Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, sharp and stylish....
Having been stunned by how good they were when I watched them on Later with Jools Holland, I've been buying all their releases to date on vinyl and seen them live once....and going to see them again this week. So this will be a somewhat biased review - this is excellent, noisy blues rock played by Irish teens (think a couple of them are 17 and the other two are 16!) who...
Published 22 months ago by Darren Lewis

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep Going Boys
A lot of potential with these guys.
I particularly liked the oldies 'I can tell' and 'can't judge a book etc'.
Angel Eyes was very good too.
I'll look out for the follow up album.
ATB Geoff
Published 18 months ago by Geoff


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, sharp and stylish...., 9 Sept. 2013
By 
Darren Lewis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snapshot (Audio CD)
Having been stunned by how good they were when I watched them on Later with Jools Holland, I've been buying all their releases to date on vinyl and seen them live once....and going to see them again this week. So this will be a somewhat biased review - this is excellent, noisy blues rock played by Irish teens (think a couple of them are 17 and the other two are 16!) who show themselves both adept at covers and producing their own material (Blue Collar Jane is excellent in particular).

The detractors will say it doesn't push the musical boundaries like some bands (R'n'B by numbers i saw one reviewer say in a snide way) but ask yourself what they were doing at 16 & 17! This has energy, passion and great musicianship for such a young group. Go see them live as they are even more incendiary......

Support a young band learning their craft......buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The future of Rock and Roll is in safe hands., 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot (MP3 Download)
These guys are fantastic, I bought their EP and had to buy the Album as a result. Full on, in your face rock and roll. Never mind their ages they produce great music.
Cant wait for the next one. Listen to it, buy it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Storm, 11 Sept. 2013
By 
Gerard Hennessy (Wilmington, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Snapshot (MP3 Download)
Kicking off with a shriek of feedback that will bring tears of joy to the eyes of all J&M Chain fans, this is an absolute stormer of an album. Great tracks, an excellent balance of originals and r'n'b standards, screaming guitars, top drawer harp-playing, ferocious energy and vocals straight out of a Nuggets-era cityscape, what's not to love about The Strypes? But please don't be misled into thinking that all you are getting is a 21st century retread of the mid-60s Rolling Stones, which seems to be the core message of most reviews I've read. Of course there are echoes of the early Stones. But in my opinion, the Strypes are closer in spirit and in style to both the Pretty Things and Them. However these are no mere copyists. The Strypes have a rawness, a ferocity and an attack that is entirely their own. Something that I hope will gladden the heart of anyone who prefers perspiration to polish, sweat to sophistication and balls to blandness.

Amazingly this most urban-sounding band hails, not from the mean streets of some industrial wasteland, or some soul-destroying tower-block, but from the beautiful rural setting of Co. Cavan in Ireland. But you'd never guess that from the punky, venomous r'n'b that will assault your senses when you pop this into your music player of choice. And if that is the kind of music that appeals to you I promise that you won't be disappointed in this absolutely excellent offering.

Trust me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep Going Boys, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot (Audio CD)
A lot of potential with these guys.
I particularly liked the oldies 'I can tell' and 'can't judge a book etc'.
Angel Eyes was very good too.
I'll look out for the follow up album.
ATB Geoff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Talented band,lots of potential.BUT., 16 April 2015
This review is from: Snapshot (Audio CD)
Firstly let me say,i only discovered this band by chance while searching for live blues gigs on youtube.I found their cologne gig and was very impressed by their musicianship and stagecraft.So although not owning this album,i know all the songs and several more of their catalogue.I absolutely love raw guitar/harmonica based r and b ala Feelgoods,Yardbirds,early Fleetwood Mac etc,and these lads do this stuff incredibly well.My only reservation is that although i love this type of music myself,i think it must be very confining and restrictive for a young and creative band.The Feelgoods,nine below zero,bluesband etc made a good living from this genre,and whenever i got the chance i saw them live and l loved every minute. But i would bet my life that on their second album,there will be record company pressure put on the strypes to change their sound,to appeal to a much larger audience and sell more albums.Going by the latest tracks i've heard,and a recent interview i saw with their lead guitarist/songwriter,i'm guessing that the second album will be a much heavier affair than snapshot.It will be very interesting to see whether they stay true to their blues roots,or their ambitions lie in Oasis style stadium rock in the future.Good debut album,i enjoyed it,3/5 for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to the band, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot (MP3 Download)
Saw the Strypes live a few months ago in London. I think they're a better live band than they sound on recording, especially the vocals. But this is still really fun and refreshingly energetic - perhaps because they're so young, these guys seem to love making music. Particular highlights include Blue Collar Jane, What a Shame, Can't Judge a Book By the Cover, Hometown Girls and (something quite different, and a lot slower) Angel Eyes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A promising debut!, 13 Sept. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snapshot (Audio CD)
This review is for the standard single CD, there is also a deluxe version available: Snapshot

The Strypes' debut album 'Snapshot' is a youthful and successful take on 1960s R&B, I was very impressed. The songs are bursting with energy, and apart from four covers (including an impressive revival of 'You Can't Judge a Book by the Cover'), the remaining eight are all self penned songs. The guys, who have yet to even reach eighteen, have a lot talent and hopefully their excellent, old-fashioned style of music will prove popular with the younger generation.

It's nice to see young real musicians making their way, and competing against manufactured pop artists from shows like 'The X Factor'. I think that there is a lot of good music in the charts at the moment, and hopefully The Strypes will go onto make it big, on the evidence of this impressive debut album, they deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great debut, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot (MP3 Download)
Really good debut album from these young Irish guys. Some tracks sound like young Dr Feelgood in my opinion which is not a bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but is there a fault?, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot (Audio CD)
This is an excellent and exciting young band. If you like Dr Feelgood especially, then you will love it. Also for fans of The Yardbirds and pumpimg R&B.

One fault however...43 seconds into track 6 "I Can Tell" on the word "The" there is a "tsk" noise or glitch.
I bought the Deluxe version of the CD and have since listened to the mp3 version and it is the same there.
Could anyone please confirm whether it is the same on the standard CD and other versions? Thank you.

Dropped one star only because of this and not for the music. Surely someone should listen to this before releasing it. Yes it is minor, but it shouldn't be there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Tear Strips off The Strypes, 12 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot (Audio CD)
After Drenge came The Strypes - this may not be chronologically correct but it is the order I came across both of these youthful outfits. The fact that bands like Arctic Monkies and Foo Fighters are putting The Strypes up as the opening act says a lot. The songwritng and performance on this CD is a just reflection of the early age at which the band members picked up guitars and began to perform. The enjoyment and exuberance is all still there and it drives through track after track. See them live - it is even more intense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snapshot
Snapshot by The Strypes
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews