Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars209
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:£2.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2013
I did really like the film, however I preferred the book so that's why I haven't given it five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There are many stories about WW2 and the Holocaust, but this is the first one I have watched which is about Jews who were removed to camps in France. It's half in French (with subtitles), half in English, and very watchable. Kristin Scott Thomas shines in it, but the real star of the film for me is the little girl who plays Sarah who does so with real emotion and onviction. In occupied France, Sarah and her parents are forced by the collaborating French and Nazis into camps, but Sarah escapes with one thought in mind: to return to, and rescue, her little brother, who she locked in a cupboard for safety.

This is painful watching, but important I felt, to learn what happened to Jews in occupied France, and it is beautifully acted, directed and written. I have ordered the book on which it is based from the library and would recommend nobody watch this without a box of tissues.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 December 2011
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I found this film deeply moving. As a self confessed history buff who studied the same I thoroughly enjoy anything to do with history.

I must admit to having watched the foreign version of this story before I watched this and can confirm that this is the Hollywood version of the same, it does well against The Roundup and if your a subtitle hater and foreign film hater then this ones for you.

The story is horific and disturbing the reality of the events are not glossed over and the punishment of a race of people because they were people at the hands of German/French leaves you dumbfounded.

This event of history is factual not made up for the big screen and it amazes me still that so few of us are aware of this disgraceful and inhuman attrocity that took place during the world war.

Well acted, beautifully and sensitively made considering the content.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
It's a beautiful film, although by turns harrowing and difficult to watch. The shifting perspectives from the war to modern day France are well handled, and provide tremendous insight into the characters and the horrors of the times they experienced - seeing the story from both perspectives lends a depth and sophistication that resonates with the sensitive handling of the emotional elements. The subtlety of the character portrayals is admirable, and the way in which the consequences of the events unfold for the main character are executed with technical excellence and an artist's aplomb.

A movie like this is hard to review without giving away plot elements, but suffice to say I would happily recommend this movie to anyone who doesn't mind having their heartstrings stretched taut and then played like a violin.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
the story told in this film will shock and disturb the viewer , not for the faint hearted .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
I watched this film on Amazon Prime. I loved it so much I bought it as a gift for my mother.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 April 2013
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
It is hard to criticise a film about the holocaust, but this one is full of hackneyed film motifs, depends a lot on a rather unimaginative Max Richter score to provoke emotional reactions in the viewer, and is stuffed full of ham actors (with the obvious exception of Kristin Scott Thomas, and Melusine Mayance, who plays young Sarah).
I won't run through the plot here - you can read it in Amazon's product description if you want - but I will say it is packed with "twists and turns", which start to accrete like debris in the final twenty minutes, as the film becomes unable to stay in the same country or with the same characters for more than 60 seconds, instead dashing across the globe and through time in an attempt to tie everything up neatly. This sort of "closure", in a film about people's inability to find closure following the appalling events of the second world war, feels quite immature - and is somewhat indicative of what type of film this is: one which glosses over surfaces while purporting to mine deeper depths.
Still, I can compliment the film on showing how it wasn't just the Germans who fell victim to the disease of anti-Semitism in the early 1940s, and how even apparently innocent bystanders at the time were guilty of silent complicity in the crimes of others (the film prods towards this, when Kristin Scott Thomas's journalist character asks a 20-something colleague how she would react if such atrocities were taking place to day, but doesn't go much further than that).
There have been a lot of films and books about the holocaust, and this one treads little new ground. Kristin Scott Thomas's character says something towards the end of the film about the need to tell stories to keep them alive. While today's generation has a responsibility to keep telling these stories about the holocaust, it also has a responsibility to not make them banal. Sarah's Key meets the first responsibility, but fails to meet the second.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2015
not as good as I thought it would be, bit hard to follow, got bit bored towards the end,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
Good storyline and a relief from standard English telling of a harrowing plot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2016
I have to choose a star just to tell you this is the 2nd DVD i didnt get.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.49
£7.99
£3.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)