Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Secretes should NOT be kept a secret!!!
I saw Choses Secretes as the third of the Jean-Claude Brisseau trilogy albeit the film was the first to be made. The first two (À l'aventure and Exterminating Angels) are excellent in their own right and raised my interest in this Director. While there are sexually explicit scenes in all three films, it would be fair to say that they are not gratuitous but very...
Published 16 months ago by H B Pensl

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh what a load of crap
Oh dear, what a load of crap trying hard to be art, or social comment, and failing miserably on both - yet from the reviews here, it seems that people buy into this complete twaddle. I watched this film, luckily for free, chose it because of the positive reviews; eh, you win some, you learn some. If I had paid money for this pathetic and improbable load of turgid...
Published 17 days ago by Mrs. K.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh what a load of crap, 12 Aug 2014
This review is from: Choses Secretes [DVD] (DVD)
Oh dear, what a load of crap trying hard to be art, or social comment, and failing miserably on both - yet from the reviews here, it seems that people buy into this complete twaddle. I watched this film, luckily for free, chose it because of the positive reviews; eh, you win some, you learn some. If I had paid money for this pathetic and improbable load of turgid nonsense, I would have felt robbed. Robbed, I tell you.

This little film is some sort of cross between 'Eyes Wide Shut' and 'Dangerous Liaisons', only on a much, much lower budget and with even more of an unlikely plot. For a film centred around sex, and betrayal, and incest, and manipulation, it is unbelievably dour; it just drags on, and it is so boring overall, I had a job to stay awake until the end. The long conversations are pretentious and mind-numbingly inconsequential; everything happens mainly in a cheap dingy apartment or a cheap dingy office; the classical music would be OK if it wasn't so clichéd and repetitive. This poor film desperately tries to be intelligent but it ends up just logorrhoeic; the sex scenes, schematic, poorly acted and filmed, are mostly gratuitous and generally very tame, very similar to one another, and several have no relevance to the plot whatsoever - and don't have the excuse of helping with the characterisation either. Cheap, yes. Titillating, not really. Erotic, nope.

There are about four or five instances of the two main actresses, and then a third one, all pretty girls, very young and really very skinny, getting it off by themselves or with one another. If this floats your boat, go for it, but I found the whole thing a turn off from the very start. There is a little bit of an unexpected turn at the end, but the twist in the plot is swamped and rendered insignificant by everybody's verbosity and ridiculously melodramatic actions.

By the end, a young wooden bloke with dead eyes thinks he's God or maybe the devil himself, and speaks accordingly, uttering such pompous nothings, I admired him for keeping a straight face throughout. Women emerge many years later [ie from serving a (supposedly lengthy?) prison sentence for murder, then having a child who is now about 10] looking not a single day older. There is a large-scale 'orgy' in a Renaissance theatrical setting which made me laugh out loud, and, to top it all off, a bird of prey munches at someone's freshly bulleted heart. Ah yes, and a black-veiled figure reminds us that all is death, or something. All in all, neither sexy nor clever stuff; neither entertaining nor thought-provoking. Rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Secretes should NOT be kept a secret!!!, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choses Secretes [DVD] (DVD)
I saw Choses Secretes as the third of the Jean-Claude Brisseau trilogy albeit the film was the first to be made. The first two (À l'aventure and Exterminating Angels) are excellent in their own right and raised my interest in this Director. While there are sexually explicit scenes in all three films, it would be fair to say that they are not gratuitous but very much emphasise and add to the story.
This is particularly true of Choses Secretes where the strong story line twists and turns throughout leaving the viewer wanting to see what happens next, while all along being seduced by a growing sexual tension that emphasises the drama as it unfolds. The film is superbly sexually charged, well written and expertly crafted by the Director and Actors. The charming Sandrine (played by Sabrina Seyvecou) is totally convincing with a personality that oozes from the screen from her first impulsive laughter as she discusses her sexual inhibitions with Nathalie (superbly played by Coralie Revel)through to the final frame.
The story line is also by no means far fetched, as I personally know of at least 2 cases where men have been set up by similar ruses. Possibly a lesson for men hidden within this story???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: Secret Things [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is the most stunningly erotic film I have ever seen (and my earliest reviews start in this genre, in an attempt to understand the woman I was then in love with!). To give the plot away would be a serious breach. Let's just say, the opening sequence is strong, the relationship between the central characters is strong, their ambitions are strong and their methods are strong too. It is an exploration of eroticism, with purpose. It is filmed stylishly and on several occasions, my breath was taken away. It's a superb contribution to the genre!

Ian Hunter.
Author of `e-Love'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing, could have been much better, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choses Secretes [DVD] (DVD)
This film started off with all the promise of a brilliant film. The initial striptease and haunting music in the night club by Sabrina was brilliant. Sadly the film went a bit downhill from there.It just needed a bit more adventure by the films director/producer to be a brilliant five star rating.I feel a bit more full unabashed nudism by the two very attractive girls is required here to add spice to the film.
To some up I was disappointed because it was too straight laced in parts were in need'nt have been
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Choses Secretes (Amazon Instant Video)
I found it provocative and highly erotic. The opening strip scene is worth the price of the film alone. I'm not sure but I think it is part of a genre of erotic films that blends art house and fantasy. So whilst the plot does twist and turn it is all rather fantastical. But hey, that's fine by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and spellbinding..., 30 Jun 2014
The heady mix of eroticism, use and abuse of power, and the puzzle of who was actually being used by whom, held me spellbound from start to finish. It sort of didn't matter that the story was a little incredible. It provided such a powerful vehicle to explore the ideas conjured up by the plot. I found it a deeply satisfying and thought provoking film, and a fascinating contrast to how this might be played out in an American equivalent. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, visually stylish and engaging French language film with ..., 5 July 2014
This review is from: Les Choses Secretes (Amazon Instant Video)
2 young women share an erotic and tragic learning journey in the art of seduction but experience the price to be paid for playing dangerous games in the pursuit of pleasure or power.
An excellent, visually stylish and engaging French language film with beautiful music including Bach, Vivaldi, Zipoli and Purcell.
Recommend also director J-C Brisseau's "La Fille De Nulle Part" and " A L'Aventure".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choses Secretes [DVD] (DVD)
Arthouse? No.
Interesting? No.
Rubbish film? Yes.
This was a serious letdown after some of the reviews I had read. The plot is bad, the acting not much better and its 'philosophy' as spouted by the 'demon' son, nonsensical. But then he did stand over his mother's dead body for 2 weeks watching it decompose. Seriously.
Don't waste your money. Just because it's French doesn't mean it's good, you know. If you want a good film along these lines, try Las Edades de Lulu - well-acted and intense. Viva Espana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Les Choses Secretes
Les Choses Secretes by Jean-Claude Brisseau
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews