Customer Reviews


544 Reviews
5 star:
 (228)
4 star:
 (124)
3 star:
 (92)
2 star:
 (59)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE KEYS TO THE KINGDOM
Elysium is the name of an orbiting satellite. It has a controlled environment and is where the rich and powerful live. The United States has been reduced to a land on illegals in an extension of class warfare. Health care is different for the rich than the poor. The "illegals" attempt to go to Elysium to get health care. The film also is an extension of...
Published 21 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It was less than halfway through that it just became stupid. Why does a ruthless mercenary become so personally ...
It started out so well. It was less than halfway through that it just became stupid.
Why does a ruthless mercenary become so personally fixated? Just didn't make sense. Just an excuse for violence and shooting.
Published 3 months ago by Mrs M


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It was less than halfway through that it just became stupid. Why does a ruthless mercenary become so personally ..., 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elysium [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
It started out so well. It was less than halfway through that it just became stupid.
Why does a ruthless mercenary become so personally fixated? Just didn't make sense. Just an excuse for violence and shooting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE KEYS TO THE KINGDOM, 27 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Elysium [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Elysium is the name of an orbiting satellite. It has a controlled environment and is where the rich and powerful live. The United States has been reduced to a land on illegals in an extension of class warfare. Health care is different for the rich than the poor. The "illegals" attempt to go to Elysium to get health care. The film also is an extension of surveillance drones, automated robots, and how computers run the world.

In an unusual role Jodi Foster plays Delacourt, the emotionless Secretary of Defense who protects Elysium. At times she is similar to Jack Nicholson in "A Few Good Men" and really needed to be more like him. It was not a good role for her. Matt Damon plays Max in his usual man against the system. After an industrial accident, Max has 5 days to live and opts to join the resistance against the powers of Elysium.

There are massive parallels to today's society which bogged down this morality film by their overtness.

Good looking graphics. Good ending. Fair plot. Dialogue needed to be lighter. Politically to the left.

Parental Guide: F-bombs. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the time, 4 May 2015
This review is from: Elysium [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Maybe, if your idea of a good film is regurgitated tropes and stereotypes, unnecessary gore and fight scenes that get boring very quickly, this is your film!

If not, then not even its current price of £3 is, to my mind, justifiable.

I watched this in the cinema. I'd watched Oblivion with friends before (and had not been too keen on it), but watching this made me realise that whatever gripes I'd had with Oblivion, this far exceeded it... in a downwards direction.
The plot, quite honestly, sounded promising in the summary. It spiked some element of curiousity within me. However, this was quickly quelled when I watched the actual film, and at about the halfway mark I was dying of boredom inside my skull, wanting nothing more than to leave the cinema and not endure the tedium on-screen, but simultaneously not wanting to doubly waste the money I'd spent on the ticket by actually leaving.

I couldn't make a connection with any of the characters, because quite frankly, I found them all shallow and superficial. The main physical villain (note: spoiler alert and clarification: "physical villain" meaning the one who actually does the fighting, not the political one) gets his face blown in/off, and while that and the following reconstruction of said face using a machine was both disgusting and not plot-necessary, the fact that he comes back ONLY to battle the protagonist in a drawn-out, completely predictable battle that 1) has no dramatic tension, and 2) was the point where I finally gave up and resigned myself to a loss of my precious time (because I can see it now -- a bunch of people sitting around a table going "we need an action film. Let's put some gore in there, bring the villain back to life and have a follow-up battle for filler, because our actual plot needs lots of filler to space it out!") was so obvious, overdone and clichéd I was physically cringing in my seat.
Let's not even mention the tediously overdone "big evil villain guy sexually threatens/harasses main female lead to make the hero look better".

Perhaps you can tell that I didn't like the film. Perhaps my wish for something intelligent that I can mull over later is too much to offer when it comes to your bog-standard action films? Perhaps, unlike what I thought, the initial idea that seemed interesting in summary was simply never expanded on. Instead of an introspective, philosophical film of merit, they went "so let's take a dystopian society and our vision of the upper class doing what they do best (hoarding all the best creations for themselves purely because they can afford it and think everyone else is low-lives) and ADD IN GUNS!".
This could have been a wonderfully thought-provoking film.
It isn't.

Quite frankly, they needn't have bothered to try. I will never watch this film again, and I will be all the better for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Failed at Almost Every Level, 2 May 2015
This review is from: Elysium [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
So here's yet another dystopian take on future Earth, year 2054. And like "Oblivion" and "World War Z" etc, it seems to follow the formula of amazing CGI special effects, lots of techno-wizardry, and a favourite Hollywood action name to try and give it some cred.

(Spoiler Alert) For me that formula failed, yet again. Just lately, CGI - especially when representing the `big picture' - certainly seems to have come of age. The great planetary sweeps of disintegration and space panoramas looked about as seamless as one could wish, and minutely detailed to the point of plausibility. The computer boffs really do have vivid imaginations, and I take my hat off to `em. The techno-stuff was also on the mark. But ultimately, any movie stands or falls on its story - and how it's told. And this is where "Elysium" plummets to Earth big-time.

Matt Damon plays Max - a grunt with a long criminal record. He's not particularly likeable and therefore hard to care about. Not many people would want a serial criminal with a cage-fighter's physique as their neighbour even today. I couldn't help wondering how he found the time and resources to become such a hunk under those straightened circumstances of his life. But, unlike many; he has a job. Ironically; he works in a factory that builds the robot police who now maintain law and order. It's a sweat-shop, with sweatshop attitudes. He has a radiation accident that will kill him in less than a week. Terrestrial medical facilities are Spartan.

However; up in the sky, there's Elysium. It's an orbital space colony to which the privileged have migrated from an over-populated, crime-ridden wasted Earth. It's a beautiful artificial Eden. The citizens have no need of grunts up there; robots do all their bidding. And they've got everything. If Max could only get there; he'd be cured...Time to pay a visit on his old criminal chums.

The issues in this movie are the one's we see today being acted-out in the Mediterranean and elsewhere: Poor people wanting a better life, and rich people not wanting to share theirs; indiscriminate disregard for urban environments leading to wrecked criminal-haunted ghettoes; people blessed with natural ability wanting to sell their skills for the highest price and enjoy the good life; the have-nots reduced to mend-and make-do. Who is to blame? Is anybody to blame? Can anything be done? Should those with talent, ambition and responsibility feel any moral obligation towards those who lack talent, are shiftless, or more readily turn to crime? This movie had an opportunity to really say something in this regard with broad brushstrokes; but instead; as is so often the case, it sold out to petty one-dimensional personal conflict and excessive violence. I won't bore the reader with minutiae. A graciously-ageing Jodie Foster plays Elysium's ruthless security boss, whilst someone whose name escapes me plays her sort of odd-job man on Earth - assassin, bounty-hunter, and general baddie. He has an Africaaner accent, which now seems to be Hollywood's evil voice of choice, after educated English. As If to emphasise polarity; nice people are saccharine-nice and really, really vulnerable; whilst nasty people are truly vile and seemingly indestructible. None of the dominant characters are likeable.

Apart from the CGI effects - of which we scarcely catch a glimpse and likewise the beautiful people of Elysium - this movie has absolutely nothing to say. It descends into little more than an excessively violent shoot-'em-up with various revenge threads sown in as mitigation, along with the inevitable race-against-time. It could've been wonderful - visually spectacular with a powerful social statement.

My DVD came with several special features, aspect ratio 2.4:1, Viewer rating of "15", run time stated as 105mins. Three quid from Tesco's. Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Builds Promise, Then Collapses Into Disengagement., 6 May 2014
By 
Solar Fox (Where dawn and dusk takes place) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elysium [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Starts off promising with good pace and visual immersion. An impressive hi-jacking scene and clever use of futuristic weaponry. Then half way through the film it goes stale rather quickly as the death toll goes manic and pointless for shock factor. It isn't shocking and the immersion evaporates right up to the cringe inducing ending. And it started off so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not too over complicated sci fi action, 17 April 2015
By 
chelios1981 (Glos, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Elysium [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
An effective sci fi actioner that relies on a simple plot, not original but visually stunning and well acted.

Matt Damon is the all round good guy with a chequered past who inevitability becomes earths hope of saviour.

Damon must get aboard Elysium a floating colony for the privileged rich and upload data to give the surviving earthlings access to the same privileges as those aboard, including medical care.

Earth is a dump, a dusty, filthy apocalyptic shanty filled mess as seen in so many science fiction stories, whist Elysium is the perfect state of living perfection.

Forgetting the political undertones (we all no the rich live better lives than the poor and have a better standard of living) this film works as a solid piece of entertainment, mixing good CGI with some well staged action, a good cast (though Jodie Foster has a strange accent here) and an engaging plot.

By no means a masterpiece but certainly one of the better sci fi flicks that Hollywood has turned out in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blomkamp's Empire Strikes Back...Almost, 25 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Elysium [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
After the unexpected triumph of the peerless District 9 in 2011, Matt Damon heads the cast in Blomkamp's latest treatise on immigration, society, and apartheid. Damon's reformed car thief Max Da Costa becomes the unwitting potential saviour of mankind, after an industrial accident leaves his body riddled with catastrophic amounts of radiation. Like most of his peers, Max cannot access the medical treatment he needs, as this is only available on the paradisiacal satellite of Elysium, where the rich and pampered of Earth have all escaped to after their home planet has finally become too crowded, polluted, and dangerous for their liking. In collusion with smuggling kingpin and former associate Spider, Max and his buddy Julio set out to infiltrate Elysium and ensure that all residents of Earth become eligible for the medical treatment available to the privileged few.

Sharlto Copley - Blomkamp's muse from Distric 9, makes a welcome appearance as sociopathic mercenary Kruger, while Jodie Foster adds gravitas as the ruthless administrator of Elysium. Alice Braga also pops up as Max's childhood sweetheart Frey, whose daughter has Leukaemia and who is also desperate to avail her of the miracle cure found only on Elysium. The movie is tense and effective from the start, and there is enough action to satisfy the most ardent Sci-fi/Thriller fans, while Damon does a good job of reminding us of the acting chops he first showed in the likes of The Talented Mr Ripley and Saving Private Ryan. Whilst not as original as District 9, Elysium is another solid action/adventure with a strongly-beating yet subtle political core, and a sign that its director is getting to the top of his game and will be a force in the movie industry for quite some time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Matt Damon!", 12 April 2015
By 
Top Tec (Leicester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elysium [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
So boring I turned it off after 40 mins. Generic story, done to death in other places like Battle Angel Alita, or even the worst film ever made i.e. Zardoz. Indeed B.A.A is how to do this story, and that anime is pretty ancient. Characters are poorly drawn out, plot is ridiculous, and computer generated special effects are not impressive anymore. Don't waste your time like this film manages to waste it's cast, budget, and ideas. Total garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really bad Matt Damon film, 22 Dec. 2014
By 
Ian M. Hoggan "Ian Hoggan Bungle" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elysium [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Really bad Matt Damon film. His worst, I think. Too much swearing for me, bit I'm no prude. The other actors are really anoying too. And Jody Fosters accent is SO weird. I don't know where she got that from. She spoke a bit of French, but from there on in was really bad! It could have been really good with a good director, bit as it is, it's dire!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars scifi, 21 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Elysium [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Good scifi idea script seems a bit clunky Matt Damon and Jodie Foster both seem underused in this movie the idea of the film needed more working as the dialouge seems poor,the film focus is mainly on visuals, the main highlights revolve around action scenes and special effects,Jodie Foster as the baddie makes a change,so thats an intresting angle but apart from that similar in style to Disrict 9 but not as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elysium
Elysium by Neill Blomkamp
£0.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews