Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conspiracy of Hearts
The systematic murder of the Jews of Europe by the Nazis was made possible by the particular conditions created by the second world war. The authorities in some Nazi occupied Europe often willingly collaborated with the Germans in rounding up Jews and Jews did not receive much help from governments or individuals and saving them from extermination was never regarded as a...
Published on 26 Jan. 2011 by David Rowland

versus
4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars off no use
I bought this as a Christmas present for my in laws who are 74 and 76 how am I going to tell or explain how to remove sub tiles every time they watch it.
The description of the product never mentioned sub titles conveniently and only after my money was taken did they tell me the cover is in foreign.
i am not attacking the seller but they should put out a better...
Published on 29 Dec. 2011 by Bernard Ellis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conspiracy of Hearts, 26 Jan. 2011
By 
David Rowland - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspiracy of Hearts (DVD)
The systematic murder of the Jews of Europe by the Nazis was made possible by the particular conditions created by the second world war. The authorities in some Nazi occupied Europe often willingly collaborated with the Germans in rounding up Jews and Jews did not receive much help from governments or individuals and saving them from extermination was never regarded as a high priority when the military strategy of the allies was being implemented.

Occasionally there were people who were willing to put their lives at risk by sheltering Jews. One such place depicted in the film was a nunnery in Italy where the nuns hid children they smuggled out of a refugee camp run by the Italian military. It is hinted that the commanding officer of the camp (very well played by Ronald Lewis) did not consider the escape of a few children very important, he turned a blind eye to it and he had a good idea that the nuns were involved but the situation changed when the Germans intervened because they were so concerned about the number of escapes.

The film is an entralling, sensitive and heart rendering account of how the children were rescued by the nuns under the leadership of the mother superior (brilliantly played by Lilly Palmer) and what happened when their efforts came to light when the Germans arrived.

One particularly memorable scene is when the children were asked to give the names of their family members and relatives that had been murdered to a rabbi smuggled into the nunnery and there were so many that the children had difficulty remembering them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving film, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is both moving and inspiring to watch. The risks the Nuns willingly take to smuggle Jewish children from a nearby labour camp to safety increases significantly when the Nazis take over the camp, from an Italian officer who deiliberately turns a blind eye.

A great film to own on DVD as it shows a side of the war, humans risking their own saftey to help others - and not just by killign hundreds of "the enemy", that appears to be too quickly forgotten or overlooked.

At this price it is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic in its' own right!!!!, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a film that has rightly become recognised as a 'classic' British film. An outstandind cast of then,contemporary film actors and actresses,with an exceedingly well written film script,and a first class Director. Add all of these factors up,and you have a sure winner. And 'Conspiracy of Hearts' is just that! Forget the gratuitous violence and gutter language of modern films,and see for yourself how real quality films used to be made...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Conspiracy of Hearts, 4 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspiracy of Hearts (DVD)
A delightful film. It tells the story of a group of nuns in Italy rescuing Jewish children during World War II. Essentially it shows the triumph of good over evil and the need to stay faithful to what you believe in even if it costs you. The debate between the Reverend Mother of the convent and a local general over the rightness or wrongness of taking human life, even if the end justifies the means, is particularly well done. It is refreshing to see a positive portrayal of Roman Catholics and their struggle with evil and the message of the Gospel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Forgive them, for they no not what they do--or do they?!, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film set in Italy towards the end of WWII features the relationship between a local "concentration camp" for Jewish children and a nearby convent dedicated to freeing inmates by devious means and smuggling them away out of the neighbourhood.

The transition from an Italy under Mussolini, closely allied to the Nazi regime, to one rebelling against the tyranny of Nazism by the populace, is crucial to an understanding of the story.

At the commencement of the film the camp is in full control from the Italian military under the command of Major Spoletti (Ronald Lewis) who has a lenient approach to the goings on there. This all changes with the importation of Nazi Colonel Horsten (Albert Lieven), a cruel, complex character hell bent on carrying out his duties to the letter, ably abetted by his Nazi right-hand man Lt. Schmidt (Peter Arne).

In the camp hierarchy Major Spoletti falls between the two Germans providing an irritant to both and in particular the Colonel himself.

The Covent is resolutely led by Mother Katharine (Lilli Palmer) with her faithful band of followers, save one who fears both for the safety of her fellow sisters and to some degree at odds with her faith. Despite the increase security at the camp the nuns continue their mission of mercy with increasing tension from the Colonel's surveillance that puts in peril sympathisers for the nun's cause well outside the convent itself.

The film should challenge our understanding of conflict no more relevant than in today's world of racial intolerance and growing demonstrations of anti-Semitism in Europe.

An outstandingly scripted, directed and acted masterpiece, at times almost too tragic to bear.

You were once a child,
remember that, and
before that--?

And now you are a man
and in possession of a loaded gun
with which you kill men, women and children--
and for what--in the name of some ideology,
or simply to kill for killing's sake?

Remember, you were once a child
as defenceless as those you slaughter with the gun,
but understand this, death is the ultimate reality
we all have to face, with the total
of our earthly conduct at our backs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely moving., 25 Oct. 2010
By 
M. Joussef "m.joussef" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Conspiracy of Hearts (DVD)
I was so sorry to miss the start of this delightful movie as I watched it on TV for the first time by mear coincidence. So I went on to order it from Amazon (my usual place for buying DVD's) and it was rather expensive DVD to buy but it is absolutely worth it.
It is one of this movies which is truely well made. The dialogue and acting and obviously the direction is so naturally and convinsingly done that made me feel so involved and by the end of the film I could not avoid crying which is not usual for me.
The general idea of the movie is simply about the coflict between good and evil, between devoted nuns and ruthless Nazy General which escalates to an impending horrific threats that drags your emotions with it making you sit on edge. I can not tell you more so that I do not spoil the movie, but I can catigorically state that I consider it one of those memorable movies which remain in memory for very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this film based on a true story and have watched it several times, each time is enjoyable. The acting skills of the poor children is so good it brings a tear to my eye every time. A must watch film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "If We Sit In The Presence Of Evil And Do Nothing,What Are We?, 1 Mar. 2012
By 
I must say that this film has been on my list of war films yet to be released for quite some time(yes I have a list).
So I was delighted when this almost forgotten British classic was released.
The disc and packaging all look the part however it is slightly disappointing that there are no extras to talk about and it is presented here in the wrong aspect ratio.Still I am very happy to have it in my collection.The picture and sound quality is superb as it should be as the film has been painstakingly restored.
As for the film itself if you can get by the couple of "unbelievable" scenes and focus on the moral story and the performances of the actors then you are in for a treat.The dialogue is top notch too and doesn't feel dated in any way,in fact there are some wonderful lines in this film.
The basic premise of the film is that an order of nuns in WWII Italy spends its time rescuing Jewish children from a concentration camp under its captors noses.When they first start this undertaking the camp is under the charge of the compassionate Italian Major Spoletti who turns a blind eye to their activities.When Mussolini's fascist Italy collapses the camp is taken over by the Germans.
The new camp commandant(Col Horsten)is ruthlessly efficient and is aided by the usual stereotypical obediently dumb Nazi played by Peter Arne.From here on in Horsten repeatedly confronts the Mother superior and a battle of faith and wits ensues.Some of the dialogue in these confrontations is first rate with the Mother superior(Lilli Palmer) always coming out on top.
The three main nun characters all do a great job Lilli Palmer has an authoritative yet compassionate steel about her,Sylvia Syms's face is angelic and framed perfectly in her habit.This is expertly showed by the director when she has a scene in the dark catacombs of the church and her face is bathed in sunlight from an open aperture(brilliant).Even the doubting Thomas of the nuns comes good in the end and is perfectly cast in the shape of the stern faced Yvonne Mitchell who plays sister Bertha(she even gets the worst name).
The film comes to a climax when the nuns are discovered and so too this battle of good vs evil.So the only question that remains is who has the stronger will.The nuns with their devotion to god and to always help others despite their own personal fear or the conequences of their actions or Col Horsten's devotion to his Fuhrer and everything this evil dictatorship stands for.
A great film I highly recommend with a strong moral story and peppered with fantastic lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conspiracy of hearts, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was one of the best DVDsI have seen. The story was very moving. I will certainly watch it again on a later date. The final bit of it was so well acted. Amazon service of delivering was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautifully portrayed, 1 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I FOUND THIS TO BE A VERY BEAUTIFUL AND MOVING FILM. I READ A REVIEW THAT IT HAD SUBTITLES , MY COPY DID NOT
ANY BODY WHO KNOWS HOW BADLY SOME PEOPLE WERE TREATED IN WAR WILL UNDERSTAND THE DEPTH OF THIS FILM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conspiracy of Hearts
Conspiracy of Hearts by Ralph Thomas
£0.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews