Customer Reviews


1,110 Reviews
5 star:
 (622)
4 star:
 (236)
3 star:
 (112)
2 star:
 (48)
1 star:
 (92)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fergie - bloody hell!
I would have read this book in my own time, but the hyperbole and screaming headlines in the press, and reactions from those allegedly disrespected, prompted me to buy and read it quickly. After all, the single star reviews on Amazon were prolific and, if accurate, showed two surprising facts: 1) Sir Alex had betrayed the club; 2) there had been a sudden increase in the...
Published 13 months ago by Paul Comerford

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fergie Time
[ Review of the original version ]

I was looking forward to this as although I'm not a United fan (Millwall, for my sins) I enjoy football and cannot help but admire the man who dragged United out of the doldrums to domestic and European success and for so long. However when asked my opinion of this book, my response has invariably been "not great". The early...
Published 10 days ago by tallpete33


‹ Previous | 1 2111 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

112 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fergie - bloody hell!, 5 Nov 2013
I would have read this book in my own time, but the hyperbole and screaming headlines in the press, and reactions from those allegedly disrespected, prompted me to buy and read it quickly. After all, the single star reviews on Amazon were prolific and, if accurate, showed two surprising facts: 1) Sir Alex had betrayed the club; 2) there had been a sudden increase in the literary critique ability of the fans of other clubs. So I read it in three days - I had to as I could not put it down.

Sir Alex always maintained this was a book for the fans; fans who had remained steadfast with United and were owed an explanation of the gaps remaining in the journey of the last 26 years. And I found this was so. It is written in such a way as to be conversational, not great literary prose, but solid, honest words which every United fan would understand. He deals with his own errors of judgement and his drive to maintain a high standard, recognising early on that no man was greater than the club.

This is a book of Sir Alex's personal view of his time in charge and he lays everything out for a reader to digest. His dealings with Keane, Beckham, van Nistlerooy and his comments about Gerrard, Chelsea, Liverpool and all the rest from the headlines were not as reported. Even Wayne Rooney would find more praise than he may deserve - though he remains on the brink of becoming one of The Manchester United Greats, should he chose to [I hope he does]. I found the comments full, sound and robust, but not unfair. This is not a book about training methods and the technicalities of the game, though there are enough references as to tactics of particular games, or years, but a filling in of the gaps left unanswered from the last couple of decades.

If you are a Manchester United fan read it as a personal gift of information to you. If you are not, but love football, this will give you an insight to how the Premiership works, and how managers and players react to the demands. If you are not a fan, at least read the book with an open mind before dishing out a single star.

There is no ending to this book; just an open road to a new era by a man Fergie trusted to succeed him, and beyond.The updated version is equally pragmatic and answers the outstanding questions remaining over the demise of David Moyes and the next big step of the van Gaal era with the new group of stars. Sir Alex has earned his place as the greatest manager through hard work and a resilience seldom seen. I have to give this book five stars as it gave me a great deal of pleasure. And, yes, I am a United fan (since 1967).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fergie Time...On Your Own Time (And Chair), 26 Feb 2014
By 
The 90's Guy (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(WARNING: The review of this book may or more likely will contain spoilers!)

Do you know what's ironic, or at least has the potential to be ironic? In the opening chapter of Sir Alex Ferguson's autobiography, he mentions that after an entertaining 5-5 draw with West Brom in his final league game in charge of Manchester United at the conclusion of the 2012/13 season, Ryan Giggs jokingly said in the dressing room that "David Moyes has just resigned." Well based on United's performances so far this season, that piece of supposed light humour may very well become a reality in the near future.

But while that debate rages in the football forums, I have a review to take care of...this book. It's been highly talked about since its release with some ex-United players not taking too kindly to Fergie's opinions and choice of words. As a Manchester United supporter (there, I said it!) I found it to be a highly enjoyable read; but even if I wasn't a supporter I still would've found it more than engaging enough to see it through to the end. I don't think it's quite the blow-your-eyebrows-off-of-your-face book that the media have made it out to be, but it certainly grabs your attention and gets you thinking.

While there is a bit of talk about Alex Ferguson's early life and managerial days at St.Mirren and Aberdeen, this book mainly focuses on the period between 2001/02 (the season he was supposed to retire but then changed his mind) and 2012/13 (when he did actually retire). He talks a lot about his thinking behind his transfer purchases, the United youth system, his methods of dealing of problematic players, and the in-game tactics used to ensure the Red Devils remained a competitive force both in the English Premiership and in the UEFA Champions League.

In the early chapters Ferguson talks about his no-nonsense temperate; the importance of keeping his teams focused and in line, reminding them that he was in charge and that they would be facing severe consequences if they stepped out of line. One example of this is when -during his early years of management- he fired a player for making a rude gesture in a team photo. He comes across as being a very, VERY passionate man when it comes to football (as if all that TV coverage wasn't obvious enough). In fact, in those same early chapters, he talks about having a steely determination, never giving up and always looking for a way to comeback and improve on previous results. The words are actually quite uplifting. If you're a person who's currently down on their luck and can't seem to catch a break, those are the kind of words you need to hear...the kind of words you want to hear. In spite of Ferguson's notable fiery temper though, the foul language is kept relatively light in this autobiography, unlike Harry Redknapp's offering which was pretty much profanity-laden from start to finish.

The so-called juicy bits can be found halfway through, and Ferguson doesn't mince his words for even a short line. He rates Australian goalkeeper Mark Bosnich poorly, portraying him as a greedy pig that couldn't stop eating; while Owen Hargreaves apparently disappointed him by having no confidence in his ability to overcome injuries. Even the better Manchester United players get a text book slapping. While Fergie acknowledges David Beckham to be a hard worker and a fine footballer of his generation, he does express a strong disliking towards his celebrity lifestyle, and that from his POV his focus was more on being famous than improving the United team. Having seemingly patched up their differences a few years back, you can't help but wonder if Fergie is trying to reopen old wounds with comments like that towards Beckham; and if so, why? Why bother kissing and making up when you're just planning to shoot him down again?

However the ex-United player who bears most of the criticizing brunt is the 90's midfield engine, Roy Keane. According to Alex, Roy's attitude was especially problematic during his final few months at Old Trafford with a series of petty arguments, and a general feeling that Roy was trying to take over the manager's hot seat in an underhanded manner. The chapter on Roy Keane plays out more like a well-written thriller, and every page turn builds up the excitement more and more and more until his eventual departure. Definitely a chatterbox worthy bunch of pages.

The truly unexpected stuff for me comes in Ferguson's interests outside of football. Sure he's dabbled in owning race horses for quite a while, but aside from that I couldn't help but feel that football was all he knew, that there was very little beyond the goalposts of the beautiful game. So to read that he has a strong fascination for former US President John F.Kennedy, and more precisely his assassination (with many books on the subject in his home), made me let out a sizeable "Huh?!" Mind you a few surprises are usually welcome in a book, and I suppose many of us do have an unexpected hobby or two, so it's all good.

One thing that'll surely get the football lovers talking is Ferguson's choice of words before and after matches, and in the media. Many a paper have stated that Fergie was playing mind games with his opponents (managers in particular) in order to unsettle the opposition and give his team the advantage. However Fergie insists that this has never been the case, saying that he was merely expressing his honest opinions about his opponents and that the papers (and other media) simply made it out to be mind games. Is he telling the truth? Well, I'm trying to look at it like this. This is his autobiography, his page-by-page opportunity to tell it like it is. Why would he lie about that in his own book, especially knowing that he is now in the late autumn of his life?

Overall Alex Ferguson's autobiography gets full marks from me. Its mixture of strong views and exciting action, mixed in with small amounts of surprises and even a motivational speech, all add up to make it one of the best books I've read so far. At times I even found myself reading about four chapters in one sitting, it is that good. Whether you're a diehard Manchester United fan, or an individual looking to bash them at every single opportunity, this is a book you simply HAVE to read.

Update - 26/4/2014: Well, looks like David Moyes is gone. More of a sacking than a resignation, but he is gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting confession of a man who marked English and world football..., 3 Dec 2013
"Alex Ferguson: My Autobiography" is an interesting confession of a man who marked English and world football for the last 30 years he spent as manager of Manchester United football team.

His book can be recommended to all fans of football, regardless of which club you are a fan because it provides a lot of information about the famous players that have marked the past years in one of the most popular sports in the world.

This is his second autobiography book, or continuation of previous one in which he focused on his career at Manchester United, though he's not only telling the story about his football manager career but also about his youth, his family and friends, even about him being an owner of a pub what is not so well known fact about him.

Media criticized this release due to alleged Ferguson's criticism to all and any that actually isn't true, although there are some places where Ferguson doesn't speak in superlatives about some players with whom he worked.

But when you read the book in its entirety you'll see that more often he speaks nicely about rival players, teams, even his colleague managers.

Therefore, this book can be recommended to all those who are interested to learn some truths (few of them spicy) about football matters from a man who was a top expert in his profession what kept him so long on the bench of one of the best football clubs in the world.
The reason why Ferguson still being alive already became the legend of world football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fergie Time, 9 Dec 2014
By 
tallpete33 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
[ Review of the original version ]

I was looking forward to this as although I'm not a United fan (Millwall, for my sins) I enjoy football and cannot help but admire the man who dragged United out of the doldrums to domestic and European success and for so long. However when asked my opinion of this book, my response has invariably been "not great". The early chapters were more of a "This is Your Life" thankyou to people I've never heard of and not an account of his early life as is the norm for an autobiography. I was particularly looking forward to hearing of his childhood in Govan, his playing days and how he went from pub landlord to football manager but the details were scarce as if it was assumed you already knew them. A friend later told me a lot of this was in his other autobiography so had this been marketed as part 2 then this would have been understandable but it left me feeling short changed and slightly resentful.

As for the rest of the book, it had it's moments but was very disjointed and bounced from subject to subject and player to player quite randomly. What I did note as strange was how certain players had a chapter each titled as their surname...all apart from the pretty uninteresting Rio. Keane obviously got his own and the knives got stuck in although not too deeply but where was Cantona ? The Rock of Gibraltar scenario was glossed over in a paragraph and a chapter dedicated to Mourinho was very weak with the Portugese only getting a few mentions before Ferguson started talking about himself again. Praise was given out grudgingly as Sir Alex proved himself to be the master of the backhanded compliment and nothing was said (in this edition at least) about the process of choosing his fateful successor.

Overall, not a great read unfortunately. It really needs tearing up and starting again - by somebody else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite in a league of its own., 21 Dec 2013
I'm not a big football fan and borrowed this book because I'm interested in sports psychology and leadership.

I thought this provided limited insight into the man and what made him the great manager that he undoubtedly was. [ it wasn't a case of sweet F.A with regards to this, but just not as much as I hoped]

No doubt Sir Alex is a man with as many talents as A Wenger Swiss Army knife has blades, but I think that writing is not one of the skills in his arsenal. To my mind he often comes across as grudging in his admiration towards others which is a great shame as acknowledging others generally should not diminish your own worth - and he no longer needs to compete.

That's what I thought, but then other readers will be approaching this book from a very different angle.

So, if you are reading this because you are Man Utd fan then irrespective of all of the above this will no doubt find a place on your bookshelf, and you probably will love it.

I however have loaned it out and may consider letting it go on a free transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ''FERGIE'', 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read and most informative. He takes us through the hard times and the good of his career. It is full of fascinating facts and figures about the many world class footballers he brought to the club. He makes no attempt to blow his own horn although he of all people could be forgiven. A fascinating book for football fans in general but an essential read for MANU supporters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, honest,, 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting read, surprisingly humble and an honest appraisal of a man dedicated to control and success. Would have liked to have more insight into his reasons behind retirement and the moment he decided to do it with a mention on his feelings towards the modern game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As inspirational as it is fascinating!, 23 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been a united fan since birth (23 years ago) and this book runs through all the big nights which were the spine of my youth. The insights offered from Sir Alex are inspired, and to understand how a football club works from the inside is fascinating. The book is full of personal opinions which make Sir Alex feel all the more human; it would have been easy to write a book and say how amazing everyone is but to hear tales of Giggs, Beckham and Scholesey as youngsters is a reminder that they were just Ryan from down the road one day, and that by believing in yourself you can accomplish anything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but that's it, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting account of his time at the top but I can't help but feel that it's just been thrown together in order to make him an extra few pounds and cash in on his retirement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read especially if a united fan, 4 Dec 2013
This is a great read by a great man very enjoyable for all fans of football especially for united fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2111 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews