Customer Reviews


225 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful film that should make you feel proud to be British
Joel Hopkins has created a film that will truly make you smile with its quintessential British qualities. I am not a great fan of slapstick, but this is rather gentle and sophisticated slapstick that with its 'empty-nester' lead characters will certainly appeal to an audience of relative status, amongst whom I was fortunate enough to be seated, as they laughed with...
Published 8 months ago by G. L. Lewis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good cast, great production values, poor plot and a shocking script : a bad recipe for quality filmmaking.
This a truly woeful example of how big name stars, a substantial budget and high production values mean absolutely nothing if you don't have a good script. The basic premise is no more ludicrous than any number of films in this genre, but the execution is dreadful : you can't make a pot without clay, and even the best actors struggle when given tosh like this. And it's...
Published 5 days ago by The Admiral


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good cast, great production values, poor plot and a shocking script : a bad recipe for quality filmmaking., 28 Feb. 2015
By 
The Admiral (North West, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Love Punch [DVD] (DVD)
This a truly woeful example of how big name stars, a substantial budget and high production values mean absolutely nothing if you don't have a good script. The basic premise is no more ludicrous than any number of films in this genre, but the execution is dreadful : you can't make a pot without clay, and even the best actors struggle when given tosh like this. And it's quite a feat, to be able to make something this bad, with such a great cast. Emma Thompson does her best, and frankly seems to get more sexy and lovelier as she ages, Timothy Spall turns in a typically reliable showing, and Celia Imrie is............ well frankly, Celia Imrie - as she is in pretty much everything from Bridget Jones to Dinner Ladies, but nothing wrong with that. If anything, Brosnan is the weak link, and the film relies rather to much on the smug 'in joke' of having James Bond dealing with weaknesses associated with ageing or being too straight : younger girlfriends leave him, his back is knackered, he is too timid a driver for a car chase, he has to go for prostrate exams, has o idea what to do with a gun, and he struggles with anything too physical etc. It's mildly amusing the first time, but this directorial knowing wink to the audience every time he groans or limps a bit is frankly just annoying and downright lazy film making. I watched this for free on Amazon Prime, and I still felt short changed. Such a pity, as they obviously chucked a few quid at it, and with an even half accomplished script it could have been a comfy night on the sofa, let it wash over you, 3 stars, but it's just dreadful I'm afraid. Spend 90 minutes of your life on something more fulfilling, such as cutting your toenails or bathing the dog : you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fantastic cast, seriously does not get better than Imrie, 16 Aug. 2014
By 
Conchie (Dublin, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Love Punch [DVD] (DVD)
It should have had everything going for it…. fantastic cast, seriously does not get better than Imrie, Spall, Thompson and even 007 himself. The plot looked really good fun and I was so looking forward to it. On a positive note Emma Thompson looks amazing, never seen her look better than she does in this, as does Pierce Brosnan, very handsome man, but the entire thing just descended rather quickly into quite bad slapstick and a very silly plot that was all over the place. If like me you pick it up.. see the great cast, read the blurb on the back and think … wow.. this will be great…. sorry to say think again. Rather poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Strong cast make surprisingly weak movie, 8 Dec. 2014
By 
This review is from: The Love Punch (DVD)
It is hard to understand how such a strong cast produced such an utterly weak movie. OK, so Piers Morgan made Mamma Mia, so his credibility is thin, but Emma Thompson, Celia Imrie and Timothy Spall hardly put a foot wrong. Yet it just doesn't add up. For a movie so utterly implausible to carry you along it has to be very funny. This is only mildly funny and gives you much too much time to notice how ridiculous the plot is. The characters are just lazy stereotypes - the ruthless businessman, the gold-digging girlfriend, the wronged wife of the philandering golf-playing businessman, the loyal secretary. It's just factory-produced rom com. The only redemption comes from Imrie and Spall, who are genuinely funny in their slapstick support role. Overall, it was a waste of an hour and a half of my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Actors, Great Director, 28 Feb. 2015
By 
Linda (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Love Punch [DVD] (DVD)
Great Actors, Great Director, Good Idea - Awful
This really is a shockingly bad film bearing in mind it's incredibly good ingredients. If you buy it you'll watch to the end and smile gently on a few occasions - bit not as many times as you will wince!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful film that should make you feel proud to be British, 17 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Love Punch [DVD] (DVD)
Joel Hopkins has created a film that will truly make you smile with its quintessential British qualities. I am not a great fan of slapstick, but this is rather gentle and sophisticated slapstick that with its 'empty-nester' lead characters will certainly appeal to an audience of relative status, amongst whom I was fortunate enough to be seated, as they laughed with empathy at the subtle sexual references and woes befalling the lead characters. Sometimes an audience just enhances the viewing experience!. With the perfect casting of some great British favourites, The Love Punch is an uplifting and intelligently written film. For this full-time mother, it was a welcome antidote to the many dark and violent films that seem to dominate the big screen. Marvellous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Awful, awful, awful !, 25 Feb. 2015
By 
Frederick Reed. (Aylesbury, Bucks.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Love Punch [DVD] (DVD)
One and a half hours gone out of my life watching such a dire dvd No story or plot in spite of what is printed on the back, Brosnan should stick to being 007, Thompson should leave her upper class accent for good story lines, and as for Spall and Imrie they were the only redeeming feature in the short time they were on screen and that is why I have awarded them each a star !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 22 Feb. 2015
This review is from: The Love Punch [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely loved this film!!
that much so that I watched it twice on a row, love the characters that they play, they are portrayed brilliantly!
I love the relationships in the film and the people who play them are amazing!
I was totally in awe, the laughter, loving relationships.
The storyline is very excellently written, and totally addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, lame,patronising,disappointing etc, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Love Punch (DVD)
Hugely disappointing film. With a cast like this, you would expect that it couldn't be this bad, but it is terrible.
The plot is lame, the characters stereotyped and it just limps along. I usually love Brit rom coms and usually admire the work of Spall/ Imrie /Thompson, but really, don't bother wasting your time watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Strangely Bad, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For such well respected actors unexpectedly bad. All good ingredients, just very (VERY) bad concept and script. Too goofy and implausible to take seriously and too seriously played for such a completely unbelievable story...Testament to how much I like Pierce Brosnan and the other actors that I watched it all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gently witty,and fondly observant of its demographic, 8 May 2014
This review is from: The Love Punch [DVD] (DVD)
Ex plot-which is daft (aren't all such movies?) a wryly comic little gem which improves on rewatching-killer soundtrack too (the cinema version not the soundtrack album. Pressed all the right buttons for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Love Punch
The Love Punch by Joel Hopkins
£0.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews