who has ordered her to Florence to act as his spy. Cesare Borgia, Alexander’s illegitimate son is intriguing against his father and has ordered his henchman, Alfonso, to follow Silvestra and murder her.
It is the duty of Vittorio’s friend Alessandro Gironi, the head of the city’s security forces, and his able assistant Tomasso, to solve the murders that keep happening. Alessandro is aware of the identity of one of the murderers he seeks, but is flummoxed about the identity of the other, although he has information that the man is a member of his own security forces.
Isabella is thwarted in her attempts to connect with the Venditores by Vittorio’s sister Beatrice, who turns her away from the family’s estate at Empoli. Isabella pretends to depart back to Loraine from Pisa but secretly makes her way to Florence. We are well into the book when Vittorio and Isabella finally meet, but when they do, sparks fly.
Murder in mind is a rich and exciting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A rollicking historical adventure story, 30 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Murder in Mind (Kindle Edition)
I have visited Florence and love the city, so I was attracted to Murder in Mind for that very reason and Amelia Pasch succeeds in bringing the Florence of the 15th century to life. Her novel is a rollicking historical adventure story with spies, cut-throats and beautiful women. She has obviously put a lot of effort into her research of the period although sometimes I think she may expect too much knowledge on the part of the reader. Famous historical characters litter the plot - from the Medici pope, the Dominican friar Savaronola to Machiavelli. They all blend seamlessly into the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder in Mind
Murder in Mind by Amelia Pasch
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews