Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Food For Thought, 26 Sep 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Carnivore: Why cheap meat costs the Earth (and how to pay the bill) (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This is a well-researched and straight to the point account of the meat industry. I declare my hand as a butcher's son of 60+ years with three vegetarian daughters. This is a comprehensive review of the history of meat eating. It really augments some basic premises. There are no conflicts in our house regarding preferences as the changes in availability and acceptability of alternative food sources and attitudes have been remarkable over the last 20 years or so. Holidaying with my daughters used to be a nightmare. No vegetarian options.

Do we, for whatever reason, want to eat meat or take it to the extremities of veganism? As a meat-eater, my concern is with mass production. My father knew where the meat was produced, where and how it was coming to the slaughter market and then to butchers' shops, (now mainly supermarkets), what was the feed, what antibiotics, steroids or enzyme tenderisers had been given and the conditions of rearing. He would never eat a bought pie of any sort from the 50's to his end. He had some horror stories even then; some became news but most was suppressed. What's changed? My family, and I am sure many others, are concerned with animal welfare. My father used to say that pigs have no function except food (they do forage unwanted grassland) and I dare say that can be applied from insects to other forms of life. I don't agree as the concept could stretch to humans.

An insightful book full of thought and debate presented in a quick-read format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shocking and fascinating, 15 Sep 2013
This review is from: Planet Carnivore: Why cheap meat costs the Earth (and how to pay the bill) (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
It will certainly make you re-think your beef supper. But amid the horror the author offers some hope for the future of meat-eaters. And the animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Adds fuel to vegies' reasoning, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Carnivore: Why cheap meat costs the Earth (and how to pay the bill) (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Puts eating different types of meat in perspective, you can get much of the environment improvement just by quitting beef.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Carnivore: Why cheap meat costs the Earth (and how to pay the bill) (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Gives a good account of the global food "problems" (such as energy efficiency and feeding a growing population) as well as highlighting effects on climate change that food production has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Carnivore: Why cheap meat costs the Earth (and how to pay the bill) (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A well conceived and well researched book regarding the plight of food poverty, meat greed amongst developing nations and hunger to satisfy our craving for the red and white stuff. Well recommended short read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 4 Oct 2013
By 
G. A. Mcclay "Gmac" (Dudley UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Carnivore: Why cheap meat costs the Earth (and how to pay the bill) (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Have been in the retail and meat inspection side of the meat trade for over 50 years have found this book most interesting from a person who knows meat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Compelling and Informative Read, 16 Sep 2013
This review is from: Planet Carnivore: Why cheap meat costs the Earth (and how to pay the bill) (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I wouldn't have normally picked this up (metaphorically) but I've enjoyed Alex Renton's writing in the Times and Guardian and was interested in what he had to say about the global meat industry. Planet Carnivore is informative and importantly for me not too preachy about its subject matter. Rather than being hit over the head with the 'meat is murder" frying-pan Alex gives you a gentle nudge and a well-researched insight into some of the real costs of meat production. I'm sure most readers by the end will have pause for thought about their relationship with food. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Carnivore: Why cheap meat costs the Earth (and how to pay the bill) (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
As other reviewers have already said, this is a thought provoking little read that summarizes a lot of background information behind the headlines. The idea that a beef pie can be found to contain absolutely no animal protein at all shows how "flexible" manufacturers can be with their ingredients (of course as that pie contained no horse meat it didn't make the headlines when it was discovered during horse meat testing). Reading this has certainly increased my awareness of the real cost of meat in the food chain. Will it change my eating habits? No, not significantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews