Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Insightful, Unputdownable!
I really enjoyed the first book from The Secret Footballer. It gave us football fans a real insight into the world that most of us wish we were gifted enough, as footballers, to be a part of.

I don't care who The Secret Footballer is. I kind of like the fact that we don't know his identity. It makes it more believable, more honest, more real. Of course there...
Published 7 months ago by Ben

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Run its course
In the second instalment of the Secret Footballer’s dabble with books, it’s hard to imagine what more could be presented that hadn’t already been done. And while there are some interesting tales, but not enough to fully satisfy. The concept naturally prevents too many specifics, but there is still to opportunity to keep guessing as to who he is, and...
Published 4 months ago by The Sports Book Review


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Run its course, 11 Feb 2014
In the second instalment of the Secret Footballer’s dabble with books, it’s hard to imagine what more could be presented that hadn’t already been done. And while there are some interesting tales, but not enough to fully satisfy. The concept naturally prevents too many specifics, but there is still to opportunity to keep guessing as to who he is, and who he refers to. But he increasingly comes across as a bit of a pain in the you know what.

It’s hard to feel any sympathy at times with the financial complications he found himself in with a particular club. The circumstances scream “Portsmouth” to me, but I could be wrong. However, the author details how the missed pay packets put his home at risk, and that is naturally a real concern. What never seems to have occurred to him though is that perhaps he could have moved to a property that didn’t require a 16,000 a month mortgage.

A chapter devoted to his youthful drug taking seems at odds with the whole concept. What we’re after is anecdotes from behind the scenes at football clubs rather than his teenage drugs dabbling. He does at least move on to discuss drugs in football, but the numerous pages of laboured introduction to the subject seem unnecessary.

The kind of anecdote that we do want is given a marvellous example in the story of going to see Tottenham play in Milan with his father. It’s both insightful and funny; the hallmark of what we expect from the Secret Footballer, but sadly there just aren’t enough examples like this to make the book worthwhile.

The second half of the book brings more insight as he looks at various after football career possibilities. The stories are told with long quotes from others, or with lengthy conversations rather than his own insight, but it does at least give us some information we wouldn’t necessarily have known anyway. There’s a section devoted to the UEFA coaching courses and the requirements they entail. He goes into a fair amount of detail about the course which is suitably interesting.

He also then goes through potential foreign transfer destinations and assesses them be revealing conversations he’s had with those who have experienced those places already. The most revealing is the discussion about playing for an Old Firm team and the constant pressure and hounding that brings – far from the easy life one might sometimes imagine.

There are interesting tales here, but they aren’t in sufficient numbers to satisfy sadly. Overall the book doesn’t flow satisfactorily with many sections seemingly having no link to those that came before as though it’s a cobbled together collection of the best (or the remaining best after the first book) anecdotes from the newspaper column. The second half does link better, presumably after a stern half-time ticking off, with the ongoing career options which are well told and work much better. But overall I was left rather underwhelmed by this second instalment, and feel that in book form anyway the Secret Footballer has run its course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Insightful, Unputdownable!, 12 Nov 2013
I really enjoyed the first book from The Secret Footballer. It gave us football fans a real insight into the world that most of us wish we were gifted enough, as footballers, to be a part of.

I don't care who The Secret Footballer is. I kind of like the fact that we don't know his identity. It makes it more believable, more honest, more real. Of course there has been many names banded about, all 'it could be him', I just think that adds to the mystery.

So when I saw there was a new book and didn't even hesitate and purchased it straight away. And I'm glad I did. This book offers more insightful stories and paints a picture of the modern day footballer, what goes on behind the scenes, the stuff we all wish we could be flies on the wall for. It tells of tactics, stories from the pre season tours and changing rooms, about the mindset of a professional sportsman. It really is unputdownable and I read it cover to cover in a few days.

For me, I enjoyed Tales From The Secret Footballer even more than the first. It seems to have managed to get the reader even closer to the action which is all I could've hoped for from a follow up and more.

I sincerely hope there will be more books in this series. Whoever it is, he's tapped into an area that all us football fans want - to know what REALLY goes on after they've re-crossed that white line to go back to the changing room and behind the scenes.

Truly gripping. More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from the Secret Footballer (Kindle Edition)
Really interesting book and great to get a different take on the footballing world. Well written and definitely keeps the pages turning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from the Secret Footballer (Kindle Edition)
Excellent alternative insight into the world of football. Keeps you guessing all the way though on who it is !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from the Secret Footballer (Kindle Edition)
Well written. Just would really like to know who this and be able to congratulate him on the way he explains his issues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from the Secret Footballer (Kindle Edition)
Poor boring repatative content, quite boring. Having read the first book I was quite looking forward to this book. It just did not hit the heights of the first one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Basic, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from the Secret Footballer (Kindle Edition)
Nothing that was never known of grossly over paid sportsmen - some areas pretty lacking in human abilities! OK Read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than the 1st one, 10 Jan 2014
Bought as a gift been told it is better than the 1st one. Was read in 3 days! Must read brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars frank look at the mind of a professional footballer, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from the Secret Footballer (Kindle Edition)
Who is the secret footballer? Well that is a question on many peoples lip in fact only a handful of people know his identity although in his latest book "Tales from the secret footballer" he drops plenty of clues for the reader to uncover the identity of TSF.

The book is frank look inside the mind of a professional footballer, and the issues of the modern game, the book also focuses on the possible different career paths a player can take after his playing days are over .TSF uses some of his friends to help him discuss the big issues of the game.

If you haven't already read "I am the secret footballer" I urge you too then read this book but be aware disregard everything you think you know about professional footballers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
for my son & enjoyed it so much got the book set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews