Customer Reviews


252 Reviews
5 star:
 (178)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
I love this film - the story - the actors - the songs - the dances - the costumes - this is definitely going to be one of those films I watch over and over again.
If you don't like musicals then obviously you won't like this but if you like a film with loads of atmosphere then at least go and rent it - I guarantee you will be singing the songs for weeks after.
Published on 4 April 2011 by Christy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Had so much potential...
I bought this as I love a good chick flick, expecially if it has some good music and dancing in it. Given the cast includes Cher and Christina I was pretty optimistic about it.

The story follows small town girl Ali as she moves to LA to try and become a star. After a day of unsuccessful atempts to find a job, she stumbles on Burlesque, owned by Tess (Cher)...
Published on 21 Sept. 2012 by Superscottish


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 April 2011
This review is from: Burlesque [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I love this film - the story - the actors - the songs - the dances - the costumes - this is definitely going to be one of those films I watch over and over again.
If you don't like musicals then obviously you won't like this but if you like a film with loads of atmosphere then at least go and rent it - I guarantee you will be singing the songs for weeks after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such fun!, 23 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Burlesque [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I have watched Burlesque at the cinema twice! It's a fun good feel film. Christina has done a good job in her first acting role and Cher is a plasure as always. I loved the songs and the choreography!

I totally recommend this for a night in with friends and drinks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 16 Jun. 2011
By 
Mrs. S. J. Scattergood (derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burlesque [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I loved this film. Had seen it before and loved it so much decided to buy it as I know I will watch it over and over again as I do with Chicago and Cabaret. Burlesque is very much the same as these two films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great musical, 8 May 2014
By 
David P (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Burlesque [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Cher is a good singer. But she is also a brilliant actress. And my goodness, so is Christina Aguilera.

This is a typical rags to riches, unlikely-star-makes-it-against-the-odds tale, but it is very well acted and directed, gorgeous to look at, and the music is brilliant. Christina Aguilera steals the picture, both acting and singing. I am a middle-aged cynical typical grumpy old man, and I am not exactly a huge fan of her work, it's not quite my thing, but that moment where, in response to an attempted sabotage of her mimed act (everyone mimes up to this point) she opens her mouth and actually sings for the first time, sends shivers up my spine and makes what little hair I have left stand on end. What a voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars “Don’t ever call me ma’am….”, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burlesque [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Burlesque was released at the end of 2010 starring Cher and Christina Aguilera, marking pop singer Aguilera’ debut as an actress.
Ali Rose (Aguilera) quits her dead end waitress job and heads to Los Angeles and is intrigued by a burlesque club run by feisty Tess [Cher] and takes up waitressing there in order to get her foot in the door as a would-be dancer. Tess is struggling to keep the nightclub open and gives Ali her break, serving as her mentor, but new girl Ali is shunned by the others and has to prove herself to be accepted.
The opening is very ‘Cabaret’ in style but almost immediately gets a more upbeat modern take. Christina Aguilera puts in a better than expected role and Cher is predictably on form. The numbers are grinding and punchy with some raunchy routines and crisp photography. So where does it go wrong?
The film takes its plot too seriously, Burlesque is fun an irreverent, but here the back plot is far too gloomy as the continual infighting tends to pull the highs down into a low, realistic and modern it may try to be, but it takes the edge off and sometimes makes the film appear to be too long. Unlike the escapism of ‘Chicago’ and ‘Moulin Rouge’ one feels like ’Burlesque’ tones down a developed plot/storyline to concentrates on a pop video approach and the film suffers from it.
The discs main menu offers; Audio [5 European languages], subtitles [7 languages], special features [commentary, Burlesque jukebox, alternate opening, blooper reel] and trailers [blu ray add and 4 films].
The bulk of the tracks are by Aguilera so if you don’t like her voice, avoid this. Chicago, Moulin Rouge or Cabaret, this isn’t, but it does entertain although some could feel let down by it. Undoubtedly a **** rating but I think it will lack the staying power of other movies mentioned –time will tell. Well worth the current £3.50 price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHOWGIRLS LIGHT, 21 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Burlesque [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Christina plays a small town girl who leaves town and her Mickey Mouse life and heads to LA during the credits. In LA she is attracted to a 1920's style burlesque club. The small club puts on a large theater type show with costumes and a band. So even with the $20 cover charge, on a great night they wouldn't come close to breaking even, let alone pay the band, which is more like a small orchestra. I'm not sure why they even have a band since most of the girls lip sync. The club has a surreal appearance and the men who work there are dressed as gang characters from "Clockwork Orange" complete with the derby and eye make-up, although they incorrectly make-up both eyes instead of just one.

Christina works as a waitress at the club and desires to be a star on this sinking ship. The star of the show is a problem child who shows up late and has an attitude. It doesn't take any imagination to figure out how this turns out. Christina belts out a few good numbers, but when she is not singing and dancing she really isn't acting. Cher does a fine job of acting and makes the rest of the crew look like a high school drama club.

Cher belts one out too. This movie is set up as a "pass the torch" symbolism. We saw how well that worked with the Madonna/Brittney/Christina kiss-NOT!

The movie is worth 5 stars on the strength of Christina's singing and Cher's acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Movie! Best Musical in ages., 23 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burlesque [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I was so happy to see two of my all time favourite Women starring the same Film... Burlesque!
We all know Christina Aguilera has the greatest voice of all time but she can act too; she is funny and charming in her debut acting role, though of course next time i hope for a much meatier part, im sure she will shine.
Cher was Great as always but sometimes her angry face looks more like she's trying to go to the toilet; that is my only criticism of her.
Burlesque is full of Music, love, Beautiful Women and an almost fully naked Cam Gigandet! It's amazing and im so glad to see it's getting a great reaction from the box office and critics.
Christina Aguilera has never disappointed but is constantly evolving as an artist; she is a Legend in her own right and i can't wait to see what is coming next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best movie ever!!, 23 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Burlesque [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
ok, well maybe not the best movie ever, but the best musical in a very long time. when i took my sister along to watch it, i didn't think i would end up wathing a total of 5 times at the cinema. where to start? the music was amazing! it goes without saying that christina did an amazing job, not just as a singer but as an actress aswell. the movie was funny and very charming. everyone walking out of the theater was talking about how great christina did and how they wanted to be burlesue dancers. there was even a young man who at first complained when the movie started saying "don't tell me this is a musical". well he ended up saying that was one of the best movies he's seen in a while. the movie had a few flaws but the great music and funny lines every now and then make up for it, making it a great feel good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BURLESQUE 2011, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burlesque [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Burlesque is a 2010 musical film directed and written by Steven Antin and starring Cher and Christina Aguilera. The film was released on November 24, 2010 in North America. This film was the debut of pop singer Aguilera as an actress, and also starred Eric Dane, Cam Gigandet, Julianne Hough, Alan Cumming, Peter Gallagher, Kristen Bell, Stanley Tucci and Dianna Agron.

Cher and Aguilera contributed to the soundtrack album, with Aguilera contributing eight out of the ten songs and Cher taking the remaining two. The album was released in the USA on November 22, 2010[4] and received two nominations at the 54th Grammy Awards. The song "You Haven't Seen the Last of Me", penned by Diane Warren and sung by Cher, won the Golden Globe Award for Best Original Song in 2011, while the movie was nominated for the Golden Globe Award in the Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy category. The film has grossed over $90 million worldwide. It is rated PG-13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burlesque [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
My girlfriend has been wanting to watch this for a long time and wouldn't stop talking about it, she was over the moon when it turned up at her door. Fantastic service A*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Burlesque
Burlesque by Steve Antin
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews