Customer Reviews


802 Reviews
5 star:
 (580)
4 star:
 (107)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO GOOD I HAD TO WATCH IT TWICE!
This is one of the most complex and compelling of Tarantino's films, and will appeal to his dyed-in-the-wool fans and also those interested in the subject it addresses - slavery. Django is the story of a runaway slave who was caught and punished. When the film starts he has been separated from his wife and sold, and is chained to other slaves being dragged across the...
Published 11 months ago by Linda

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good film destroyed by sound track
GOOD COMIC BOOK COWBOYS...

THis could have been a good film, hell even a great film with a bit more thought in it. Never mind the logical problems - how does Christopher Walz know who Django is? Where he is? How does he know Django can recognise the guys he's after? Why is there no problem recognising the other guys they kill for the bounties? THere are many...
Published 10 days ago by Jake Vigors


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO GOOD I HAD TO WATCH IT TWICE!, 24 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Django Unchained (DVD)
This is one of the most complex and compelling of Tarantino's films, and will appeal to his dyed-in-the-wool fans and also those interested in the subject it addresses - slavery. Django is the story of a runaway slave who was caught and punished. When the film starts he has been separated from his wife and sold, and is chained to other slaves being dragged across the frosty south. He becomes associated with a bounty hunter, played by Christopher Waltz who gives a spellbinding performance. Together they form a friendship which leads them on a quest to find Django's wife. There are frequent moments of black humour between them, reminiscent of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid.

Along with his usual amount of splattered blood, Tarantino brings to the screen with amazing force the true horrors of black slavery, whilst sensitively building characters to bring these tortured people to life. Leonardo Di Caprio gives a chillingly friendly portrayal of Monsieur Candie - a slave trader involved in Mandingo fighting (two slaves fighting to the death). His appearance in the film changes the tone to one of overwhelming menace and racks up the tension.

The one criticism I have about the film is that Quentin Tarantino doesn't give a convincing performance in his cameo role. Quentin, stick to what you're good at, and leave the acting to those who can. :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino at his absolute best, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film will make you smile, laugh, feel nauseated and think on about the horror of the times it's set in. Its a classic. Christopher Waltz stole the the show for me. His witty and clever comments and acting had perfect timing. Not to mention his facial expressions.
Jamie Foxx was great as the lead character but I enjoyed Waltz much more. It's fast and furious from the get go. It's gruesome, but in classic OTT Tarantino style.
The story is clever enough and superbly acted by one and all.
One exception is Samuel L Jackson. His performance was so overwhelmingly good there aren't words to describe it.
This movie's shocking and gory as I'm sure it would have been during that terrible time. BUT it's also very very entertaining and hugely funny. I can't recommend it highly enough. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Broomhilda?, 10 Jan. 2013
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Django Unchained is supposedly a very loose reworking Sergio Corbucci's spaghetti-western Django. I believe it has a closer affiliation to the exploitation cult film Mandingo (1975) about a slave taught to fight other slaves – this movie for its time was somewhat an outrageous product, a film that Mr Tarantino has praised, while by and large the critics' have rejected the film with extreme disapproval.

The lead actor is played by Foxx, who plays the Django, a slave who is in a chain gang, across their path comes one Dr King Schultz, a German who is well-groomed and rather unconventional in his ways, he claims to be a travelling dentist; Schultz carriage is a small wagon with a huge model of a molar tooth on the top. Our Shultz, after some initial reluctance from the slavers, buys Django and promises him his freedom in return for a favour: he needs Django to help him track three white fugitives that have bounty on their heads.

As the narrative progress we find that Django proves himself a good assistant and a talented shot. Through some back story we find that Django was married and his wife speaks the German language and she was named Brünnhilde, unfortunately her current owners mishear her name and call her "Broomhilda". Due to her predilection for running away she is branded on the face and forced to work as a "comfort" girl. As mutual respect sets in between the eccentric German and Django, it is agreed that that will rescue his wife Brünnhilde.

Through the story we meet inept KKK posse the characters are somewhat reminiscent of the KKK in Blazing Saddles. We then meet with Candie (played rather eloquently by DiCaprio) the owner of Candyland Plantation his evil is only matched by his apparent need to sound and look charming. Django needs all his guile to pretend to be that of the most hated of things, a "Mandingo", a fighter-promoter his double dealing is only matched to Stephen's domestic bondage to his master and his family, aptly played Samuel Jackson.

There are moments of pure brilliant direction mastery of the rather over the top violence and I feel the overuse of the N word, was not needed. At two hours and 45 Django is a long film - undoubtedly, this film better than Tarantino’s WW2 film Inglourious Basterds. The relationship between Schultz and Django is well managed and their friendship really looks convincing and their resulting comedic episodes are well done. Well worth a four star rating – with flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Tarantinos best., 4 Jan. 2015
By 
M. King (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've always been predisposed to dislike Tarantino for his almost adolescent love of violence so there's only really been Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction where I felt the story transcended the Gore.

Until Django which I'd put up there as one of the best of his films.

There's a need for a big suspension of disbelief to make this work which I think necessitates the almost Blazing Saddles approach to the beginning ..albeit Blazing Saddles with lots of violence.

But sandwiched in between is a truly terrific performance from Leonardo Di Caprio which ramps up the tension as his evil plantation owner faces our two heroes. This segment may feel overlong but for me it builds up the unease to unbearable levels and you know things aren't going to end well for our boys.

A word for Christopher Waltz and his Schultz character, absolutely glorious, his mildly spoken German bounty hunter character is a joy and the way in which he appears to diminish in the face of Di Caprios evil is astonishing.

All in all a fabulous film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging on all levels, 18 Dec. 2014
This is a tale of cruelty, liberty and revenge that is engaging on all levels. The narrative draws you in from the start and the dialogue is brilliantly crafted, especially in relation to Dr. King Schultz. The performances by all those involved are excellent, especially Jamie Foxx, Christoph Waltz and Samuel L. Jackson, who is truly detestable as Stephen, the house slave.

There is a wonderful postmodern use of music to accompany the visual feast that we are treated to by Tarantino. The violence is visceral, as we’ve come to expect from his films, but it is also measured and doesn’t overpower any of the other elements of the movie.

This is a perfectly balanced film containing great dialogue, narrative depth and well observed characterisation. An emotional investment is created in relation to both of the main characters and the viewer becomes absorbed in their relationship and ploy to rescue Broomhilda.

One of the best films I have seen in a long time. A truly riveting movie and the best Tarantino has made to date, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars visually stunning but at times a bit of a mess...., 9 Feb. 2015
Technically the HD transfer is incredible and colour palate and definition are almost perfect. The audio is also up there with amongst the best HD mixes I have heard..... now the movie.... On the plus side we have some acting that is very fine indeed and character depth is upto the usual QT standard. The cinematography is awesome and camera framing technically astonishing at times making this very "arty" for a QT flick. However..... at times this film looses its identity a bit and I suspect this is to do with its length. QT has bumbled a bit at times and become self indulgent. His own cameo is absurd and poorly acted. Some scenes become detached sketches which serve to distract rather than entertain. Leonardo Di Caprio has an impossible job In my opinion to pull his character off and he fails in my opinion and was mis-cast. So yes I recommend this but must say its shortcomings are too obvious and will take the edge of the experience for many I suspect....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good film destroyed by sound track, 24 Feb. 2015
GOOD COMIC BOOK COWBOYS...

THis could have been a good film, hell even a great film with a bit more thought in it. Never mind the logical problems - how does Christopher Walz know who Django is? Where he is? How does he know Django can recognise the guys he's after? Why is there no problem recognising the other guys they kill for the bounties? THere are many glaring anomilies in the script but this shouldn't matter with the excellent acting and the comic book genre to which, I assume, he aspires.
No, what killed it for me was the destructively annoying sound track! So intrusive. So irrelevant. So inappropriate. (Totally the opposite of RD and PF) The narrative drive of the film was consistently interrupted with pretentious songs and jaunty music. Long tracts of Long shots, riding through the wilds and wildnerness of America. Edit. Edit. Edit. Build up the tension and then..... destroy it with a bit of MTV.... oh dear.....
Sorry not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LIKE THE WAY YOU DIE, 7 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Dr. King Schultz (Christoph Waltz) is a well spoken bounty hunter who acquires Django (Jamie Foxx) to find and kill some men who are wanted, "dead or alive." Dr. Schultz isn't too keen on the "live" part.

The film divides itself into two parts. After the bounty hunting episodes are through, our duo conceive a plan to rescue the wife of Django (Kerry Washington) by purchasing her from Candie Land plantation. Dr. Schultz has no stomach for slavery or slave owners. Leonardo DiCaprio doesn't enter the film until the second part.

Like Tarantino films it incorporates humor. The bag over the head scene was reminiscent of something we might have seen in "Blazing Saddles." The flashbacks are minimal and not confusing. There is of course the over the top climatic ending and plenty of blood.

I have to question the use of the MF bomb several times in this picture. The first known usage of the word is the 1930s. It is speculated the phrase originated during slavery as a way to describe white owners who would take black mothers as comfort women. The phrase would have a specific meaning and not used in the generic sense that Samuel L. Jackson tossed about.

Tarantino fans will not be disappointed. Great sound track.

Parental Guidance: F-bomb,N-word, nudity (Kerry Washington). No sex. Killing and slow motion blood splatter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino at his best, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent movie that I've watched a few times. Gripping and exciting if a little violent. Great entertainment with a message and sound observations by Tarantino. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love him or hate him, he makes action movies with a twist. This is one of my favorites. Up there with "Pulp Fiction". Not quite, but damn close. The supporting cast carry this movie. Leonardo DiCaprio, Samuel L. Jackson, and that little German guy, what's his name? Excellent performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Django Unchained
Django Unchained by Quentin Tarantino
£0.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews