Customer Reviews


585 Reviews
5 star:
 (305)
4 star:
 (135)
3 star:
 (73)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (45)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST watch! Brilliant!
I am also a late comer to this film and I have to say, I'm so glad I came to it! I don't do horror films generally, they DO freak me out and zombie films are just my worst nightmare (with the exception of clowns, clowns are just wrong!). I bought this in an effort to be brave and to ogle at Brad Pretty (not a typo). Well I'm truly glad I was being brave. This film is...
Published 5 months ago by Claire, Lulu

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't even bother
I knew this movie was going to be rubbish about five minutes in when Brad and his family are caught in a zombie-related traffic jam. Basically, people are turning into zombies, the cars aren't moving but Brad somehow manages to get his own vehicle moving at high speed. Next he and his family are running around a supermarket picking up supplies, including much-needed...
Published 13 days ago by booksy


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST watch! Brilliant!, 23 July 2014
By 
Claire, Lulu "Lulu" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: World War Z [DVD] (DVD)
I am also a late comer to this film and I have to say, I'm so glad I came to it! I don't do horror films generally, they DO freak me out and zombie films are just my worst nightmare (with the exception of clowns, clowns are just wrong!). I bought this in an effort to be brave and to ogle at Brad Pretty (not a typo). Well I'm truly glad I was being brave. This film is gripping from the start, when I say gripping, I mean superglue! It is literally minutes before you have no choice but to continue.
Aside from looking good, Brad does quite a good job, he's convincing enough and while I want overly in love with his screen wife in the film, I could've been convinced easy enough. The children in the film make the suspense and tension all the more real and Brad does a good job of convincing you he is the doting daddy.
The premise is that his character is a retired UN officer and that as a consequence of the entire world seeming to go rabid, they require him to assist with the "sustained threat". So it starts. The zombies are literally on steroids and super fast. Only Bolt would have half a hope of outrunning them. No more spoilers though, genuinely one of the best zombie films I've seen, less mindless gore, more story, more action, well worth the few hours!
If you're after gore, go elsewhere, but if your after sustained thrills throughout, a decent enough story and Brad Pretty ogles, definitely the film to choose, even for wusses like me who are terrified of zombies :-/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MOTHER NATURE IS A SERIAL KILLER, 7 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: World War Z [DVD] (DVD)
The world ignores the signs of global disaster and the next thing you know there is a world wide zombie (closer to rabies) pandemic.

Brad Pitt,who is now a family man, must save the world to save his family. There is some background noise that would indicate the zombie outbreak might be caused by how man destroys the environment and ignores the signs (global warming, wink, wink, nudge, nudge.) The world is thrust into anarchy, while the military exists.

Brad must look for the original virus somewhere in the world to find a cure. We discover N.Korea is unaffected because they pulled everyone's teeth. Israel is unaffected because they have a great wall around their country, but apparently cold isolated places like Greenland are infected. The only reason I point out these inconsistencies is because the film writers went to great length to make the film realistic. Oh yes, if you have a lot of people on a ship, they share beds and sleep in shifts.

I enjoyed the film more as a pandemic film than a foot dragging, flesh eating, living dead, rotting zombie film, because that is what it was. I would say if you don't like Brad Pitt, don't see this film. There is very little screen time that doesn't show his face. Should make for a good video game and a decent sequel.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't even bother, 13 Dec 2014
This review is from: World War Z [DVD] (DVD)
I knew this movie was going to be rubbish about five minutes in when Brad and his family are caught in a zombie-related traffic jam. Basically, people are turning into zombies, the cars aren't moving but Brad somehow manages to get his own vehicle moving at high speed. Next he and his family are running around a supermarket picking up supplies, including much-needed asthma medication for their daughter (which she really, really needed when they were in the car, but then doesn't seem to need so much after that. Even though there are lots of zombies chasing them). About 20 minutes in, I realised this film wasn't going to get much better and consisted mainly of Brad being chased by zombies, shooting at zombies and generally talking about zombies. Utter s***.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast Paced Zombie Apocalypse, 22 Sep 2014
By 
MLA (Leyton, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
World War Z is a 2013 zombie apocalypse starring Brad Pitt. It is based on the concept from Max Brooks in his book of the same name. The Blu-ray does not add runtime to the theatrical releae. It does have some reasonablee Extras discussing the origin, on-location work, and a bit about the science of contagion.

World War Z is of the modern breed of zombie apocalypse films inspired presumably by 28 Days Later in which the zombies run fast and are an adrenalin rush of danger most of the time. WWZ takes it further than 28 Days by having the zombies show absolutely no regard for their own physiques as they hurl themselves extraordinarily aggressively towards potential victims. They act like aggressive mosquitos and anyone who has encountered mass mosquito attack where the insects care not for their own survival only the opportunity to bite can see the horror the WWZ zombies present.

The film differs significantly from the original book. It is a separate product in the same universe. The plot of WWZ sees Brad Pitt's character Gerry Lane travelling to various international hotspots to try and track down the source of the zombie contagion and hopefully generate a cure. En route thousands of zombies are in his way and dozens of minor characters and extras are killed off. This is a fairly thoughtful but high volume action film with plenty of terrifying action sequences. It is not a character piece.

The story for WWZ was put together by the notoriously mortality obsessed J. Michael Straczynski. His tale is suitably globe trotting taking in Philadelphia, Jerusalem, Korea, and Wales. Apparently the original ending would also have included Moscow. The use of different parts of the world gives the film the world-spanning epic feel the original source intends. It also helps to keep things fresh by using different styles and pacing in each location. Director Marc Forster is to be commended for his varying of the tone so well in each new spot.

The high intensity locations are Philadelphia and Jerusalem. Philly in particular is where the bulk of the action is set. Gerry Lane and his family try to escape from the frenzied zombie horde. The early going is classic action thriller. Pitt is well cast as capable but not a superhero. Gerry Lane uses his brain to solve the early attack and get to safety rather than blasting his way out of trouble. Ultimately though his survival is not entirely in his own hands, something that really plays well into the apocalyptic feel.

The early actions sequences also introduce some of the concepts involved such as the spreading of infection via bite taking 12 seconds. This seems important but turns out to merely be a plot device to add tension into a couple of moments later on. The idea of a complete physiological change in 12 seconds is of course ridiculous given it takes longer than that amount of time for the circulation system to spread something from one point through the rest of the body.

During the early going the pace is relentless and powerful. The Lane family struggle to survive an initial wave then struggle to get out of the infected town. The frenetic speed makes for exciting viewing and fun for those who can cope with intense. It is bleak and tough to watch at times like a good zombie apocalypse should be.

The other large centre of action is Jerusalem. It is also by far the most political part of WWZ. Israel has put up a wall to keep the zombies out. Clearly that's a reference to the Separation Barrier. Combined with the stereotype of the Israelis as being extremely clever and possibly up to something there is a moment where it appears to be heading somewhere uncomfortable. That moment is cast aside beautifully by the visuals of Israelis and Palestinians fighting on the same side. The breach of the wall around Jerusalem is a reminder the outside world cannot be kept at bay forever.

Jerusalem carries a noticeably yellowish palette. Everything about it looks so different to the scenes elsewhere. Amusing to discover it was actually filmed in Malta. The colour difference between the various locations helps to make the journey seem to really be happening. The greys of Philly, yellows in Jerusalem, browns of Korea, and greens in Wales add a sense of differentiation to each spot.

The distinction is more subtle in other matters. The use of language syntax changes slightly between the various locations. The most notable is in Korea where the military vernacular stands out - "I want to see Zekes on the floor" is a particularly good line.

Korea is also one of the two lower intensity locations along with Wales. In these locations the zombie threat is much more the traditional one where survival is achieved by stealth. The dark lighting and largely unseen zombies harken back to classics of the genre in a way that the hordes of computer generated monsters do not during the action sequences.

The action in Wales is a change from the original ending sequence. It is a good, tense bit of cinema. Stealthy survival against unknowing zombies is enhanced by some outstanding facial acting from Michael Jenn. Zombies rarely are able to demonstrate character but Jenn's might be the best zombie of all time. His chattering jaw is amazing and combines well with the sharp turn angles he takes instead of shuffling. A visual sequence stolen from Alien 3 which sees Pitt and Jenn face to face is mesmerising because of Jenn's unbelievable facial expression. It must have taken such a toll to act like that, credit where it is due. That credit extends to a small sequence in the Blu-ray Features which showcase his scene in a bit more detail.

As a one-off zombie appearance, Jenn is among the most interesting of the characters on show which is not to the film's credit. Perhaps the only performance overshadowing it is Ludi Boeken's Jurgen Warmbrunn. As the senior Israeli on show Boeken is spectactular. He has a great look, the only person on show who really looks like they could be running something and with the inspirational spark to be a believable leader. Boeken's interactions with Pitt are all of Pitt's best moments.

Not all the rest of the acting is so stellar. In particular South African actor Fane Mokoena is appalling as the UN Deputy Secretary General. While it is believable that a DSG would be uninspiring, Mokoena is wooden with a really poor delivery of his lines.

Main man Brad Pitt is a little bit of a disappointment. Pitt is a really interesting actor having long ago eschewed his pretty boy image for some brilliant and unconventional pieces of cinema. He has the charm and charisma to fill the screen but here his Gerry Lane is too subdued. There is hardly any emotional range at all with the expressions being reserved for moments of horror. A more enigmatic main character would have turned this film into great rather than just good.

The special features on the Blu-ray are ok. They include three segments. A brief discussion of the source material is followd by a section on the science of infection. It fails to debunk the many errors of fact and the improbability of zombies transforming so swiftly into such completely different organisms. At times it does feel as though there is an effort to describe WWZ as Science, Man. The third feature is the best and follows the production through its various locations. It skips over the difficulties including the change of final writer and the change to the final sequences. However, it is good behind the scenes work to get a feel for some of the places and people involved.

As an action adventure WWZ is a good film. It lacks engaging or memorable characters but is instead a good world-spanning yarn crossing several locations. There is an adrenalin rush intensity to some of the zombie encounters with the start of the zombie apocalypse hurtling towards the protagonists at such an intimidating pace. A good zombie film and a decent action thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Always time for light refreshment..., 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The world is plagued by a mysterious infection, turning the majority of the human race into rampaging mindless zombies.

After him and his family barely escape the chaos, Gerry Lane is persuaded to go on a mission to investigate this disease.

What follows is a perilous trek around the world where Lane must brave horrific dangers and odds to find answers before human civilisation ceases to exist.......

In a summer that has been really underwhelming since the end of May, this has to be one of the surprise of the summer, even the year, because along with After Earth, this movie was the one I had little faith in.

I needn't have worried, because not only is Pitt really good in this, its entertaining from beginning to end. The cast are great, even blink and miss them roles like Fox and Capaldi, so Pitt has even more strain on his shoulders carrying this.

Forster has done a great job making the movie, and having not read the source material, its still a great story and slickly directed, despite him tripping up with Quantum Of Solace.

There are three really good standout scenes, the opening rampage, the plane sequence which is by far the most tense scene of the film, and the final act, which despite being set in Wales, is is terrifying.

There are a few parts that drag, the Jerusalem piece is a little out of synch, and the film has the worst product placement ever depicted to film, which takes you away from the film because its literally laugh out loud funny.

But as I've said, in summer of depressing movies that could have been great, but were not, this is a refreshingly good blockbuster, and not a superhero or robot in sight.

Plus, its the best film ever to have Brad Pitt stop for a refreshing can of fizzy soda whilst avoiding Zombies because he's a little bit ill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic in the making, 2 July 2013
By 
Rob (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
An extremely impressive entry in the zombie genre and for me easily the best such since 1977's Dawn of the Dead. WWZ may break one of the supposed rules of the genre in its almost complete absence of gore but Brad Pitt's film more than compensates with an efficiently plotted linear storyline that remarkably shows no obvious signs of its troubled production, a spectacular sense of scale, a satisfactory balance between action and emotion rare in summer blockbusters and an often intense breakneck pace.

There's a lot that I liked about WWZ, from the way the film utilizes its fast moving zombies as a symbol of the often frightening speed and density of everyday life, to supporting characters who are introduced only to be killed off without any of the bombast you'd have had to endure had the movie been directed by a Zack Snyder or Michael Bay. The emotional heart of the story - UN hotshot Gerry Lane's (Brad Pitt) relationship with his wife and kids - feels refreshingly damped down rather than overblown, believable without being schmaltzy. Rich and famous he may be but there's an interesting grounded quality to Pitt. Casting him as an Everyman sort of character doesn't seem like the kind of stretch it would if you had the likes of DiCaprio or Tom Cruise starring.

The story is a ground-breaking amalgamation of zombie horror and one of those plague stories in which the hero is charged with finding a cure. The plot, which sends Gerry from Philly to South Korea, to Israel and then Wales in pursuit of the infection's source, never feels like it's just marking time. Each location holds a clue and by the time Gerry figures out the ingenious solution en route to the film's climax the story tops even that by forcing our hero to make a virtual life or death decision. The payoff includes what might be the most well earned and enjoyable onscreen drink since Ice Cold In Alex.

The action sequences are sensational with the (rightly) much talked about Israeli siege a standout. The chaos which leads to a hectic chase through narrow streets covered by a wire fence over which swarm countless zombies leads to an even more claustrophobic showdown inside a jumbo jet. The film is genuinely unnerving, often tense - especially the final third - and sometimes jump out of your seat scary. All without any bad language or explicit gore. There's a lesson there.

Littered with unexpected touches - the viewer's shock at a would be suicide jump by a certain character who fears he's been infected and can't bear to see his family in danger, a female Israeli IDF soldier who becomes an unexpected ally of Gerry's and who isn't saddled with a lame romantic sub-plot between her and the star, a nuclear blast viewed from the cockpit of a plane in which no words, no explanation are offered and don't need to be (at this point in the movie it truly looks like game over for mankind) and a last act that eschews the empty spectacle of so many summer blockbusters and goes instead for a tense, low-key and genuinely intimate climax that I'm happy to acknowledge had me on the edge of my seat.

But perhaps best of all is the film's underlying message, epitomized by an Israeli who tells Pitt's character that 'For every life we save, it's one less enemy we have to fight.' This is a movie about the end of the world that unlike so many other zombie films shows people refusing to retreat into small survivalist groups but instead doing their best to save as many lives as they can. It does not surprise me in the least that World War Z has defied months of hostile online sniping to become a big box office hit and I'm very happy it has. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy!, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pointless awful film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish., 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War Z (Amazon Instant Video)
Just watch 28 days later, it's the precursor and ten times better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Load of rubbish., 1 Sep 2014
By 
J Logue "Jim L" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World War Z (Amazon Instant Video)
Move along please, this is not the film you're looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Zombie Thriller!, 25 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw a lot of mixed reviews about this movie but was determined I really wanted to see it. This is a decision I'm glad I stuck to.

I've not read the book yet, although I have it, and this may have worked in my favour for film enjoyment. Given what I've read about book vs film differences I may have felt differently having watched it post read.

I found the storyline compelling and enjoyable. There are moments of intense suspense, which quickly turn into full blown action scenes.

I wouldn't describe this as horror, although my Mum says she hid behind her ipad when watching so maybe to some it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World War Z
World War Z by Marc Forster
£0.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews