Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, sharp and stylish....
Having been stunned by how good they were when I watched them on Later with Jools Holland, I've been buying all their releases to date on vinyl and seen them live once....and going to see them again this week. So this will be a somewhat biased review - this is excellent, noisy blues rock played by Irish teens (think a couple of them are 17 and the other two are 16!) who...
Published 10 months ago by Darren Lewis

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep Going Boys
A lot of potential with these guys.
I particularly liked the oldies 'I can tell' and 'can't judge a book etc'.
Angel Eyes was very good too.
I'll look out for the follow up album.
ATB Geoff
Published 7 months ago by Geoff


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loud Fast Rock n Roll, 9 Oct 2013
This review is from: Snapshot (Audio CD)
Every now and then an album makes you look twice at the speakers that are blasting it out, almost like your surprised to hear the guitar played so well or the drums being beaten to death, this is one of them albums.
Mod cool but actually some of the songs for me lean closer to the pace of ACDC and
grooves of The Doors.
Im a massive Oasis fan and loved that their albums were full of my fave bands influences, Snapshot is full of blues and rock influences but still has a strong
identity of its own.
Angel Eyes works best for me with a brilliant Doors sounding nasty groove and squeeling guitar breakdown.
Forget their very young age, these lads will be rockin for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blistering r n b, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot (Audio CD)
Great album, a must for all dr feelgood/nine below zero fans, r n b played with power and authority. buy the album, turn up the volume and get your mojo working
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Great LP..Young band with a lot of talent and taste. A lovely break from chart RnB and X Factor dross
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is something else, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Me, Myself & I (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Snapshot (MP3 Download)
I find it so hard so hard to get excited by new music as it all seems the same these day but this band and album are like a breath of fresh air.

So full of energy and excitement with excellent vocals and instruments. Hard to believe they are so young but they have so much talent.

Brilliant rock album which is much needed these days to liven up the charts a lot!

Very hard to choose favourites as the whole album is very strong but my top 5 tracks are:

Mystery Man
I Can Tell
Angel Eyes
What A Shame
Hometown Girls

and also I'm A Hog For You Baby is a great extra track from a different deluxe version.

Go out and buy this you will not be disappointed!!

A definite 10/10 for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars go go Strypes!!, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot [VINYL] (Vinyl)
It was album hear the voice of a live audience. Strypes are really best live! It was albums like shut it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Snapshot needs developing, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the back of reading reviews of live shows from this promising band. Most music is derivative to some degree but it was hard to find anything original or outstanding on this CD. Most of the tracks sound the same, and the lyrics must have been caught in a time warp. It's one thing play in a retro style, but lyrics have to meet the moment. The songs on this album are sexist and banal. The lead vocal is good and the Strypes can play. But this is a disappointing debut album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cannot comment on the music- the vinyl was broken in two, 6 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot (MP3 Download)
Cannot comment on the music as ....Yet again I received damaged vinyl from Amazon- this time it looks like they tried to fold it in half to get it through the letter box. I returned the item, but then noticed that Amazon have charged me for the free digital download, which I did not want.
In total I have order 5 vinyl albums from Amazon; 2 arrived OK; 2 were warped beyond use, then this one. Rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snapshot
Snapshot by The Strypes
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews