Customer Reviews


263 Reviews
5 star:
 (226)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy follow-up
I have awaited Foyle's return on screen for quite some time, and the wait was definitely worth it. The episodes are well written, interesting and suspenseful. Foyle comes back from America and is immediately approached by MI5: Finally they want him to work for them.

The episodes are really exciting and dramatic. The war is over, and Foyle finds himself in the...
Published 24 months ago by Eirik

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great but the plots submerged by a terrible dominating sound track
Acting good, plots good and the change to the developing Cold War environment very well done. But as with many new BBC offering the sound track permeates throughout the programme. I have no idea why this is felt; my theory is that many people have become impervious to noise, and the dialogue is not as important. I found this a disappointing aspect of this series although...
Published 16 months ago by W. Hutchinson


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy follow-up, 24 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
I have awaited Foyle's return on screen for quite some time, and the wait was definitely worth it. The episodes are well written, interesting and suspenseful. Foyle comes back from America and is immediately approached by MI5: Finally they want him to work for them.

The episodes are really exciting and dramatic. The war is over, and Foyle finds himself in the world of espionage, with the new threat of the Sovjet Union and its spies and schemes lurking around every corner. Foyle manages to use his forensic skills creatively in this new setting. I really like the way the series treats Foyle's balance between doing his job and his moral integrity. The dilemma between the dark and possibly immoral ways of MI5 and the notion of the "greater good" is a returning theme that the series deals with.

Michael Kitchen is as excellent as ever. There is such a great depth behind his subtle way of acting; a lot is being said behind his non-verbal demeanour. His "silent" style is what makes Foyle Foyle. Superb acting, in other words. Honeysuckle Weeks is also back; this time playing a more sombre and tired Sam, reflecting the hardship of the times, without omitting the occasional hilarious moments when she really brings joy and laughter to the episodes. Foyle's war is of course unthinkable without her.

I encountered some disappointments. First of all, I was a little unsatisfied that we did not get to see Foyle's hunt for senator Howard Paige in America, since I have looked forward to this ever since the episode where he got away (50 ships I belive it was), and since the last thing Foyle did in the last series was to go to America. I hope we might get to know more of this later, if they continue the series.

It might have been preferable to have the same actor to play Sam's husband, but this is a minor detail of course. This option was probably not available for the creators at the time, for some reason. That is very understandable and constitutes one of the difficulties of making a prolonged series.

There is also a literal change of colour in the series, especially in the first episode, "The Eternity Ring". A tone of grey dominates the canvas, conveying the dismal and gloomy feeling of post-war Britain, with bombed out buildings and food rationing. This grey appearance loses some of the feel of the earlier Foyle episodes, but does also add to the drama, the difficulties of the time and the moral "grey zone" of the world of espionage and Foyle's new employer, MI5.

I am sorry about the small nit-picks. Maybe I am being somewhat harsh in giving it four out of five stars, because it is a very good comeback for Foyle with dazzling acting performances and interesting plots. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foyle on good form again, this time the war is a cold one, but no less deadly., 17 Jun. 2013
By 
Big Ben "fly_mo" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
Good to see the Foyle team back in action with a new (post WW2) backdrop.
This is indeed labelled Series Seven, but this is a different series Seven to that listed on Wikipedia - it has the same episodes as listed by Wikipedia as belonging to Series Eight.
The episodes are:- "The Eternity Ring", "The Cage" and "Sunflower"

The way that Foyle returns from the USA and finds himself embroiled in an MI5 scenario that involves his former driver is very well scripted and worked well for us - this first script is by original 'Foyle' creator Anthony Horowitz, as is the last, but we found no fault with "The Cage" which is by David Kane - who also wrote the excellent episode "Killing Time" in a previous series.

Given that Horowitz has declared his intention to relinquish the series eventually, this is good news. Be wonderful if he were to decide to carry on, but failing that, a replacement who is skilled in the art is most welcome.
(whilst researching this we noticed that another previous series featured the episode "Broken Souls" by Michael Chaplin which we had enjoyed without noticing the writing credit or any change in quality at the time)
Good news indeed.
As with any good 'Foyle' episodes these revolve around the honesty of Foyle himself and his ability to see beyond the obvous. Portrayed immaculately as ever by the talented Michael Kitchen, with Honeysuckle Weeks as bright and smart as ever, in a very new context that is (if anything) -more- intriguing than the original series.
Strongly recommended to fans of Foyle.
Those who have yet to try the series are recommended to start at the very beginning, you have much to look forward to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How much Colder can War get?, 26 July 2014
By 
Hamish Adam - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
I reviewed the first 'Foyle' series and subsequently saw no reason to review the continually excellent ensuing seasons. But season seven raises the bar and is worthy of another mention.

These are darker times. More shadows, less moral certainty as to who the good guys really are - and all set against a political background of a nation on the verge of re-inventing itself with a radical Labour government who would create a national health service, build public housing and provide a substantial welfare net.

Alongside this political dilemma is the altogether more interesting dilemma which Christopher Foyle's involvement with the security services poses. Is he, as they constantly say, 'not one of us and unable to fully understand how we work', or is it in fact the traditions of the security services themselves that are not up to a task that would actually be better left to the kind of regular policing techniques that Foyle brings to their work.

Michael Kitchen, as ever, does an utterly super, and super subtle, job of letting us, and them, know that it is they, and not he, who are out of their depth in the fight against the new Cold War enemy.

It's a pity that Milner has gone but he really has less of a place in Foyle's new job although the exquisite Honeysuckle Weeks continues to delight as Foyle's driver and aide. She is now less of an exuberant fifth former and now a serious-minded political wife who neatly reflects the dilemmas of the time.

I was born after the period that season seven covers and, aside from the splendid drama, I find it an incredibly helpful recreation of the time when the Britain that we live in today was shaped. I did an 'O' Level in 20th century British history. How much easier it would have been had I had been able to watch brilliant telly evocations of those times like 'The Hour', 'Endeavour', 'Bletchley Circle' and, of course, all the Foyle's series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOYLE IN A DIFFERENT ROLE, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
Another great series which was totally different from the past six. The new 'after war role' he played was very interesting and I do hope there is another series soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles, 2 April 2013
By 
Markus Ronald "Ronnie" (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
A really fantastic series which i can highly recommend. However i write this review for the hard of hearing. THERE ARE NO SUBTITLES which really ruins it for people like me who are pretty deaf. Bottom line is that if you do have hearing problems, then do not buy the dvd. Sad, because we deafies are really missing out on a superb product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every series superb, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
I wish Foyle's War would go on forever. In today's dross on TV a veritable masterpiece. Excellent writers, great cast and please do another series or two, or three, or four. We need this sort of class, especially home-grown. The Americans are very good but when we do something good it proves we are the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
I do like Foyle's War: the story lines are very plausible and the actors playing the characters well chosen. I like the way Michael Kitchen's facial expressions can convey such a lot. And he's not afraid of ruffling feathers to get to the truth. Looking forward to Series 8 being released on DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1st episode, 24 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
The first episode is as good as anything in Foyle's War. Anthony Horowitz apparently won't write any more of this series and suggested another writer take over. If this is correct, then let's hope the producers do exactly that - this opening episode is sensationally good. The eye-watering price of the dvd, however, is something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Foyle, 30 July 2013
By 
M. Forgie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
Clever intriguing sets are really researched especially temporary housing, some of which remain today. Simply pleases the senses on all levels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply 'Foyle' at his Best, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
The magic of 'Foyle' in cold war intelligence settings.
Highly rated.
A Series 8 would be wonderfully entertaining and satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Foyle's War - Series 7
Foyle's War - Series 7 by Stuart Orme
£0.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews