Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars148
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 September 2013
Having been stunned by how good they were when I watched them on Later with Jools Holland, I've been buying all their releases to date on vinyl and seen them live once....and going to see them again this week. So this will be a somewhat biased review - this is excellent, noisy blues rock played by Irish teens (think a couple of them are 17 and the other two are 16!) who show themselves both adept at covers and producing their own material (Blue Collar Jane is excellent in particular).

The detractors will say it doesn't push the musical boundaries like some bands (R'n'B by numbers i saw one reviewer say in a snide way) but ask yourself what they were doing at 16 & 17! This has energy, passion and great musicianship for such a young group. Go see them live as they are even more incendiary......

Support a young band learning their craft......buy this album!
11 comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
These guys are fantastic, I bought their EP and had to buy the Album as a result. Full on, in your face rock and roll. Never mind their ages they produce great music.
Cant wait for the next one. Listen to it, buy it and enjoy.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Kicking off with a shriek of feedback that will bring tears of joy to the eyes of all J&M Chain fans, this is an absolute stormer of an album. Great tracks, an excellent balance of originals and r'n'b standards, screaming guitars, top drawer harp-playing, ferocious energy and vocals straight out of a Nuggets-era cityscape, what's not to love about The Strypes? But please don't be misled into thinking that all you are getting is a 21st century retread of the mid-60s Rolling Stones, which seems to be the core message of most reviews I've read. Of course there are echoes of the early Stones. But in my opinion, the Strypes are closer in spirit and in style to both the Pretty Things and Them. However these are no mere copyists. The Strypes have a rawness, a ferocity and an attack that is entirely their own. Something that I hope will gladden the heart of anyone who prefers perspiration to polish, sweat to sophistication and balls to blandness.

Amazingly this most urban-sounding band hails, not from the mean streets of some industrial wasteland, or some soul-destroying tower-block, but from the beautiful rural setting of Co. Cavan in Ireland. But you'd never guess that from the punky, venomous r'n'b that will assault your senses when you pop this into your music player of choice. And if that is the kind of music that appeals to you I promise that you won't be disappointed in this absolutely excellent offering.

Trust me!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
A lot of potential with these guys.
I particularly liked the oldies 'I can tell' and 'can't judge a book etc'.
Angel Eyes was very good too.
I'll look out for the follow up album.
ATB Geoff
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Saw the Strypes live a few months ago in London. I think they're a better live band than they sound on recording, especially the vocals. But this is still really fun and refreshingly energetic - perhaps because they're so young, these guys seem to love making music. Particular highlights include Blue Collar Jane, What a Shame, Can't Judge a Book By the Cover, Hometown Girls and (something quite different, and a lot slower) Angel Eyes
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
I was so disappointed with the dull Glastonbury 2013.

Too many huge bands going through the motions and playing to the crowd. Then I inadvertently saw The Strypes and I was just stunned, a great and tight set played as only a bunch of 17 year old's can. All energy, no fear with musical precision. For me no other act came close.

I didn't think they could do the same on record but I was delighted to be utterly wrong. There is an intelligence to this album that avoids repetition and indulgence leaving only a "kick in the head" spirit.

The best rock music I have heard in years and even the deluxe version has no surplus fat on it.
When a band puts out a record like this you can't stop playing it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
This is an excellent and exciting young band. If you like Dr Feelgood especially, then you will love it. Also for fans of The Yardbirds and pumpimg R&B.

One fault however...43 seconds into track 6 "I Can Tell" on the word "The" there is a "tsk" noise or glitch.
I bought the Deluxe version of the CD and have since listened to the mp3 version and it is the same there.
Could anyone please confirm whether it is the same on the standard CD and other versions? Thank you.

Dropped one star only because of this and not for the music. Surely someone should listen to this before releasing it. Yes it is minor, but it shouldn't be there.
33 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 September 2013
This review is for the standard single CD, but please be aware that there is also a deluxe version available: Snapshot, which carries an extra four tracks, including a cover of 'C C Rider'.

The Strypes' debut album 'Snapshot' is a youthful and successful take on vintage 1960s R&B, and I was very impressed. The songs are bursting with energy, and apart from four covers, including an impressive revival of 'You Can't Judge a Book by the Cover', the remaining eight are all self penned songs. These four guys, who have yet to even reach eighteen, have a lot talent and hopefully their excellent, old-fashioned style of rock music will prove popular with the younger generation.

It's always so satisfying to see young real musicians making their way in the music business again, and competing against manufactured pop artists from television shows like 'The X Factor'. I think that there is a lot of good music in the charts at the moment, and hopefully The Strypes will go onto make it big, on the evidence of this impressive debut album, they truly deserve it. 'Snapshot' makes for an exciting and refreshing listen!
44 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
This album is a corker gotta say. I went to see these boys, and yes "boys", which nis hard to believe considering how advanced they sound and also tight they perform live..! if you like Blue Collar Jane then dont hesitate in investing in thus cd you will love it.
I am a huge fan of eric clapton, in his Bluesbreakers era and this album is up there with it in my opinion. These lads should be in it for the long haul at this rate.
The Strypes....well I for one am glad they came along, so keep it up boys :-)
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
These lads are raw youthful rock n roll! It's amazing how well they capture the 60's Yardbirds and the 'pub rock band' sound. And they're so young! That they are producing this level of quality at this age really makes me excited for what they will follow it up with.

The whole album feels relentlessly LIVE and you're only reminded it's not live when the live tracks come on at the end.

Their version of Rollin' and Tumblin' is as unique as any other I have heard, including Jeff Beck's. Incredible! They do it complete justice live too.

Gold.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)