Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!
Just like the rest of the Sevenwaters Trilogy, The Child of the Prophecy was a wonderfully written, engrossing book that dragged me into a whole different place where magic seemed to touch every corner of the world encompassed within it's pages. Juliet Marillier's books are the kind you can re-read on a rainy afternoon when you just want to unwind. Though they are...
Published on 24 Nov 2004 by avluela_tomoe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best...
I have read all three books in the trilogy and have to say that this was my least favourite of the three; I liked Daughter of the Forest, I loved Son of the Shadows and have to say that I found Child of the Prophecy rather disapointing, I suppose mainly because, no matter how hard I tried, I simply cannot like Fainne. The writing is still beautiful and it was good to find...
Published 22 months ago by S. Andrews


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 24 Nov 2004
Just like the rest of the Sevenwaters Trilogy, The Child of the Prophecy was a wonderfully written, engrossing book that dragged me into a whole different place where magic seemed to touch every corner of the world encompassed within it's pages. Juliet Marillier's books are the kind you can re-read on a rainy afternoon when you just want to unwind. Though they are certainly filled with fantasy, they have a touch of human feeling that makes me feel warm inside. Fantasy is too often cold and lacking in the the emotional department, but Marillier's work has certainly not fallen into that trap!
The Child of the Prophecy is probably the best of this trilogy. Marillier's writing has grown and improved over the span of the three books, and her characters have grown more real over time. For example, the main character Fainne is hardly perfect. She's flawed, troubled, arrogant and vulnerable and undeniably human in a way that I cannot help but empathise with.
The romance, too, is warm and bittersweet and both tragic and funny at turns. It came across as an almost realistic relationship - the kind that is not eternal and does not defy all boundaries and yet... Well, you'll have to read it to find out, won't you?
In conclusion: I loved this book. It has darkness. It has sorocery. It has far more fantasy elements than the first two novels. And yet, it is perhaps the most human of them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why do trilogies have to stop at three!!, 12 April 2003
By 
Lorna (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
This is the final book in the Sevenwaters Trilogy, and how sad I was to get to the end - I just didn't want the stories to stop! In this book we follow the tale of Fainne, the illicit child of Ciaran and his niece Niamh, sister to Liadan, who is our heroine of book 2. We also see the return of the evil sorceress Oonagh, who is our nemesis from book one, here again to work evil aganist the Sevenwaters family through Fainne. Once again we have a very stong, but very different character, presented in a unique way. This child is no angel, but neither is she evil, and the author presents the characters' torn emotions in a heart wrenching manor, so that you sympathise with her even when she is doing her worst. As with the other two titles in this trilogy, I couldn't put it down, and read the whole trilogy in a matter of days! I loved the way each of the three heroines in each of the books were all very strong, but very different characters, from good to rebellious to bad. Each subsequent book wasn't a rehash of the first story as so often happens in trilogies, but a true continuation of a saga, so much so that you could almost believe them to be true. Magic and mayhem, hate and deceptions, love and romance, you have it all here. Come on Juliet, turn this trilogy into a series and give us more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thrilling conclusion, 12 April 2003
By A Customer
The third and final volume in Marillier's Sevenwaters trilogy doesn't disappoint when compared to those preceding it. There is as much action as before, and the central character is just as, if not more, complex and engaging as those in the first two volumes. The mysterious prophesy hinted at in the first two novels is finally revealed (though not until the very end!) and "Daughter of the Forest's" villaness, Oonagh, returns. One dissaointment was that I had hoped to see more of Liadan and Bran, personal favourites from the second novel, but Bran especially felt dropped from the novel; in fairness though, he has no active part to play - this was just a personal quibble. Just as in the first two, there is an engaging central romance among the adventures, and the myths and magics of ancient Ireland abound - I had to wait ages for it, but it was worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is great!!!!, 23 Jan 2004
By A Customer
The whole seven waters trilogy is so amazing, it is a heart stopper in some places because you get so attached to the characters! Juliet Marlier is a stunning writer, the plots are all interwoven to create a tapestry of events, and you just can't put it down. I can't wait until her next trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, brilliant & magical, 8 Sep 2004
By A Customer
Faine is a heroine who will change your mind about sorcerors (or witches) as they are more recently called - that they are not all evil and bad - well if the author herself is to be believed. But because of her evil grandmother - the Lady Oonagh - who tried to destroy the Sevenwaters family, she believes herself on the path of darkness. Her grandmother sends her on an evil mission to destroy the child of prophecy - the grandson of the original heroine the now deceased Sorca of Sevenwaters, Ulster and Hugh of Harrowfield, Northumbria.
But when she despairs she finds a way to defeat Oonagh and save the Sevenwaters inheritance as well as regaining the lost islands.
I recommend this conslusion to the Sevenwaters trilogy. Could be enjoyed on its own but you would be tempted to read the previous two. In a way Faine has much in common with the first heroine, Sorca in thwarting Oonagh's evil plans. Also like Sorca, Faine is a guest at a family estate where unfortunate incidents raise suspicions against them, Sorca at Harrowfield and Faine at Sevenwaters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Anothe strong novel in the series, 7 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of the Prophecy: Book 3 of the Sevenwaters Trilogy (The Sevenwaters Trilogy, Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
A tough choice between 4/5*. If I had to choose I would select Son of Shadows as the stronger narrative but the pace of the two novels is very different. This one is much slower with much of the dramatic action taking place after Fainne reaches Sevenwaters, but in the end I felt this was a strength. Although each of Marillier's novels follow a romance pattern, there is enough alternative action and world to distract from the HEA, and make you wonder if and how the characters will find a resolution. Darragh is deliberately as different to Bran as Fainne is to Liadan. Marillier once again uses tales to great effect and I enjoyed Laiden's machinations unlike some readers-without it Fainne would have been a very simple, nave character. JM is consistently good at painting character and place, making this series an enjoyable read even once you suspect developments. Revisiting Bran, Liaden and Finbar was also fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Condition, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely volume in great condition. Have read the first in the trilogy and started the second. Hoping it will follow the great story telling and wonderful writing of the other two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 17 Aug 2013
despite some saying this book was rubbish compared to the first two i have to admit that i loved this book, ok maybe not as much as the first one but i definitely don't think it was rubbish!
i really enjoyed this book and despite buying this book about five years ago i can't seem to part with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best trilogies out there - Marillier's writing style is unparalleled and her stories are just absolute magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sevenwater Trilogy, 27 May 2005
The final book of the trilogy is a fantastic conclusion. The magic of the previous books still lies. The moment you open the front cover you are taken in as if by a spell of its own.
This is beautiful in the style of writing, the description and the plot itself. You will be as absorbed with this onr as all the others.
Although, it is not better as the first and second, it is still extremly good and towards the end, satisfyingly climtic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews