Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Away with words.
What a superb album. Martin Barre is sounding better than ever and the new tracks mixed in with some great old Tull tracks works well. Acoustic and electric guitar sound crisp and clear and the overall production sounds fine. I Really like the tracks Home, Sundown, From a dead beat to an old greaser and Air : lament of the spalpeen . Hope Martin makes another album along...
Published 14 months ago by SHARK

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Tull Fans
An interesting album for Tull fans, featuring a mix of new tracks by Martin Barre mixed up with mainly acoustic versions of Tull tracks. The mix of new material and Tull tracks works with, with the new music generally leading into a Tull song. For the first three songs it's almost exclusively acoustic, and pleasant enough, but occasionally veers towards background music...
Published 14 months ago by The Soft Machine Operator


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Away with words., 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Away With Words (Audio CD)
What a superb album. Martin Barre is sounding better than ever and the new tracks mixed in with some great old Tull tracks works well. Acoustic and electric guitar sound crisp and clear and the overall production sounds fine. I Really like the tracks Home, Sundown, From a dead beat to an old greaser and Air : lament of the spalpeen . Hope Martin makes another album along the same lines again, old and new. Thankyou Martin for a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martin Shines, 24 Oct 2013
By 
M. Katz (Dublin, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Away With Words (MP3 Download)
This album shows why there are few musicians/composers who compare with the brilliance of Ian Anderson/Martin Barre. This album contains almost all the elements (no Ian) that make Jethro Tull albums great. The complex melodies of Jethro Tull are expressed brilliantly by Martin. Dare I say that some are even better than the original compositions first offered among the various Tull albums. This is an absolute "Must Have" for any Tull fan ... and for those who may be curious as to why Tull have such ardent fans, this collection will give you a good idea. Bravo Martin ... I am sure Ian is quite proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you MARTIN..., 13 Oct 2013
By 
Bora Cetin "Bora CETIN" (ISTANBUL, GOZTEPE Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Away With Words (Audio CD)
Five Star...!

Martin "Lancelot" Barre, is one of the best guitarist of the music world. ( He was voted 25th best solo ever in the USA and 20th best solo ever in the UK for his playing on 'Aqualung'. ) You can find his creativity and musical genious, every Jethro Tull album.

Also, in this album, he is very good "Flut player" ( sorry Ian ..! )
Martin, re-arranged and represented his favorite TULL songs in this album.
( My very favorite Tull songs; "Moths", "Hymn 43", "From A Dead Beat To An Old Greaser", "Requiem", "Home".. )
And the new Martin song; "Sundown" is great...

No more words....
Highly recommended for "Guitar Lovers"...
TULLIAN's must buy...

Thank you Martin.
Best wishes from Istanbul.

Bora Cetin
TULLTURK
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a Barre too Far!, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Away With Words (MP3 Download)
This is an understated gem of an album and re-inforces to me why I consider Martin Barre to be up there with Richard Thompson. His reinterpretations of classic Tull tracks help to illustrate what Martin added to Ian Anderson's vision, and I would recommend this to both Tull fans and anybody who appreciates skilfully played guitar music without histrionics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Away With Words (Audio CD)
Martin Barre demonstrates great sensitivity, craft and creativity in presenting these tunes. The result is musically expressive, yet still refined. Mr. Barre remains one of rock's most criminally underrated guitarists. His voice is always recognizable and unique. Buy this CD now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Tull Fans, 9 Oct 2013
By 
The Soft Machine Operator (COVENTRY, WARWICKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Away With Words (Audio CD)
An interesting album for Tull fans, featuring a mix of new tracks by Martin Barre mixed up with mainly acoustic versions of Tull tracks. The mix of new material and Tull tracks works with, with the new music generally leading into a Tull song. For the first three songs it's almost exclusively acoustic, and pleasant enough, but occasionally veers towards background music. However, Lament of the Spalpeen/Martin's Jig changes the tone by starting with a woowind driven atmospheric section that leads into a Celtic sounding jig before launching into Tull's My God with vocals rather than a guitar line following the original vocal. This is a powerful section and offers a welcome change to the acoustic Tull material.

From here on there's an excellent version of 'Deadbeat to an old Greaser', 'Protect and Survive' and it ends with a brilliant track called 'Sundown' which is a new Barre composition and much more in the rock/prog vein of Jethro Tull.

To be honest, I really wanted to hear more of Barre's riffing on electric guitar, but this is clearly a very personal project and Barre's own composition work very well alongside the Tull material. This isn't for everyone, but Tull fans should enjoy it. I hope to see more of Barre's own material on his next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Away With Words, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Away With Words (MP3 Download)
A very good album which is largely acoustic and with, unsurprisingly, a Jethro Tull ambience to it. That in many ways helps the aalbum and with some excellent flute and other accompaniment this is an aalbum I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Away With Words (Audio CD)
This is without doubt an excellent CD. I think it would have been improved by mixing in a few heavier pieces. The light and heavy contrasts were a hallmark of early Tull and for that reason I think Stage Left better. The reinterpretation of Tull classics are good, but it is more exciting to look forward to a collection of new compositions. Martin is a superb and I look forward to his next CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Away With Ian, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Away With Words (Audio CD)
BUY THIS ALBUM ! You won't be sorry. I am a student of music and a certified Tull freak since 1972. This is Martin Barre at his best. Really fantastic nylon string guitar work. I downloaded it into I Tunes and it was auto-catogoried as Country - Folk. Not even close. That's like Tull winning the Heavy Metal Grammy for Crest of a Knave. The music is a mix of styles, classical, Spanish, Irish Jig and of course, quietly in the background, Martin is rippin' leads on his electric! Martin is in a league of his own. Who else could turn Hymn 43 into an acoustic Irish Jig? Yes, check it out! Love the acoustic arrangements and licks on this album. You'll listen to it many times. Enjoy.

Jeff Free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Tull?, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Away With Words (MP3 Download)
When I started listening to this I thought it was a little bland and basically elevator music. It's pretty much all acoustic based, so if you're looking for "Locomotive Breath" or the intro to "Minstrel In The Gallery" you can forget it.
My initial scepticism was slowly worn away though, as I went about whatever I was doing and the beautiful playing of Mr Barre began to really shine through.
I'm a heavy metal fan, but Tull are my favourite band so it's quite the compliment to say certain pieces here are actually BETTER than the Tull versions. "Pussy Willow" for one. It's stunning here - Martin's arrangement is fantastic and it opens up the song in new ways, as do many of the other tracks here.
I must admit to a little disappointment - when I share Tull videos on Facebook it's invariably "Minstrel in the Gallery" because the blistering guitar intro is just incredible. And, when I saw Tull live on the most recent occasion, even my wife, who is no big guitar (or Tull) fan was raving about the wee old guy who absolutely ripped on the guitar! So...I'd really, really love to hear something in a heavier vein - Martin's old black Hamer Sunburst cranked through a Marshall I mean, rather than the good but somewhat staid "Stage Left".
However, that doesn't take away from this release which is, honestly, fantastic and a lot better than I'd expected it to be. I really wish he'd come to Glasgow, I'd love to see these pieces performed live. Martin? Come to Glasgow!

Steven A. McKay, author of Kindle's "War" chart number 1's Wolf's Head: 1 (The Forest Lord) and The Wolf and the Raven (The Forest Lord Book 2)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Away With Words
Away With Words by Martin Barre (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews