Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good solid anti-virus + much more
Last year we saw AVG’s Internet Security 2013 try to push for the modern user interface to help blend in with Windows 8/8.1. AVG have stuck with the interface and it really does look very nice! Internet Security 2014 from AVG is so much more than just your normal anti-virus, it also protects your personal information and helps to keep you safe when using social...
Published 13 months ago by Coaster8717

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expensive but effective - don't use the Tune Up
I have used AVG now for over five years - both the free and paid for versions after another leading brand bundled with my then new laptop allowed not one but two serious viruses to infect my machine resulting in considerable inconvenience and substantial expense to rectify.
AVG has become increasingly expensive and some users might baulk at the cost and if they buy...
Published 11 months ago by joedanish


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good solid anti-virus + much more, 25 Feb. 2014
This review is from: AVG Internet Security 2014 - 2 User - 1 Year (PC) (License)
Last year we saw AVG’s Internet Security 2013 try to push for the modern user interface to help blend in with Windows 8/8.1. AVG have stuck with the interface and it really does look very nice! Internet Security 2014 from AVG is so much more than just your normal anti-virus, it also protects your personal information and helps to keep you safe when using social networking sites as well as online banking. Preventing online spam and scammers, stopping unsecure links and files and accelerated web performance are just some of the reasons why you should download AVG Internet Security 2014.

In terms of different features AVG Internet Security 2014 is absolutely packed with them which we always love to see. Instead of going into too much depth that nobody understands below I have summarised them for you.

When you purchase IS 2014 you get the following products: AntiVirus, AntiMalware (AVG Resident Shield), AVG Anti-Rootkit, AVG Email Scanner, AVG Protective Cloud Technology, AVG Community Protection Network, AVG Social Networking Protection and also the AVG LinkScanner Surf-Shield.

-------------------
AntiVirus
-------------------
Helps stop, remove and prevent the speading of viruses, worms or trojans

-------------------
AntiMalware (AVG Resident Shield)
-------------------
Protects you from malware on your PC and helps stop anything that’s infected.

-------------------
AVG Anti-Rootkit
-------------------
Detects and removes dangerous rootkits that hide malicious software that seeks to take control of your computer.

-------------------
AVG Email Scanner
-------------------
Detects infected or rogue inbound attachments so they can’t damage your PC. Works as a plug-in for email applications including Microsoft Outlook® 2010 or as a scanner for POP3, SMTP and IMAP accounts.

-------------------
AVG Protective Cloud Technology
-------------------
Identifies and prevents emerging threats “in the cloud” via automatic updates to your antivirus software.

-------------------
AVG Community Protection Network
-------------------
Instantly converts every new threat encountered by any member of our community into protection for everyone. It adds up to ever-better antivirus protection for the entire AVG community.

-------------------
AVG LinkScanner® Surf-Shield
-------------------
Smart prevention technology that stops you hitting infected or criminal sites. Actively checks every web page just before you click and stops you if it detects anything suspicious.
This integrates nicely into most popular browsers and simply colour codes the links and websites depending on how safe they are. If you’re still unsure about whether or not a link is safe simply submit it to AVG before you visit it.

-------------------
AVG Social Networking Protection
-------------------
Checks the links that get exchanged when you’re on social networks such as Facebook®, Twitter® etc. to help keep you and your friends safe.

-------------------
AVG Threat Removal
-------------------
Over the past few years our inbox’s have starting to become more and more cluttered with spam email and scams. The included AVG Anti-Spam will help prevent you getting these type of emails and falling prey to phishing scams such as those you believe to be from your real bank.

If you thought that Internet Security 2014 was just an Anti-Virus then you couldn’t be further from the truth. As well as keeping your PC safe it will also help to improve and optimize performance. One way in which it does this is using AVG Turbo Scan.
Turbo Scan dramatically reduces the scanning times thanks to a brand new scanning sequence that follows the order in which files are saved to your HDD. As with a few other products on the market AVG include a Game Mode which stops scans starting and updates taking place while gaming in order to help reduce the lag and avoid freezes.

Another included component is the AVG Accelerator. If you enjoy spending hours on YouTube clicking through the sidebar of videos taking you to unknown places then you will love this little bit of kit. The accelerator maximizes your connection speed and the download of binary data to deliver you faster, smoother video streaming.

Updates to the security suite occur quite regularly which is good to see as you know AVG are actively looking for the new threats and attempting to block them. Similarly to the Game Mode, if your computer is running low on battery Internet Security will realise this and will hold off updating to help save your battery. One unfortunate thing we noticed is that parental controls are no longer included and actually has to be purchased as an add-on.
-------------------
Our Verdict
-------------------
Overall the AVG Internet Security 2014 suite continues to improve with every release and this is no doubt their best release yet. The user interface is so easy to use and even if you’re completely new to the software finding the settings you need or the program is easily done. The biggest update to this release we think are the vast array of privacy tools which are sure to come in use. The main screens of the UI can be easily used by touch-screen users while the settings menu is still aimed at mouse users. We would like to see the settings menus updated so that it is more easily used by those who have just touch-screen devices.
All in all another solid and quality program by AVG which does its job perfectly!

Read more at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Internet secuirty, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVG Internet Security 2014 - 2 User - 1 Year (PC) (License)
This is a renewal ,which I have chosen again. AVG is a secure system and would recommend it and has excellent back up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AVG internet security from Amazon., 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVG Internet Security 2014 - 2 User - 1 Year (PC) (License)
Came on time,It installed over the old AVG with no problems,if you have another make of security installed, I would advise removing it before you install AVG. Last years AVG internet security was for four PCs for 2 years priced around £17. this years was one year for 2 PCs for around £29 a rather large increase by any standard,all purchased through Amazon.If you renew your protection from AVG direct it will cost you twice as much for the same thing. So it's still cheaper from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very reliable, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVG Internet Security 2014 - 2 User - 1 Year (PC) (License)
I've used AVG for about 15 years and had no problems with either it or invasive software. Put simply it is easy to use, good value and reliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expensive but effective - don't use the Tune Up, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVG Internet Security 2014 - 2 User - 1 Year (PC) (License)
I have used AVG now for over five years - both the free and paid for versions after another leading brand bundled with my then new laptop allowed not one but two serious viruses to infect my machine resulting in considerable inconvenience and substantial expense to rectify.
AVG has become increasingly expensive and some users might baulk at the cost and if they buy should certainly source it from third parties such as Amazon rather than AVG itself where for some reason the cost is even higher.
The software installs easily especially if you already run their protection and the interface is clear providing assurance that all is well. As with all such programmes there are irritating pop ups but these are not too intrusive - but really for such an expensive product you should be able to eliminate these altogether.
Bundled with the suite is AVG's Tune Up which offers you the opportunity to speed up your machine by removing unnecessary registry entries and redundant files. I ran this but big mistake - as the programme removed some registry entries that crippled two of my most used programmes. This took a good deal of work to restore and needless to say I won't be purchasing the full version of Tune Up. Remember - just leave registries alone.
All in all I am a little disappointed as to repair my programmes I had to resort to a restore point which meant I lost one of my user licences.
AVG is certainly effective but is becoming overpriced and there are certainly plenty of other offers out there just as good. I'm not sure I'll be buying AVG again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AVG INTERNET SECURITY, 25 Dec. 2013
By 
John Owen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVG Internet Security 2014 - 2 User - 1 Year (PC) (License)
I have found AVG internet security a good buy with plenty of extras and update security and a very user friendly . I tried Kaspersky
which all the reviews state is the best but I found it rubbish. I had a lot problems I kept getting script messages..It can not get on with
programs which were useful on my computer - Rappart , Google Toolbar, it was useless on PayPal, and eBay.So I am back with
AVG and no problems . I would recommend this security software as problem free and user friendly I do not want to fight my security
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but not perfect, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVG Internet Security 2014 - 2 User - 1 Year (PC) (License)
Good price compared to AVG site, good protection (I hope), a bit to intrusive with advertisement, not a very smooth install and activation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, weird pricing, 25 May 2014
By 
R.E. Viewer (Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVG Internet Security 2014 - 2 User - 1 Year (PC) (License)
So I had decided to go for AVG Internet Security for my new PC build. It is simple, effective and does not seem to be a drain on system resources. Runs smoothly and with no problems for far. Much better than Norton in my experience, certainly in terms of speed and reliability. Online reviews seem to show AVG as being well up there in terms of detection rates and protection.

Pricing is crazy. This physical disk bought from Amazon has a 2 user licence, rather than buying online from AVG, where the one user version costs double.

Get yourself the disk and install for less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Problems sorted!, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVG Internet Security 2014 - 2 User - 1 Year (PC) (License)
So many problems with one compromised computer. Minor hiccups installing on this one as despite AVG's assurances that you only had to remove non AVG a-v software it did need their removal tool to clear the 30-day trial before accepting the new programme. Once installed it cleaned up all the invasive malware, viruses & trojans that we had been having repeat problems with despite the previous a-v we had been using.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AVG 2014 Internet Security., 30 Mar. 2014
By 
N. Crane (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVG Internet Security 2014 - 2 User - 1 Year (PC) (License)
Seems to be OK so far. Does not slow the PC down. The interface is user friendly and easy to read. I use Malwarebytes free edition every now and again as AVG its not so strong in picking up Malware or PUPS. This also goes for Norton and McAfee. It is always a good idea to scan with a second opinion such as the free Malwarebytes edition if you think you have an issue and that your regular software protection has not picked it up. However this does not mean that AVG 2014 is no good as it is. It has found other stuff such as a Trojan the other week, so I would recommend it.

The access code is rather small to read when installing as it is on all software (NOT SURE WHY)
and with AVG you have to enter two different ones to get a years use etc. One number to load and then they email you another which you can copy and paste into their registration system. So yes I would buy it and I will be renewing mine next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AVG Internet Security 2014 - 2 User - 1 Year (PC)
AVG Internet Security 2014 - 2 User - 1 Year (PC) by AVG (Windows 7 / 8 / Vista / XP)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews