Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing- What About Me-Stubborn Kind Of Fellow ?
50 Groovin Tracks on 2 CDs for an amazing price.

All original artists and orginal releases BUT Amazon have really cramped up the listings making it hard to read and see who is actually on the CDS so

This is NOT a review just an aid to make it easier to see what tracks and artists are on this collection..

CD 1
1. Green Onions - Booker...
Published 23 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound of mod
Not bad, a few tracks that I wouldn't have thought of as mod, but on the whole a reasonable compilation.
Published 21 months ago by JSL


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing- What About Me-Stubborn Kind Of Fellow ?, 17 May 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sound Of Mod (Audio CD)
50 Groovin Tracks on 2 CDs for an amazing price.

All original artists and orginal releases BUT Amazon have really cramped up the listings making it hard to read and see who is actually on the CDS so

This is NOT a review just an aid to make it easier to see what tracks and artists are on this collection..

CD 1
1. Green Onions - Booker T. & The M.G.'s
2. Do You Love Me? - The Contours
3. The Loco-Motion - Little Eva
4. Annie Get Your Yo-Yo - Little Junior Parker
5. Comin' Home Baby - Mel Tormé 6. Up On The Roof - The Drifters
7. Land Of 1000 Dances - Chris Kenner
8. Twist And Shout - The Isley Brothers
9. Baby Don't You Weep - Fred Bridges
10. Jamie - Eddie Holland
11. Itty Bitty Pieces - James Ray
12. Here I stand - Wade Flemmons
13. Rinky Dink - Dave 'Baby' Cortez
14. Playboy - The Marvelettes
15. The Wah-Watusi - The Orlons
16. Some Other Guy - Richie Barrett
17. You've Really Got A Hold On Me - The Miracles
18. Shimmy, Shimmy, Ko-Ko-Bop - Little Anthony & The Imperials
19. Anna - Arthur Alexander
20. Night Before - The Mar-Keys
21. Hush Heart - Baby Washington
22. Dimples - John Lee Hooker
23. Next Door To The Blues - Etta James
24. Look Out - Ted Taylor
25. Twist '62 - Jerry McCain

CD 2
1. Louie, Louie - Richard Berry
2. Chains - The Cookies
3. Boys - The Shirelles
4. Money, That's What I Want - Barrett Strong
5. (You've Got To) Move Two Mountains - Marv Johnson
6. Let Me Go The Right Way - The Supremes
7. Every Day I Have To Cry - Steve Alaimo
8. Beechwood 4-5789 - The Marvelettes
9. Fortune Teller - Benny Spellman
10. Boom Boom - John Lee Hooker
11. Foxy - The Mar-Keys
12. That's The Way I Feel - The Miracles
13. I'm Going Home - Prince Conley
14. I Did My Part - Irma Thomas
15. The One Who Really Loves You - Mary Wells
16. Ain't That Lovin' You Baby? - Jimmy Reed
17. Stubborn Kind Of Fellow - Marvin Gaye
18. Tricky Dicky - Richie Barrett
19. What About Me - Eddie Holland
20. Twistin' The Night Away - Sam Cooke
21. Smokestack Lightnin' - Howlin' Wolf
22. Lonely Teardrops - Jackie Wilson
23. What's So Good About Goodbye? - The Miracles
24. You Can't Sit Down - Booker T. & The M.G.'s
25. Tell Him - The Exciters
26. Off Your Rocker- Gee Lenn and the Delstars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aaaaahhh! Dear Old Days on the Vespa GS ..., 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Of Mod (Audio CD)
Such evocative tracks leave you wanting more. Makes you want to add this track, and then this other. They could easily market a collection twice, or three times, the size. Nostalgia for 60-somethings and youngsters who caught the bug later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good stuff good price, 13 Nov. 2014
By 
Keitht (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sound Of Mod (Audio CD)
always a pleasure to re aquaint with long forgotten things. good stuff good price. well pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for Money - Where it all started, 20 Aug. 2013
By 
Maknight "Mikeek" (Portsmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Of Mod (Audio CD)
For me this CD sums up all those early records that got me into the scene all those years ago (well the revival times in the late 70s/80s).

It has all the classics and similarly, I have got majority of these tracks on numerous formats, but this compilation puts them neatly into one Cd. My only criticism is doesnt cover any of the British artists that were on the scene, but there are other compilations that cover the British side of things if you want it.

So the classics - Wah Watusi, Green Onions, Rinky Dink , Comin Home Baby, Boom Boom , Louie Louie etc. There are a couple of tracks that I would have missed off (Jerry McCain / Drifters) , but these are classic tracks that were listened to. The Baby Washington and Etta James tracks are worth the entry cost alone. The Booker T's "You Cant Sit Down" is a nice take on the Phil Upchurch classic, and Annie Get Your Yo Yo - another great track.

This CD captures all of those early records that we have a guilty pleasure about, but have since progressed onto other styles , genres , artists of that ilk (I remember a time when you would not play Green Onions at a club, even though it was a classic)

This CD is a brilliant purchase at the price.....where it all started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Of Mod (Audio CD)
Gift for music mad friend - loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Collection, 26 Feb. 2015
By 
Joseph L. Drew "Music Man" (Cincinnati, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Of Mod (Audio CD)
Great collection of classic songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Of Mod (Audio CD)
Some really good tracks on here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Of Mod (Audio CD)
A good selection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Of Mod (Audio CD)
Great Mod Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound of mod, 21 July 2013
By 
JSL "Jen" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Of Mod (Audio CD)
Not bad, a few tracks that I wouldn't have thought of as mod, but on the whole a reasonable compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sound of MOD
The Sound of MOD by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album£4.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews