Customer Reviews


465 Reviews
5 star:
 (399)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Funniest Comedys Ever
Product Info.
Series 1,2,3 plus 3 Christmas specials.

Episodes.
Series 1 episodes are:
1)'The Mammy'.
2)'Mammy's Secret'.
3)'Mammy's Merchandise'.
4)'Mammy Rides Again'.
5)'Mammy of the Groom'.
6) 'Mammy's Miracle'.

Series 2.
1)'Mammy Pulls It Off'.
2)'Mammy's Coming!'.
3)'Mammy (Batteries Not...
Published 18 months ago by Timelord-007

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Introductionary events
The programmes are very good and funny. However the introductory advertising inserts are very irritating and should be removable now..
Published 13 months ago by Leonard J. Belk


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Funniest Comedys Ever, 4 Nov. 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mrs Brown's Boys - Big Box Series 1-3 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Product Info.
Series 1,2,3 plus 3 Christmas specials.

Episodes.
Series 1 episodes are:
1)'The Mammy'.
2)'Mammy's Secret'.
3)'Mammy's Merchandise'.
4)'Mammy Rides Again'.
5)'Mammy of the Groom'.
6) 'Mammy's Miracle'.

Series 2.
1)'Mammy Pulls It Off'.
2)'Mammy's Coming!'.
3)'Mammy (Batteries Not Included)'.
4)'SuperMammy'.
5)'Mammy's Going'.
6)'New Mammy'.

Series 3.
1)'Mammy's Spell'.
2)'Mammy's Inflation'.
3)'Mammy's Break'.
4)'Mammy's Valentine'.
5)'Mammy?'.
6)'Mammy Swings'.

Starring.
Brendan O'Carroll, Jennifer Gibney, Fiona O'Carroll, Eilish O'Carroll, Danny O'Carroll.
Format: PAL.
Language: English.
Region: Region 2.
Number of discs: 7.
Certificate 15.

Trivia.
1)The Cast of Mrs Brown's Boys is almost entirely made up of Brendan O'Carroll's family members. Jennifer Gibney (Cathy) is Brendan's wife. Eilish O'Carroll (Winnie) is Brendan's sister. Fiona O'Carroll (Maria) is Brendan's daughter. Danny O'Carroll (Buster) is Brendan's son. Amanda Woods (Betty) is Brendan's daughter-in-law, married to Danny O'Carroll. & Martin Delany (Trevor) is Brendan's son-in-law is married to Fiona O'Carroll.

Synopsis
Agnes Brown is a widow living in Ireland as she manages her sons, daughter Kathy and best friend Winnie.

Add into the mix caring for elderly Grandad, various in-laws and grandchildren to the mix & Mrs Brown usually has her hands full.

What makes the show different is that the "fourth wall" is broken. This could mean anything from Agnes interacting with the crew filming the show, allowing technical goofs and glitches to make their way into the story line or having the studio audience join in for an impomptu musical number which shouldn't really work but does causing many of the shows funniest moments.

Timelord Thoughts.
This is without doubt one of my favourite comedys of all time as I have never laughed so hard in all my life as when I'm watching an episode of Mrs Browns Boys.

Brendan O'Carroll is a genius as he plays Agnes Brown who is the matriarch of the Brown family superbly with a comic put down & that cheeky grin this show never feels scripted & due to the fourth wall antics anything can happen &usually does.

This has to be the funniest show I've ever seen! & ive seen many great comedys, Crude, yes.. its not PC thats for sure, Offensive, always..but side-splittingly hilarious, I don't remember ever wanting to watch a sitcom episode more than once but the first time I rewatched Series One I knew what was coming but STILL laughed out loud.

Brendan O'Carroll is brilliant charmingly funny, as is the rest of the cast. I love the "old school" comedy tone, with the occasional use of crude humor as this Makes the series fun, edgy & completely unpredictable while being hilariously entertaining.

If this series don't make you laugh nothing will, a highly recommended purchase of comedy greatness, I can't wait for the movie & series 4 but this will continue to keep me entertained & laughing.

Timelord Rating.
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Comedy-Show Ever!, 7 Oct. 2013
By 
KRB (England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mrs Brown's Boys - Big Box Series 1-3 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Mrs Brown's Boys is without doubt the best comedy show that I have ever seen. Despite how amazing the classics such as Only Fools and Horses, Keeping Up Appearances and Barbara are, Mrs Brown tops the lot (my opinion). I cannot stop laughing at this. Mrs Brown (Breden O'Carroll) is the loveable Dublin Mother with 6 children and lots of other family and friends. Lots of credit must go to all the actors, supporting cast and crew for making this comedy such a pleasure to watch.

All 3 series, all 3 christmas specials and extras are now available in this 7 disc boxed set.

The boxed set includes:

Series 1 (6 Episodes)
Series 2 (6 Episodes)
Series 3 (6 Episodes)
The 3 Christmas Specials (3 Episodes)
Extras

Overall, there is 21 episodes of the first three series and specials, and it is so hard to pick a favourite, as they are all great, enjoyable and very, very, very funny.

Best Comedy, ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Introductionary events, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Leonard J. Belk (Chippenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The programmes are very good and funny. However the introductory advertising inserts are very irritating and should be removable now..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious.........., 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've seen most of these - the set was purchased as a present. OK, the language is a bit ripe, but somehow, 'fecking' doesn't seem as offensive as the English version!

AliceB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare yourself for the laugh of your life!, 5 Dec. 2014
By 
Maximus (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Brown's Boys - Big Box Series 1-3 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This series is one of the best comdey shows I have ever seen in my 50 years of life! It is so funny, your whole body will be hurting ... because you have to laugh all the time.
I am Swiss and my mother tongue is (Swiss) German, but you get used to that Irish English quite quickly.
And by the way: all discs offer English subtitles, also the Series 1, which even says "No subtitles" on the cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars soooo funny, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I laughed till my belly hurt jaws ached and the tears were running down my face. Cant wait to get the next season!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. K. Maddock (South Lakes, Westmorland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Brown's Boys - Big Box Series 1-3 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Laugh? I don't know when I am going to stop. This guy and his family have produced something wonderful.
This is good old fashioned slapstick type humour with a little bit of bad language thrown in.
I really hope that this program goes on for many years as I certainly will never tire of it.
Good job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
enjoyed every minute of it,will watch it over and over again.can not wait for the next series to start hope it is soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAKES YOU FEEL WARM INSIDE, 4 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Brown's Boys - Big Box Series 1-3 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
It took me along time to watch Mrs Brown's Boys, if it wasn't for my mum pecking my head, I might never had bothered, and I must say I was hooked from the first ever episode. I just love when there is a mistake on stage and they leave it in, or a camera man who gets in the way. I can see why this sit-com has become one of the best the uk public have seen for years, with most, if not all of the cast being related, this shows the comfort this program gives, it makes you feel warm inside, and your smile seems to be there, from the beginning to the end. This is a brilliant series with laughs and the odd serious moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Brown's Boys - Big Box Series 1-3 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Came upon this programme quite late and it is hilarious. I love a laugh out loud comedy and this is certainly that. It is the live theatre format that I adore especially when you see the other characters trying not to laugh at Mrs Brown. Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mrs Brown's Boys - Big Box Series 1-3 [DVD] [2012]
Mrs Brown's Boys - Big Box Series 1-3 [DVD] [2012] by Brendan O'Carroll (DVD - 2013)
£14.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews