Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The party you wish you'd been to
Project X is the story of high-school wannabes Thomas (Thomas Mann - It's Kind of a Funny Story) & Costa (Oliver Cooper). Thomas' parents are going away for the weekend and Costa has decided that Thomas' house is now party-central, so much so he has hired AV-club-geek Dax (the point-of-view cameraman) to document the entire evenings proceedings. Thomas, initially...
Published on 6 Jun. 2012 by J. Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny but for kids
Its a funny film and as a parent will make your cringe in parts, but its definitely for the teenagers who don't see the harm in taking "having a good time" to ultimate extremes.
Published 12 months ago by M. Kershaw


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The party you wish you'd been to, 6 Jun. 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Project X is the story of high-school wannabes Thomas (Thomas Mann - It's Kind of a Funny Story) & Costa (Oliver Cooper). Thomas' parents are going away for the weekend and Costa has decided that Thomas' house is now party-central, so much so he has hired AV-club-geek Dax (the point-of-view cameraman) to document the entire evenings proceedings. Thomas, initially sceptical; bows to Costa incessant pressure and agrees to keep the party in the backyard with no-one allowed in the house. But as word gets around school, the community and the entire town, people keep showing up at the house and the party grows exponentially, one thing is for sure; it's a sure-fire hit of a party. But will there be anything left of the house, let alone the neighbourhood after this party is done?

Project X; a cover name for the shooting of the film, stuck and here we are, with a classic "parents go away leaving teen unsupervised" but this is not your usual party; there are multiple references to drugs, evidently under-age drinking and pool diving off the house, so it's a little less wholesome than the film where the kids clean up really quick before the parents get back. Thomas Mann performance is genuinely likeable, if a little anaemic and Cooper is basically a Jonah-Hill clone, wearing the same style of sweater vest and with the same obnoxious manner, but minus the comedic timing. Resultantly he can grate a little, with his perennial "Dude, it's a party" attitude. As the evening continues and the situation gets worse and worse for Thomas, we see him realise that there is no coming back from this and learn to just enjoy the ride. Hardly a moral, but it makes for one fantastically well-shot cinematic experience.

Extra Content: The Blu Ray has the extended cut and comes with a digital copy of the film.

Whilst critics might argue it promotes under-age drinking and the like, glamorising destruction of property etc. I thought this was an excellent film with a great soundtrack and great performances from a lot of the first-timers (mostly) cast. Not the smartest movie out there by a long shot, but by the end, I genuinely wanted to have attended Project X, recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CRINGE!, 6 July 2012
OMG! Can you imagine?! Just a couple of phrases I found myself saying to my partner through out - VERY entertaining, just don't get any ideas! I didn't expect much from this, not sure why but I was more than surprised - just one of those films that you can't bare to watch but totally have too - a complete car crash - and its brilliant! Made me reminise of times my parents went away and the having to clear up before they got home and act like nothing happens - ok, so my teenage partys wasn't anywhere near this - thank god, because I'd have been beaten to the end of the earth! Some truly hilarious moments! Takes a while to get going but once the party starts there's no turning away, or stopping it! Give it a chance :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars P.A.R.T. WHY?, 4 April 2014
By 
Mr. R. A. Stanton (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Project X (Blu-ray)
Although not hilarious throughout it does provide some good laughs and even more cringey moments as one teen party begins with a few harmless broken glasses and ends with the neighbourhood on fire and a SWAT team in attendence. A cast of relative unknowns do a good job with a teen version of The Hangover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fab for teens!, 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a film for families but a fab fun film for teenagers. A party that gets out of control when the high school geeks try so hard to be popular. Plenty of laughs and some brilliant laugh out loud moments. Bought as a gift for my two teenagers who loved it, ( not so good on the parent who watches it with them ;) ) Easy to watch, would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 11 July 2014
This review is from: Project X [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Project X [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
really funny film so random. love the filming technique. happy customer great value for money. well packaged thankyou very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this film, very happy with the delivery time. Would recommend this product to family and friends without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Film!, 27 May 2014
By 
Ms. Katie Walker (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film but you may not want younger children or teenagers watching this...for ideas on how to have their parents house and entire neighbourhood trashed...
Very fast delivery of this film, many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, 26 May 2014
This review is from: Project X (Amazon Instant Video)
I don't get how this film has got an average of 4 stars. A very unoriginal story about 3 teenagers throwing a party that gets out of hand. Cue naked American girls, copious amounts of alcohol, drugs, random violence and over the top tomfoolery.
Avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Project X DVD, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Project X [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Bought this as it was recommended by a few people. Brilliant film, definitely worth the buy, especially at the price i paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Project X
Project X by Nima Nourizadeh
£0.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews