Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to the series
The 'One-Skein' series of books is excellent (and highly recommended), and this is a worthy addition to it.

Firstly, the 101 patterns aren't all knitted in laceweight yarn, so if you're uncomfortable with superfine kid mohair and the like you don't have to worry - there are many patterns in fingering/4-ply and even worsted/DK. It's not all threadweight...
Published 10 months ago by Blu

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I bought this based on the reviews but I was disappointed. Of the 101 projects, there were maybe 10 I'd make - but at this price, I'd like more! Knitting out of one skein is fine if you get a full item but we have just sat looking through the pics, getting the giggles! The hats are all far too small - even the models look embarrassed! Same for the scarves & cowls! Yes,...
Published 1 month ago by Kelly A19


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to the series, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lace One Skein Wonders (Paperback)
The 'One-Skein' series of books is excellent (and highly recommended), and this is a worthy addition to it.

Firstly, the 101 patterns aren't all knitted in laceweight yarn, so if you're uncomfortable with superfine kid mohair and the like you don't have to worry - there are many patterns in fingering/4-ply and even worsted/DK. It's not all threadweight doilies! Whilst the patterns use a good spread of brand name yarns, substitutions are easy enough as the yarn fibre content and yards/metres per ball are clearly stated (if you're unsure, the Ravelry website has an excellent yarn database that lists yarn thicknesses of almost all yarns in production. Don't feel bad about using a cheap acrylic baby 4-ply if it's all you can lay your hands on, it'll still look beautiful!).

There's something here for all knitters, from beginners to experienced. The lace runs from simple mesh to complex double-sided patterning with beads, and everything in between. More complex lace patterns are charted rather than written out, which might be something to bear in mind if you're unused to charts. Some patterns are all lace, some solid with lacey touches, so items should be suitable for all types of wear.

The patterns are as follows:

Hats (12 patterns)
Mitts, gloves and cuffs (9 patterns)
Socks (7 patterns)
Baby & toddler wear (11 patterns)
Blankets & doll clothes (4 patterns)
Scarves (19 patterns)
Cowls (9 patterns)
Shawls & stoles (15 patterns)
Accessories (8 patterns)
For the home (7 patterns)

There's also a glossary with details about abbreviations, all the knitting skills you'll meet in the book, and the designers of the patterns too. If I had one gripe about the book, it's that I'd like to see more pictures of some of the items (some only have one picture), but in a book with 101 patterns and 300 pages, that's a minor trifle.

I love the One-Skein series. It's accessible, the patterns are easy to follow, quick to make and results are beautiful. Best of all, every single pattern takes only one ball of yarn, so no faffing about matching colour lots or running out of yarn! I'm looking forward to getting started on the patterns here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lace One Skein Wonders (Paperback)
This is a great book with lovely patterns. Usually there are a few patterns you like in a book but this one they are all lovely.
I have already knitted 2 items from this book & they turned out exactly as expected. The patterns are easy to follow & well written.
If you like lace patterns that can be used for everyday life this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lace One Skein Wonders (Paperback)
Good variety of patterns included, not only lace. Nicely presented book and illustrations clear. Would definitely recommend this book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lace One-Skein Wonders: 101 Projects Celebrating the Possibilities of Lace (Kindle Edition)
I bought this based on the reviews but I was disappointed. Of the 101 projects, there were maybe 10 I'd make - but at this price, I'd like more! Knitting out of one skein is fine if you get a full item but we have just sat looking through the pics, getting the giggles! The hats are all far too small - even the models look embarrassed! Same for the scarves & cowls! Yes, you could make them bigger - ok for a scarf, but not easy if you're following a specific pattern like a hat. Also, many of the patterns are charts only - not being a chart knitter, that rules out even more of the 101! Disappointed & returning for refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration!, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lace One Skein Wonders (Paperback)
Excellent book - great patterns and speedy delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BUY, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lace One Skein Wonders (Paperback)
I really need to get a few different one-skein lace projects for my online shop. This book is giving me inspiration and great ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One skein wonder, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lace One Skein Wonders (Paperback)
Great book in series
I give this 5 stars
Amazing instructions looking forward to using this book
Great for beginners and advanced alike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lace One-Skein Wonders: 101 Projects Celebrating the Possibilities of Lace, 14 May 2014
By 
S. Bruch "Shelbycat" (Llanelli) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lace One-Skein Wonders: 101 Projects Celebrating the Possibilities of Lace (Kindle Edition)
This is a beautiful little book filled with lacy patterns (not all meant for lace weight yarn, so don't panic about finger cramp!) that are a joy to knit. My favourite thing about this book is that each project is meant to only use one ball/skein of yarn. Now i have to admit i haven't made every single pattern in the book, and obviously you have to take your own tension into consideration but i think this is a lovely way to use up those oddments of yarn hanging around in the bottom of the yarn basket. I would say every knitter needs a book like this if only to look at the beautiful images for ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lace One Skein Wonders (Paperback)
A wonderful book and very useful in using up a load of odd balls of wool which I seem to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous books, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lace One-Skein Wonders: 101 Projects Celebrating the Possibilities of Lace (Kindle Edition)
I just love these judith durant books. I have them all and they are a real 'go to' book when you want to knit somethin small to use up 'YOUR STASH'. I recommend any of these books highly. I now have Designer One Skein, Luxury one skein, Lace one skein, and Sock yarn one skein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews