Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true story of suffering and strength
I have read every book penned by Ms Sasson and Yasmeena's Choice lived up to the high standards - in fact I couldn't put it down.
The account let's the world know of the suffering of women held in "sex prisons" during the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait and the unbelievable strength and compassion and they showed in the face of such suffering and hopelessness and...
Published 21 months ago by Rachel Kensett

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly not shocking, but a heartbreaking tale nonetheless
When I say 'not shocking', it's because we have heard about such horrors in the news, the terrible abuse of Muslim women by their own countrymen. It's a tragic story of how women are treated, in this hypocritical abuse of power by so-called religious men, and although never graphic, is quite affecting.
Published 19 months ago by Ebook Proofreader


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true story of suffering and strength, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read every book penned by Ms Sasson and Yasmeena's Choice lived up to the high standards - in fact I couldn't put it down.
The account let's the world know of the suffering of women held in "sex prisons" during the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait and the unbelievable strength and compassion and they showed in the face of such suffering and hopelessness and ultimately the triumph of Yasmeena although the memories will always be with her.
I highly recommend you to read this so to let the victims who did not come through the conflict alive live on in spirit and not be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shocking, heart numbing, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmeena's Choice: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival (Kindle Edition)
Shocking true story... Heartbreaking, would love to know what happen to Yasmeena, hopefully she has put those horrible nightmares away forever. Jean has done it again by making this story come to life and making the world realise the sad facts of this world really do exists.
Great read could not put it down, eager to read the Rape of Kuwait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmeena's Choice: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival (Kindle Edition)
This is a story of extreme courage, hope, strength and the women spirit. You come across the very essence of what makes a woman and how she fights to survive the cruelty of rapists and the barbaric war.

My heart goes out to Yasmeena and Lana, an all those women in the shells of that prison circus. She stood strong and in a way won this war of brutality against women, for her and many of those that were raped and mistreated, and for Lana; by surviving to tell her story she has shamed these men.

This book made me sad at how one human being can do this to another, angry and beyond tears on brave Lana' s plight and generally the unfairness of such oppressed views on women in a man's world. I hope this book brings upon positive change on how we see woman.

Part of me really worries about what could have been the end of Lana' s fate and whether she managed to escape or was executed by the beast, or whether she was taken to Iraq which I really pray she didn't. God bless her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read., 23 Mar. 2014
By 
Mrs. E. Arman "dizzy lizzy" (Aldingbourne., UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Get your tissues ready & be prepaired for a traumatic read. This dear writer is not afraid to tell it like it is.We in the west have to have things that are hard to bear very often white washed. But life is not always like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the prison circus in Kuwait City circa August 2nd 1990., 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmeena's Choice: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival (Kindle Edition)
This vivid true story of the suffering of the women and girls who had the misfortune to be taken captive by the invading Iraqis during the invasion of Kuwait in 1990, forced to suffer perpetual rapes and other inhuman abuses, to be slaughtered like sheep when the rapists tired of them. (Sound familiar as if history continues to repeat itself ie the hapless yazidis) like so many of the true stories I have read recently some men are wired differently although they are born from a woman and presumably nurtured by the same this minority but still a huge number of "men" can freely and without consequence rape women with impunity and without remorse often over and over again (I have been raped 30 times and it's not even lunchtime the plight of a yazidi sex slave in 2014) author Jean Sasson tells this of a girl called Yasmeena whose story is told with sympathy and without condemnation of a women "lucky" enough to have survived, it's a real tear jerker and is hard to put down until finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brave Ladies, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmeena's Choice: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival (Kindle Edition)
From start to finish I could not stop reading about Yasmeena and her friend Lana such terrible atrocities on such beautiful people. I liked the way that Yasmeena outwitted her Captain what a brave lady. Lana is so brave in a different way to have to put up with all her suffering from the terrible Wolfman. In many parts of this book I was cringing as Yasmeena described their sufferings.
It would be good to know how Yasmeena is now and what she is doing and also Lana but I suspect that we will never know that.
A great book again from Jean Sassoon and very very emotional
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmeena's Choice: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival (Kindle Edition)
Jean Sasson is an amazing writer who really gives insight into the lives of Arabic women around the world. This book was a heartbreaking account of the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait and the sex prisons which held many poor innocent women. This book was so upsetting I had to stop at times reading it, but felt obligated to continue to hear the story. It was a truly horrific time and this book brings it all to life, and makes you realise the true extent of the brutality during this terrible time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Choices Made, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmeena's Choice: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival (Kindle Edition)
This was my first book of Jean Sasson, and what a story my heart went out to Yasmeena no women should be treated as she was,
she was so brave in the predicament she was in and the choices she had to make. Sorry she did not find Lana I hope her torment ended.
Why does war bring out ugliness and so much cruelty by people. I hope they suffered as much as those women did at the end of the war.

I do hope people will read this book it will astonish you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yasmena is an extremely brave and resourceful woman I would have liked to have found out more about what happened to ..., 1 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmeena's Choice: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival (Kindle Edition)
I 've read every one of her books .i was quite ignorant of the suffering of the Kuwaiti people during this time. Yasmena is an extremely brave and resourceful woman
I would have liked to have found out more about what happened to her after the war and the children they bore .
The terrible tragedy is that she stands to be condemned for being a victim and the captain probably got way with it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars couldn't put it down, 2 Oct. 2014
I've read a few books like this and also have read the Princess books by Jean Sasson. This story captured me from the first few pages. I couldn't put it down. It was so shocking and sad in parts. I echo other reviewers in wishing i could find out what happened to Lana and how Yasmeena is now. What courage they showed. It's an awful fact of life that this goes on in far too many places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews