Customer Reviews


361 Reviews
5 star:
 (192)
4 star:
 (85)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loving the alien
Graham and Clive are two likeable English nerds who, after a visit to geek-Mecca Comic Con, take a road trip to America's infamous UFO hotspots. En route they encounter and hide Paul, a real, live "grey" alien, who's on the run from the US government, who've been hiding him for 50 years. With the FBI in hot pursuit, Graham and Clive's road trip becomes a race against time...
Published on 26 Feb 2011 by Sarcosuchus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It is okay.
I liked other films made by Mr Pegg anyway, Paul is an okay film. I watched it once, it was fun and once was enough for me.
Published 3 months ago by jules3121


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loving the alien, 26 Feb 2011
This review is from: Paul [DVD] (DVD)
Graham and Clive are two likeable English nerds who, after a visit to geek-Mecca Comic Con, take a road trip to America's infamous UFO hotspots. En route they encounter and hide Paul, a real, live "grey" alien, who's on the run from the US government, who've been hiding him for 50 years. With the FBI in hot pursuit, Graham and Clive's road trip becomes a race against time to get Paul to the rendezvous so his people can take him home.

There's a lot to like about Paul. The gags are numerous and funny, and while there's nothing particularly new or unpredictable here, it's all pulled off with such charm and energy that you can forgive the film its faults. Seth Rogen is great as the intergalactic stoner Paul, and Kristen Wiig is also good value as the Christian who discovers the joys of pot and swearing. And of course, Pegg and Frost do their usual schtick; and we love them for it.

It's nice to imagine that 50 years from now, people will probably talk fondly of the handful of good-hearted bromance/buddy films starring Pegg and Frost, and even though Paul lacks the darkness and manic intensity of the best of them (Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz) it's still a trip worth taking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul [DVD] (DVD)
Great film its so funny you will laugh so much. You can watch it over and over again not matter how many times you will still like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul - the film that ET should have been, 2 April 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paul [DVD] (DVD)
Simon Pegg and Nick Frost have done very well for themselves with a series of films taking a modern, humorous look at the films that they (and I) grew up with. Shaun of the Dead was a great pastiche of the schlock horror genre, and Hot Fuzz was a perfect take on action films. Here they take on the next sacred cow, good old fashioned alien encounter films, primarily E.T.

Pegg and Frost play two aspiring SF writers on a road trip across America. Along the way they encounter Paul, a real, genuine, honest to goodness alien. He's a sort of intergalactic hippie, stranded on Earth and trying to blow the joint before the authorities catch up with him. The trio start on an unbelievable road trip (picking up a fundamentalist Christian along the way) with an exciting denoument as they bond, find themselves, and find what is really important in their lives.

Pastiching films such as ET, Starman, Close Encounters, Easy Rider, Men in Black (how do you pastiche a pastiche? These guys manage it brilliantly!) and a host of other alien/road trip movies, this is a gloriously loopy drive across America with some engaging characters. Frost and Pegg are in good form, but Seth Rogan, as the slightly roguish and charming Paul really steals the show. His laid back delivery really makes the relaxed intergalactic hippie come to life, and you really wouldn't mind spending time in his company.

I have bad memories of sitting through ET as a child, and I have to say I really wish that it had been a lot more like this film, without all the sappy kids stuff...

It's about as entertaining a couple of hours as you could wish for. I enjoyed it all the more as I am familiar with a lot of the cultural references being taken off, but the Better Half assures me it was also good fun for the non-cognoscenti.

5 stars for this entertaining and uplifting romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun, 25 July 2011
This review is from: Paul [DVD] (DVD)
I've not been the biggest fan of Pegg & Frost's movies but I loved Paul. It is a simple idea; 2 Sci Fi geeks on a trek though America's UFO hotspots come across a real life alien. He's been on Earth a long time, held by the Men In Black, and is a real dude with attitude. He accompanies the geeks on a road trip, with the MIB in pursuit, in an effort to get to a spaceship that will take him home. Plays on a lot of Sci Fi clichés and with a great cameo from Sigourney Weaver. A good fun Summer movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I really liked it..., 23 Jun 2011
By 
Cuban Heel "Neil Schiller" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Paul [DVD] (DVD)
I went to see this at the cinema earlier in the year and watched it again the other night on DVD. Some Pegg and Frost fans have told me they didn't like it but I thought it was pretty good. It's not Shaun of the Dead, but then nothing since that film has been anywhere near as funny in my opinion. It was just so good that everything else is pretty much doomed to pale in comparison.

I remember going to watch Hot Fuzz and being a bit disappointed, but by the time I came to Paul I think I'd gotten the fact that all three are supposed to be very different films. Paul is quite a gentle comedy really. There are no moments of sheer genius that make you laugh yourself stupid, but it's still pretty funny and consistently so. I thought Paul himself had some good lines, and I loved the sci-fi movie references dotted about the film. The dialogue was witty and Pegg and Frost (Pegg especially) play nerds so very well there's little doubt they share more than a little in common with their characters.

I'd recommend as well that you watch the extended version. There's not a lot more, just a couple of extra scenes, but those scenes make the storyline flow better. One bit in particular explains why Paul crashes the car at the beginning and was obviously cut out because the section starts with him swearing and the producers wanted to get the rating down for cinema.

Anyway, yeah, I liked it. As long as you don't expect Shaun of the Dead II you'll probably think it's pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story with a message, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul [DVD] (DVD)
What an excellent story. Loved it. Lots of little true bits and hilarious comments.
You need to see it at least twice to catch the meaty bits.
Very good. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny., 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul (Amazon Instant Video)
Keep watching again and again. Very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could be true !!!!, 29 May 2013
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paul [DVD] (DVD)
For all of you who believe in alien technology or reverse engineering this film is a must, it gives a plausible explanation for the incredible advance in electronic technology of the last 20 or so years. If you believe in the hype surrouning "Area 51" it explains where all the present flat screen TVs, i-pods, and mobile phone technology stems from - captive aliens!! Joking aside, it would be a possible reason for all the advances and even if you don't believe it it's still an excellent film and very funny as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paul!, 20 Jun 2011
By 
Je Salter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul [DVD] (DVD)
This was a very humorous film with some fantastic special effects with 'Paul.' I'm sure there will be a sequel! The interesting part was how the film came about in the special features. Good film and worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 18 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. Gary Walker (Farnham, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
I loved this movie, it was well filmed with good effects and a great cast. I would definitely recommend it as it's one of those movies that you'll happily revisit on a rainy day so well worth adding to the collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paul
Paul by Greg Mottola
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews