Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not meant to be the Novel
While not in the same league as the first Neverending Story, this was still pretty good and is even more redeemable now that I've seen the 3rd installation (what a horrible movie!) in the storyline. It does suffer from the sequel bug a bit, though, seemingly needing to dip into the character bin and fish out some names and faces that were interesting in the first, adding...
Published on 7 Jan 2003 by TorridlyBoredShopper

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Will it ever end?
This 1990 sequel to the 1984 family fantasy film is pretty much a `straight to video' effort when all's said and done. With elements from the German source novel that weren't used in the first movie, and some frankly bizarre creatures and creations that people the magical land of Fantasia; it's a hit and miss affair from start to finish.

Bastian Bux is having...
Published on 8 Jun 2009 by Captain Pugwash


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not meant to be the Novel, 7 Jan 2003
By 
TorridlyBoredShopper "T(to the)B(to the)S" ("Daddy Dagon's Daycare" - Proud Sponsor of the Little Tendril Baseball Team, USA) - See all my reviews
While not in the same league as the first Neverending Story, this was still pretty good and is even more redeemable now that I've seen the 3rd installation (what a horrible movie!) in the storyline. It does suffer from the sequel bug a bit, though, seemingly needing to dip into the character bin and fish out some names and faces that were interesting in the first, adding in faces like Rockbiter and justifying this by giving him Junior - of all things. Still, there are plenty of characters and places that are added anew to make up for these little indiscretions and I need my excursions into Fantasia to reignite my childhood visions.
Our tale again follows the follies of Bastian the Everfearful as he tries to deal with the loss of his mother and his subsequent terror as he finds himself plagued by heights and can't join the swimteam (not exactly on the same level, but still hurdles for the young hero). While feeling a bit down because of interactions with a father he loves and yet feels is forgetting the mother he loves, Bastian returns to a beloved bookstore and again is called by the book. Here he finds himself confronted by a new enemy, Xayide, and something nameless that once again threatens to erase the land he loves so much. He also finds himself with a new ability to aid him on his quest as well, one that allows him to gain anything he wishes for, but at what cost does such power come?
While this is indeed a child's movie, I still found it enjoyable on many levels; thoroughly enjoying the scourge of Xayside and the minions that helped promote the darkness she births. If you haven't seen any of these, though, start with the first and continue forward though, stopping before you hit the third and hoping Bastian will save you from its presence without ever telling you about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Will it ever end?, 8 Jun 2009
This 1990 sequel to the 1984 family fantasy film is pretty much a `straight to video' effort when all's said and done. With elements from the German source novel that weren't used in the first movie, and some frankly bizarre creatures and creations that people the magical land of Fantasia; it's a hit and miss affair from start to finish.

Bastian Bux is having troubles at home: his father is struggling to relate to Bastian after the death of the boy's mother, and his work is stopping him from spending time with his son. Bastian flees from his problems to an old bookstore, when after picking up the Never-Ending Story book, he hears the Childlike Empress tell him that he is needed to save Fantasia. With the evil witch Xayide doing her utmost to stop Bastian achieving his aim, and stealing his memories, the boy is aided in his quest by the giant flying dog Falcor. Bastian has another aim - to overcome his chronic fear of heights - and the film is a race against the clock as the boy battles Xayide's mechanical giants, as well as his own issues, all the while his father following his exploits in the book and urging him on.

More a kids' film than a family one like its predecessor, NES II is devoid of ideas as well as decent special effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and fun, 18 Feb 2010
By 
J. Huntigdon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This DVD has not been released in the UK yet so until or if it does buy this version. It automatically comes up as english in any dvd player in the UK along with the menu and eveything else. The picture is good and although there no specail fetaures it's still worth the buy. If you loved the first film then i recomend this. It may not bear up to the original story but it borrows from the book of the same name alot more. None of the original cast is back and although they do not meet up to the original bastion or atreyu they are the next best thing.

Ultimatley this film is a kids film and appeals to that audeince much more then is predessor, you may find your children or child in the family enjoy this film more then the previous and you enjoyed the previous more then this one. Still as NES fan i loved the film it manages to stand apart from the first but mantain some of the original films beauty.

Unlike NES 3 which choose to leave atreyu out of the story and change the book cover and the look of the ivory tower. this film tries to be like the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neverending Story 2, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We bought this DVD as a birthday present for our granddaughter she has yet to see it, however it is in English as per the information supplied before buying the DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and a waste of money, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted never ending story one and two for my children I was very disappointed as the DVD was not comparable in the uk and will not play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Now I remember this movie when I was a kid over sixty years ago and I still find it to be one of the best movies ever made, just pure brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars neverending, 26 July 2013
By 
T. Staite "TBT1953" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a film my children loved and now I have it on dvd for my grandchildren and they love it too. some of the characters are a bit scary for very young (or those of nervous disposition) but on the whole a wonderful fantasy film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vhs, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for a family member as a gift, they are more than happy with the purchase and had no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Never Ending nonsense, 8 Jun 2009
This 1990 sequel to the 1984 family fantasy film is pretty much a `straight to video' effort when all's said and done. With elements from the German source novel that weren't used in the first movie, and some frankly bizarre creatures and creations that people the magical land of Fantasia; it's a hit and miss affair from start to finish.

Bastian Bux is having troubles at home: his father is struggling to relate to Bastian after the death of the boy's mother, and his work is stopping him from spending time with his son. Bastian flees from his problems to an old bookstore, when after picking up the Never-Ending Story book, he hears the Childlike Empress tell him that he is needed to save Fantasia. With the evil witch Xayide doing her utmost to stop Bastian achieving his aim, and stealing his memories, the boy is aided in his quest by the giant flying dog Falcor. Bastian has another aim - to overcome his chronic fear of heights - and the film is a race against the clock as the boy battles Xayide's mechanical giants, as well as his own issues, all the while his father following his exploits in the book and urging him on.

More a kids' film than a family one like its predecessor, NES II is devoid of ideas as well as decent special effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a good buy, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
hello the neverending story 2 is the great story of the first film it is great for all the family to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Neverending Story II
The Neverending Story II by George Miller
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews