Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, sharp and stylish....
Having been stunned by how good they were when I watched them on Later with Jools Holland, I've been buying all their releases to date on vinyl and seen them live once....and going to see them again this week. So this will be a somewhat biased review - this is excellent, noisy blues rock played by Irish teens (think a couple of them are 17 and the other two are 16!) who...
Published 10 months ago by Darren Lewis

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep Going Boys
A lot of potential with these guys.
I particularly liked the oldies 'I can tell' and 'can't judge a book etc'.
Angel Eyes was very good too.
I'll look out for the follow up album.
ATB Geoff
Published 7 months ago by Geoff


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, sharp and stylish...., 9 Sep 2013
By 
Darren Lewis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snapshot (Audio CD)
Having been stunned by how good they were when I watched them on Later with Jools Holland, I've been buying all their releases to date on vinyl and seen them live once....and going to see them again this week. So this will be a somewhat biased review - this is excellent, noisy blues rock played by Irish teens (think a couple of them are 17 and the other two are 16!) who show themselves both adept at covers and producing their own material (Blue Collar Jane is excellent in particular).

The detractors will say it doesn't push the musical boundaries like some bands (R'n'B by numbers i saw one reviewer say in a snide way) but ask yourself what they were doing at 16 & 17! This has energy, passion and great musicianship for such a young group. Go see them live as they are even more incendiary......

Support a young band learning their craft......buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep Going Boys, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot (Audio CD)
A lot of potential with these guys.
I particularly liked the oldies 'I can tell' and 'can't judge a book etc'.
Angel Eyes was very good too.
I'll look out for the follow up album.
ATB Geoff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The future of Rock and Roll is in safe hands., 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot (MP3 Download)
These guys are fantastic, I bought their EP and had to buy the Album as a result. Full on, in your face rock and roll. Never mind their ages they produce great music.
Cant wait for the next one. Listen to it, buy it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Upbeat music, better live band, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot (Audio CD)
I possibly will get more into this album after a few plays but at present, I was a little disappointed as I think they are better when seeing them live (although so far have only seen them on TV). I sometimes find this is the case with a few bands that the whole "live" experience is better than just listening to track after track. However, I am willing to be proved wrong eventually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Storm, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Gerard Hennessy (Wilmington, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Snapshot (MP3 Download)
Kicking off with a shriek of feedback that will bring tears of joy to the eyes of all J&M Chain fans, this is an absolute stormer of an album. Great tracks, an excellent balance of originals and r'n'b standards, screaming guitars, top drawer harp-playing, ferocious energy and vocals straight out of a Nuggets-era cityscape, what's not to love about The Strypes? But please don't be misled into thinking that all you are getting is a 21st century retread of the mid-60s Rolling Stones, which seems to be the core message of most reviews I've read. Of course there are echoes of the early Stones. But in my opinion, the Strypes are closer in spirit and in style to both the Pretty Things and Them. However these are no mere copyists. The Strypes have a rawness, a ferocity and an attack that is entirely their own. Something that I hope will gladden the heart of anyone who prefers perspiration to polish, sweat to sophistication and balls to blandness.

Amazingly this most urban-sounding band hails, not from the mean streets of some industrial wasteland, or some soul-destroying tower-block, but from the beautiful rural setting of Co. Cavan in Ireland. But you'd never guess that from the punky, venomous r'n'b that will assault your senses when you pop this into your music player of choice. And if that is the kind of music that appeals to you I promise that you won't be disappointed in this absolutely excellent offering.

Trust me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A promising debut!, 13 Sep 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snapshot (Audio CD)
This review is for the standard single CD, there is also a deluxe version available: Snapshot

The Strypes' debut album 'Snapshot' is a youthful and successful take on 1960s R&B, I was very impressed. The songs are bursting with energy, and apart from four covers (including an impressive revival of 'You Can't Judge a Book by the Cover'), the remaining eight are all self penned songs. The guys, who have yet to even reach eighteen, have a lot talent and hopefully their excellent, old-fashioned style of music will prove popular with the younger generation.

It's nice to see young real musicians making their way, and competing against manufactured pop artists from shows like 'The X Factor'. I think that there is a lot of good music in the charts at the moment, and hopefully The Strypes will go onto make it big, on the evidence of this impressive debut album, they deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to the band, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot (MP3 Download)
Saw the Strypes live a few months ago in London. I think they're a better live band than they sound on recording, especially the vocals. But this is still really fun and refreshingly energetic - perhaps because they're so young, these guys seem to love making music. Particular highlights include Blue Collar Jane, What a Shame, Can't Judge a Book By the Cover, Hometown Girls and (something quite different, and a lot slower) Angel Eyes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great debut, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot (MP3 Download)
Really good debut album from these young Irish guys. Some tracks sound like young Dr Feelgood in my opinion which is not a bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but is there a fault?, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot (Audio CD)
This is an excellent and exciting young band. If you like Dr Feelgood especially, then you will love it. Also for fans of The Yardbirds and pumpimg R&B.

One fault however...43 seconds into track 6 "I Can Tell" on the word "The" there is a "tsk" noise or glitch.
I bought the Deluxe version of the CD and have since listened to the mp3 version and it is the same there.
Could anyone please confirm whether it is the same on the standard CD and other versions? Thank you.

Dropped one star only because of this and not for the music. Surely someone should listen to this before releasing it. Yes it is minor, but it shouldn't be there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R n B at its very best, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snapshot (Audio CD)
This album is a corker gotta say. I went to see these boys, and yes "boys", which nis hard to believe considering how advanced they sound and also tight they perform live..! if you like Blue Collar Jane then dont hesitate in investing in thus cd you will love it.
I am a huge fan of eric clapton, in his Bluesbreakers era and this album is up there with it in my opinion. These lads should be in it for the long haul at this rate.
The Strypes....well I for one am glad they came along, so keep it up boys :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snapshot
Snapshot by The Strypes
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews