Customer Reviews


237 Reviews
5 star:
 (209)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Box Set of a Rather Different Police Series
There have been so many police series over the years that it has become hard to distinguish one from the other, and it really takes something different to stand out from the crowd. However, Death in Paradise has achieved just that in the two series to date. Set on the fictional island of Sainte- Marie in the West Indies, it stars Ben Miller as the rather formal...
Published 16 months ago by Brett H

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Predictable
I've only watched the first series a little more than halfway through but at least with half of the episodes I've seen so far, I've been able to guess who the murderer is right at the beginning. I expected it to be a little more intelligent. Not quite as funny as I expected from Ben Miller either. Disappointing all round.
Published 9 months ago by Taina Pemberton


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Box Set of a Rather Different Police Series, 19 Oct. 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Death in Paradise - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
There have been so many police series over the years that it has become hard to distinguish one from the other, and it really takes something different to stand out from the crowd. However, Death in Paradise has achieved just that in the two series to date. Set on the fictional island of Sainte- Marie in the West Indies, it stars Ben Miller as the rather formal Detective Inspector Richard Poole drafted in from London, ably assisted by his rather unlikely partner from the local force, Detective Sergeant Camille Bordey, played by Sara Martins. If there was one single factor for the success of this show I would say it was the chemistry between these two which has noticeably grown as the show has gone on.

These two tackle quite a wide range of cases during the two series, but they generally involve murder most foul. Although in a very different time and place, Poole's style reminds me of Agatha Christie's Poirot. He carefully considers everything and at the climax of each show his favoured modus operandi is to gather everyone connected to the case together and give his verdict, usually based on some leap of imagination.

Viewing figures have been very good so it is no surprise that a third series has been announced to be screened next year. However, what is very surprising is that Ben Miller is to leave the show and will be replaced by another detective during the upcoming series. It will be interesting to see how this pans out as Miller is such an integral part of this series. He always rather gives the impression of being a fish out of water in Sainte-Marie so I wonder if his successor DI Humphrey Goodman, acted by Kris Marshall, will play it in the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 12 Dec. 2013
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Death in Paradise - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Series One

A comedy drama series that harks back to the old days of crime fiction, where loads of red herrings appear and there can be quite convoluted plots to kill people. DI Richard Poole is sent over from London to the Caribbean island of Saint-Marie, and the Honore police station. (Actually this was filmed on location on Guadeloupe). Originally taking on a case because the DI in place is ill he then ends up solving more crimes as his counterpart is killed. Tackling corruption, both on a local and international level, as well as the more normal type of murders, nothing is ever simple.

Richard with his co-detective Camille, and two uniforms, Dwayne and Fidel are always on the case, however difficult it may appear. Some of the cases it is not too hard to solve, whilst others will get your brain working. DI Richard Poole is a cross between Sherlock Holmes and Poirot, with a bit of Doc Martin thrown in for his social skills.

This series may not appeal to everyone but it is great escapism which you can sit back and enjoy, and has a whole host of well known people appearing throughout. With the Commissioner only giving Richard two hours to make a decision whether he wants his old job back, whilst he is solving a case, it seems that he could be stuck on the island for good.

Series Two

Welcome back to the fictional Caribbean island of Saint Marie (once again shot on location on Guadeloupe). Again we are treated to a series of whodunits, although where the first series was more centred around tourists on the island committing crimes, this time around the crimes involve mainly those who live on the island.

From solving murders on a plantation, a luxury spa, amongst students and explorers, a fundraiser, and involving an ex-colleague from London, you can be sure the team will get their person. Ben Miller is in excellent form again as the detective who walks around in a suit and tie, with his case, moaning about the heat. And it is so funny when he won't be fazed by a hurricane coming to the island, after all what can it be like for someone who went through 'The Fish', our 1987 version.

With Camille showing signs of wanting something a bit more serious with the chief, will he pick up on these? Also here we have Fidel going for his sergeant's exam, as well as Richard having to travel back to London to escort a prisoner. In the last episode you will find out whether Fidel passes, and whether Richard will return.

All in all, like the first series this is fun to watch and works your brain as you try and work out who the perpetrators are. In some respects this is back to the old days, where the criminal was exposed in a denouement, and you don't have some long back story involving the troubled relationships of the detective. Like most people of my age these were the types of stories that we grew up with, either on tv or in books, and they will always remain to a certain extent popular simply because they are escapist puzzles, where you want to beat the detective to the correct answer. And let's face it, Dwayne and Richard on the motorcycle sidecar look like Wallace and Gromit, which is comedy gold. If you want to put your feet up, watch some entertaining tv, whilst solving puzzles, then you can't really go wrong with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent viewing, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death in Paradise - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Good clean fun, and easy to watch. Ben Miller plays the typical Englishman abroad in a hot climate, who will not be thwarted by the heat; hence he does not give up his collar and tie!! Enjoyed by adults and children alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is visual happyness for blue mondays, 8 Mar. 2014
By 
Mirjam (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death in Paradise - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
This series has everything: a good plot. As said before: Miss Marple with Coconuts. There are very nice characters and lots and lots of kindness. If you are in a low after watching Breaking Bad or House of Cards, watch this. There is an awkward man who feeds lizards and reads books, an extremely intelligent, understanding and utterly beautiful woman and two trustworthy, humourus men. Afterwards you hope and almost certainly know: there are people out there who feed lizards. And that is nice to know, don't you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death In Paradise, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death in Paradise - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Watched the original series on TV and decided to purchase DVDs so that It could be watched again as we enjoyed so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful series, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death in Paradise - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
We love this series and were delighted to see it out on DVD. We've watched both series twice through now and still love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly amusing, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death in Paradise - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great box set of the first two series, set in the Caribean with a great role for Ben Miller as the detective in charge of a squak of three other people solving murders ever more complicated.
He brilliantly plays an English man out of his element looking for a good cup of tea in the afternoon wearing his suit and tie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death in Paradise - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
It was a gift for my grandson in Australia and he absolutely loves it. I know it will be watched till it's nearly worn out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth staying in for., 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death in Paradise - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed the series and it's somewhat quirky and novel approach to resolving crime so had to purchase the videos. With the shows laid back, casual and at times humorous approach, what more can you possibly ask for if you are looking for something not too intense and serious. All the cast play their parts very well and Ben Millers obvious longing for England and it's traditions is demonstrated to a tee as he insists on wearing his suit despite the heat. As for his almost irrational obsession with carrying his briefcase everywhere, well it sums him up a treat. In my opinion very worthwhile viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ben in Paradise., 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death in Paradise - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
I did not bother to watch Death in Paradise when it was first shown on the BBC but am glad I have caught up with it at this late stage. Ben Miller a great favourite of mine is perfect as DI Richard Poole sent to the Caribbean by the Met in order to rid themselves of a less than popular officer. Ben Miller stayed for only two series as filming each one took six months and he missed his family and his wife could not stand the heat. This is a good buy do not miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death in Paradise - Series 1-2 [DVD]
Death in Paradise - Series 1-2 [DVD] by Ben Miller (DVD - 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews