Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true story of suffering and strength
I have read every book penned by Ms Sasson and Yasmeena's Choice lived up to the high standards - in fact I couldn't put it down.
The account let's the world know of the suffering of women held in "sex prisons" during the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait and the unbelievable strength and compassion and they showed in the face of such suffering and hopelessness and...
Published 14 months ago by Rachel Kensett

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly not shocking, but a heartbreaking tale nonetheless
When I say 'not shocking', it's because we have heard about such horrors in the news, the terrible abuse of Muslim women by their own countrymen. It's a tragic story of how women are treated, in this hypocritical abuse of power by so-called religious men, and although never graphic, is quite affecting.
Published 12 months ago by Ebook Proofreader


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true story of suffering and strength, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read every book penned by Ms Sasson and Yasmeena's Choice lived up to the high standards - in fact I couldn't put it down.
The account let's the world know of the suffering of women held in "sex prisons" during the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait and the unbelievable strength and compassion and they showed in the face of such suffering and hopelessness and ultimately the triumph of Yasmeena although the memories will always be with her.
I highly recommend you to read this so to let the victims who did not come through the conflict alive live on in spirit and not be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shocking, heart numbing, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmeena's Choice: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival (Kindle Edition)
Shocking true story... Heartbreaking, would love to know what happen to Yasmeena, hopefully she has put those horrible nightmares away forever. Jean has done it again by making this story come to life and making the world realise the sad facts of this world really do exists.
Great read could not put it down, eager to read the Rape of Kuwait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmeena's Choice: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival (Kindle Edition)
This is a story of extreme courage, hope, strength and the women spirit. You come across the very essence of what makes a woman and how she fights to survive the cruelty of rapists and the barbaric war.

My heart goes out to Yasmeena and Lana, an all those women in the shells of that prison circus. She stood strong and in a way won this war of brutality against women, for her and many of those that were raped and mistreated, and for Lana; by surviving to tell her story she has shamed these men.

This book made me sad at how one human being can do this to another, angry and beyond tears on brave Lana' s plight and generally the unfairness of such oppressed views on women in a man's world. I hope this book brings upon positive change on how we see woman.

Part of me really worries about what could have been the end of Lana' s fate and whether she managed to escape or was executed by the beast, or whether she was taken to Iraq which I really pray she didn't. God bless her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read., 23 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. E. Arman "dizzy lizzy" (Aldingbourne., UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Get your tissues ready & be prepaired for a traumatic read. This dear writer is not afraid to tell it like it is.We in the west have to have things that are hard to bear very often white washed. But life is not always like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brave Ladies, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmeena's Choice: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival (Kindle Edition)
From start to finish I could not stop reading about Yasmeena and her friend Lana such terrible atrocities on such beautiful people. I liked the way that Yasmeena outwitted her Captain what a brave lady. Lana is so brave in a different way to have to put up with all her suffering from the terrible Wolfman. In many parts of this book I was cringing as Yasmeena described their sufferings.
It would be good to know how Yasmeena is now and what she is doing and also Lana but I suspect that we will never know that.
A great book again from Jean Sassoon and very very emotional
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmeena's Choice: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival (Kindle Edition)
Jean Sasson is an amazing writer who really gives insight into the lives of Arabic women around the world. This book was a heartbreaking account of the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait and the sex prisons which held many poor innocent women. This book was so upsetting I had to stop at times reading it, but felt obligated to continue to hear the story. It was a truly horrific time and this book brings it all to life, and makes you realise the true extent of the brutality during this terrible time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Choices Made, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmeena's Choice: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival (Kindle Edition)
This was my first book of Jean Sasson, and what a story my heart went out to Yasmeena no women should be treated as she was,
she was so brave in the predicament she was in and the choices she had to make. Sorry she did not find Lana I hope her torment ended.
Why does war bring out ugliness and so much cruelty by people. I hope they suffered as much as those women did at the end of the war.

I do hope people will read this book it will astonish you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars every woman should read this no matter what their race or religion is., 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmeena's Choice: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival (Kindle Edition)
I have read most of Jean's books, each one makes me aware from a different direction the suffering of our sisters in some Arab regions. This book with all the horrors of rape brings the realisation that with females like Yasmeena, there is hope, but not all women have her fighting nature, I hope her life has been a good one, but the scars will take a lifetime to heal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars story of courage and hope, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmeena's Choice: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival (Kindle Edition)
amazing story told by these very brave women. how on earth they came through it all i do not know. the humiliation was enough to want to commit suicide, but they never got the chance. worth reading to understand what goes off in the arab world, and how women prisoners are treated. i do hope the men responsable got their just rewards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War destroys all, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmeena's Choice: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival (Kindle Edition)
I would like to recommend this book to anyone.

It shows the brutality of war, and of how females who were captured were brutally raped and murdered daily. Yasmeena shows how she used her Captain's ego against him.

A fantastic read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews