Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Cinema
I originally read the Murakami short story as part of his Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman collection aware of the fact that the short story had been filmed. After reading, I was intrigued as to how someone could create a lengthy piece of celluloid from the very short and enigmatic source material.

Jun Ichikawa has done a marvellous job of capturing the essence of...
Published on 13 Sept. 2008 by The Sponge

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars but for me it was just boring and long-drawn out
I haven't read the book but I imagine you would get the story's message just as well without having to go through this dreary, slow film. Some people may find it artistic and sensitive, but for me it was just boring and long-drawn out, the music was annoying and I wanted to slap both characters into action
Published 4 months ago by cosmos


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Cinema, 13 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Tony Takitani [DVD] (DVD)
I originally read the Murakami short story as part of his Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman collection aware of the fact that the short story had been filmed. After reading, I was intrigued as to how someone could create a lengthy piece of celluloid from the very short and enigmatic source material.

Jun Ichikawa has done a marvellous job of capturing the essence of the original short story and uses the cinematic artform to add a different perspective on the themes of love, loss, loneliness that the book explores. The film is very simply and beautifully filmed, moments of stillness and rather brave scenes in real time reminiscent of Omar Sharif's Desert entrance in Lawrence of Arabia ground the film and give it a sense of events occurring in the moment.

It's an absolute joy to watch - simple and beautiful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a tale of loneliness, 15 Jun. 2009
By 
Room for a View - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tony Takitani [DVD] (DVD)
What I liked about this film was the successful manner in which the director adapted a Murakami story about a man who has spent most of his life alone, albeit briefly puntuated by an all consuming love for a designer textile addict! For me the dreamy, poetic visuals encapsulate the enigmatic sadness of the principle character (there are a few very touching scenes, particularly when Tony is a boy), voiceovers reveal the internal dialogue of characters and the hypnotic cinematography gently moves the viewer from one scene to another (like turning the pages of a book). This is not a film for those viewers wanting answers, instead Ichikawa presents Murakami's hero as a perpetually socially isolated individual who may or may not be a victim of destiny. Certainly fate deals Tony a bad hand but his ability to carry on without descending into a pit of misanthropy and long term despair is surprising. Perhaps the room full of clothes is a metaphor for lives crowded with consumer aspirations but empty of meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it exerts a gentle tug, 6 Jan. 2010
By 
J. A. Eyon "Little Raven" (Seattle - USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tony Takitani [DVD] (DVD)
an unexpected film experience - it exerts a gentle tug

the lead character Tony Takitani got an american name from his jazz obsessed father - where even his family name comes last - in the western style - but none of that has anything to do with the plot

the plot is a love story - between tony - a middle aged man - and a slightly younger woman - a woman obsessed with clothes - much more than usual

of the plot - i'll say no more

this movie has a style - call it "minimalist"

depleted color - grainy photography - much slow panning - stark yet striking visuals - tinkling piano - droning voiceover doing most of the talking

all at seemingly half speed - until the credits role after 1 hour and 11 minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars but for me it was just boring and long-drawn out, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Takitani (DVD)
I haven't read the book but I imagine you would get the story's message just as well without having to go through this dreary, slow film. Some people may find it artistic and sensitive, but for me it was just boring and long-drawn out, the music was annoying and I wanted to slap both characters into action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painfully beautiful film, 29 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Tony Takitani [DVD] (DVD)
Breath taking film, breath taking music, and breath taking story.
Get it, it's a life changing piece of art and if you are a fan of Murakami.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak cinema, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Takitani [DVD] (DVD)
The narrative as slow and unappealing. I guess the book may have been interesting to read but the director didn't make this work as a cinematic experience. It leaves the audience unsatisfied. I watched it once and charity-shopped it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but possibly irrelevant, 9 Oct. 2006
By 
D. Overton (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tony Takitani [DVD] (DVD)
On its own merits, this is a well acted, well directed and genuinely haunting film. The original Murakami story has been well adapted to the screen, simply by hardly changing it all. If however you have read the story then this film is largely irrelevant - it adds nothing to the original tale, and in fact includes one additional scene towards the end which is quite jarring. So a good film then, but paradoxically not one for Murakami fans - there is nothing more here for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An impotent movie at best, 26 Sept. 2006
This review is from: Tony Takitani [DVD] (DVD)
Featuring the slenderest of story lines, characters you know only the most basic and clunky information about and eventually gain no insight into their lives, this "movie" is essentially an a voice-over of a short story. Given the slightness of the original piece, why would you buy the audio tapes? What next? A disney musical based around a haiku? Give it a miss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tony Takitani
Tony Takitani by Jun Ichikawa
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews