Customer Reviews


337 Reviews
5 star:
 (282)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


151 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Perfect
The Bridge for me surpasses all those dramas which have come before from our Danish/Swedish cousins. I thought The Killing was excellent, I felt Varg Veum was superb but The Bridge takes the veiwer to another level in appreciation for both the production and delivery of a top notch crime drama.
If we could produce drama half as good as this I'd never quibble about my...
Published on 8 May 2012 by J.Wild

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good performances, shame about the plot !
The Bridge begins well enough with a mystery, great main characters and a culture clash between Sweden and Denmark. However by episode 5 the crime has become so overburdened with significance that we are in the territory of a "state of the world" critique. Then in the latter episodes we are back to a fairly basic crime thriller/ revenge tragedy. There are so many brutal...
Published 24 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

151 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Perfect, 8 May 2012
This review is from: The Bridge - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The Bridge for me surpasses all those dramas which have come before from our Danish/Swedish cousins. I thought The Killing was excellent, I felt Varg Veum was superb but The Bridge takes the veiwer to another level in appreciation for both the production and delivery of a top notch crime drama.
If we could produce drama half as good as this I'd never quibble about my licence fee ever again.
The characters are presented as human and flawed and you become invested in what happens to them, even the unpleasant ones.
Unlike many of our own dramas I found myself experiancing a whole range of emotions as I followed the case to its total 'none Hollywood' conclusion.
Cant wait for series two...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Slow Burner., 27 Feb. 2012
By 
Mr. T. A. Maurice "Film Addict" (Essex,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Initially one will think that the early episodes contain a great deal of plot padding with side stories,and their characters,appearing to have no bearing on the central storyline.
However,the disparate threads are slowly drawn together to contribute to the solving of the crime,and the unmasking of the perpetrator in this ultimately tense thriller.
Also,intially one may find the character of Saga Noren(Sofia Helin)somewhat annoying,but gradually one begins to warm to her,and empathise with her personality.
For me Sofia Helin's performance is superb,and at times brings a 'touching' quality to the character of Saga Noren.
One must also compliment Kim Bodnia for his performance as a sometimes exasperated colleague(Martin Rodhe) of Saga.
Comparisons will no doubt be made to the 'Forbrydelsen' series,but for me where 'Broen' scores is in the touches of humour brought by the actions of Saga Noren that were lacking in those of Sarah Lund.
'Broen' is thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah Lund meets Wallander while looking for Those Who Kill a member of Borgen(sort of), 25 Feb. 2012
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Appealing to nearly 2 million weekly viewers, The Bridge (Swedish - Bron) (Danish - Broen) aired in the autumn of 2011 every Wednesday night at 8pm in Denmark and 9pm in Sweden. Danish network DR screened episodes a week after their Swedish SVT counterparts before the Danes caught up by screening a double episode to conclude on the same night as SVT.
The Bridge is probably best described as a mixture of three recent popular Scandinavian acquisitions on UK television, Wallander, The Killing and Those Who Kill. Considering that all three of these series along with Danish political drama Borgen are all set within an hours journey of each other in the Öresund/Øresund (S/D) region, The Bridge should have something to appeal to fans of all Nordic series.
Unlike the other Danish shows, you won't find many actors from the other programmes here with the exception of the lead male Danish policeman played by Kim Bodnia (guest appearances in The Killing 1 and Those Who Kill) and a very brief appearance by Nicolaj Kopernikus (Vagn - The Killing 1) as the father of a hospital patient, Morten Suurballe (Lennart Brix - The Killing) who appears in a couple of episodes and Troels Munck (Buchard, Brix's predecessor - The Killing) briefly as a doctor.
The discovery of a body at the exact halfway point of the Oresund Bridge leads to the arrival of the Copenhagen and Malmö police forces who decide to work together to unravel the mystery. The finding on the bridge is actually the top half of a prominent Swedish politician and the bottom half of a Danish prostitute. This discovery is only the start for a chain of events which test the resolve of Martin (Bodnia) and Saga (Sofia Helin).
Both countries opted to stay out of the euro so we see Martin have to borrow some Swedish kronor from Saga while in Sweden. We also learn that as a Danish cop in Sweden, Martin is not allowed to be armed. To be fair although they both speak similar closely related languages and can understand each other nearly 100%, we learn that both Sweden and Denmark are more similar than both characters would think.
The production appears to be more Swedish than Danish through my eyes and more of the scenes take place in Sweden's third biggest city than in the Danish capital. That's not to say that all is quiet in Copenhagen - police corruption, riots, the killing of an immigrant, we also see how solid the marriage of our Danish cop is. Crossing the bridge we have a very different policewoman who is quite unlike any policewoman seen before on TV. When we see Saga out of business hours is when we discover the real lady and learn about how she became the way she is today. As with other Scandinavian series we are exposed to alot of character background which makes this a very solid drama.
Although DR and SVT are involved in the making of the series, independent production companies are involved too. As is standard with most DR dramas, each episode of this ten part series is around 58 minutes long and each hour spent watching this will fly by. This is certainly better than the vast majority of BBC and ITV drama output and Five and Sky's acquisitions from the US.
Apparently a second series has already been commissioned which is definitely something to look forward to. In the meantime I'm going to try some Danish drama set in the Fifties Krøniken (Better Times) Volume 1 (Episodes 1 & 2) (Import) (English Subtitles) part of the Better Times ( Krøniken ) ( Krönikan ) [DVD] collection.

The Bridge is to be screened on BBC4 in spring 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another 5 star thrilling crime drama, 3 Jun. 2012
By 
S. R. Cantle "Filmlover" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Hats off to the writers of this brilliantly constructed thriller series. On the credits there were a whole team of them, and that's got to be the way to craft such a complex original plot into such a must-watch television series. So often our own domestic tv crime drama is the work of a single person who can't possibly compete with a team creatively.

But to me it matters not a jot as clearly the BBC Acquistions team have shown they can spot brilliance in the output of other countries' television production companies. After 'Mad Men' 'The Killing' etc now we have 'The Bridge'. Over 10 episodes its a visual treat, with locations changing continously, with the combined Danish/Swedish police forces always several steps behind the fast-moving story. Character-development is a key ingredient and in this there are so many well-drawn characters to root for - just as in 'Mad Men'. I especially liked the Danish actor playing Martin, and also his mercurial wife, Messe, I think she was called. But there's many more to enjoy as the entwined plot unravels.

A DvD treat not to be missed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another super Nordic Noir, 16 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Found The Bridge to be up to the usual great Scandinavian Crime standard. The characters grow on you as the series moves along. Malmo is used nicely as a gritty backdrop, the two main characters work of each other really well. For all lovers of the Killing and Spiral it will certainly be one to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 13 July 2012
This review is from: The Bridge - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
My other half bought this series on Itunes and I have to say I knew nothing about it. Being someone who hasnt yet watched The Killing I wasnt sure what to expect. I have to say it totally blew me away. We watched the whole 10 episodes in the space of 2 days, it was gripping, funny, emotional, wow it was just brilliant. Recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you haven't seen it, you really must!, 11 Dec. 2014
Everyone one on here has said it already but this has to be one of the best crime thrillers ever! Congratulations to our Nordic friends, you really know how to make quality television on a comparatively low budget. No whistles! no bells! just quality actors, performing a quality script, produced by quality producers. I particularly like the subtle humour in 'The Bridge' and in my opinion, that is what elevates it above similar shows like 'The Killing'. Also that the series is short at 10 episodes so there is far less meandering than it's other competitors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally wonderful. Buy it!, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic. Best thing I have watched in ages; takes about twenty mintes to get into it - then you're hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Predictable crime drama? - I don't think so!, 19 May 2012
It would be hard to write an in depth review without it containing "spoilers", suffice to say this is superior drama and well worth the investment of ten hours viewing. Do not fall for any derogatory reviews from those that were far too quick to give their opinion after just a few episodes, this is 'top notch' entertainment for those that are prepared to think about what they are viewing and not looking for another crime 'soap', complex characters and first rate acting are the order of the day, simply excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Implausible but most entertaining., 20 Mar. 2013
By 
R. C. Harris "Eden House" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bridge - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
It is a little ambitious to describe `The Bridge' as a natural successor to `The Killing'. Whilst it is greatly entertaining, by the same token, belief has to be suspended for a totally implausible plot, which lacks the credibility that lent such impact to `The Killing'.

The performance of the two leads adds tremendously to the appeal of the series - Sofia Helin and Kim Bodnia. The former is superb as a unique gifted detective who is inflexible, and almost totally lacking in personal empathy, making for some amusing moments. A touch of Asperger's? Whilst her male colleague Kim is likeable but fecklessly amoral and open to cutting red tape. The result is two very complimentary characters that works really well.

Unfortunately the usual impervious indifference to pain and injury is there. In one instance an injury that would leave the average male in a foetal position for several hours, listening to the song of Angels has, in this case, him springing instantly up to his feet within seconds. In another instance a lead character is shot twice and, after a few hours in a hospital bed and a dose of painkillers is literally up and running again, chasing the bad guy. I have to admit, that was very hard to accept! Didn't anyone tell the director that being shot, even just once, is a huge trauma to the body?

But on the whole, the script bumps along quite well if you don't ask to many questions about the hows, whys and wherefores. It is fast and has great characters. Well worth a watch if you are happy not to take it too seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bridge - Series 1 - Complete
£0.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews