Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensitively handled film about a dreadful time
I haven't read the book from which this film was adapted, so am purely assessing my reaction to the movie itself. Based around a 'hidden' piece of French history - the infamous events of July 1942 in Paris, the Vel d'Hiv round-up and processing of Jews to the camps, carried out not by the Germans, but the French themselves, the film is interesting in that it abjures easy...
Published on 5 Dec 2011 by Lady Fancifull

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing handling of an important story
The core narrative of Sarah's Key is a very moving and effectively filmed piece which gives powerful expression to an episode in WW2 which I suspect will be unfamiliar to many: the French state's active complicity in the rounding-up and deportation of French Jews to the camps in the east. The 'past' section of the film is appropriately powerful stuff: claustrophobic...
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by S. J. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sarah's Key [DVD] (DVD)
Gripping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sympathetic re-presentation of the multifaceted consequences of this french holocaust, 3 July 2014
By 
spyder_man "spyder_man" (Orpington, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sarah's Key [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I first viewed this movie over a year ago. My first reaction was to reject the whole concept as a cynical exploitation of holocaust stories along with "The Boy in Striped Pyjamas". Afterall why not just tell the facts of the Vel d'Hiv, it's sensational enough to sell books? After all Schindler sold as did The Pianist. however, this movie works on many levels. It lays out very simply, the round up of the Parisian jews, their being held in the appalling conditions of the Vel d'Hiv, how the 72 thousand odd jews were eventually processed through various holding camps and ultimately shipped to concentration camps. It shows without blame matter of factly how all this was carried out by ordinary French gendarmes, not a Nazi in sight. It deals with how different French people dealt with events in different ways. Some were in denial and some just embraced events and found it impossible not to meet the needs of those victims as they presented. The story fictionalises how the young heroine tried to deal with the trauma of her experience ultimately committing suicide after many years of trying to find her place in the word. Interestingly, she didn't feel that her place lay in Palestine. Then, because it jumps up to the present day, it tries to show how these events are viewed by modern youth. The only thing that spoils it for me is the relationship between K S-T and her unsympathetic husband.
Yes, it's fiction but to me it works. Watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sarah's Key [DVD] (DVD)
A book I couldn't put down. In spite of reading lots about the Holocaust and WW2, the story involved events I did not know about. The dvd stayed true to the spirit of the book, and made compelling, heart tugging watching. Definitely several tissues were needed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely film, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sarah's Key [DVD] (DVD)
I bought the DVD only to realise I'd seen the film previously! Despite that it didn't stop me from watching until the end. Kristin Scott Thomas is always at her best in these deep dark movies where she plays a slightly unhappy individual and this one is no exception. A story of the holocaust brought back to life by the purchase of an apartment owned by her husband's family. I won't say much more as I don't want to spoil it for anyone. It's well worth watching. A film you'll watch again in a year or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good film but a bit too long in some places, 1 May 2014
This review is from: Sarah's Key (Blu-ray)
The Sarah's story makes us to understand better what had happened during WWII. I think it is a good point raised in this film that ordinary French citizens allowed it to happen to Jewish people. This is what the main character finds uncomfortable to accept.Though when anyone of us is asked the question what would you do if you were there there is no answer.
The film is good but could have had less "long" moments. I enjoyed watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sarah's Key [DVD] (DVD)
A well made, very intelligent film. Probably the best movie you'll see this year. Treat yourself - you wont be disappointed. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful film, 16 April 2014
This review is from: Sarah's Key (Amazon Instant Video)
A very sensitive and interesting approach to describing the holocaust that spans time and brings history into the present. Great watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and thought provocing, 14 April 2014
This review is from: Sarah's Key (Amazon Instant Video)
A fascinating film, which highlights the French involvement in dissolving the Jewish population within France, during World War 11. Moving story, well acted and directed. Settings and costumes were sensitively delivered.
Least we forget!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 11 April 2014
This review is from: Sarah's Key (Amazon Instant Video)
Wow!! a proper masterpiece...Being Anglo-french this movie and the whole cast especially Miss Scott Thomas are just a proper joy to watch. The depicting of the nazi barbarism and the risks taken by wholehearted people are just touching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sarah's Key DVD, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sarah's Key [DVD] (DVD)
this film is very thought provoking. Kristin Scott Thomas is brilliant! I live in France and was lent the book by a french friend. It was in French and I don't know if it exists in English, but it is so worth reading before watching the film. I couldn't put the book down and then couldn't wait to order the DVD which didn't disappoint. I thoroughly recommend both. The book is called 'Elle s'appellait Sarah'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sarah's Key
Sarah's Key by Gilles Paquet-Brenner
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews