Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good protection
A typical good quality Berghaus product. The shell is lightweight in itself; but has provision for a fleece lining. I bought the lining separately and together they make a waterproof and warm jacket which I confidently expect to keep out the worst of winter.
Published 11 months ago by Mr Jan Benfield

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bland uninspiring but practical jacket that does what it's supposed to - though very expensive for what it is
I've had one of these for about six months. A not very glamorous and frankly bland jacket with no real design elements. The only noticeable thing is a slightly lighter fabric on the inside of the zip - but you can't even see this when the zip is done up. The dark blue colour isn't particularly exciting either - and if you are walking in dark winter streets or country...
Published 2 months ago by Douglas Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good protection, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A typical good quality Berghaus product. The shell is lightweight in itself; but has provision for a fleece lining. I bought the lining separately and together they make a waterproof and warm jacket which I confidently expect to keep out the worst of winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bland uninspiring but practical jacket that does what it's supposed to - though very expensive for what it is, 14 Feb. 2015
I've had one of these for about six months. A not very glamorous and frankly bland jacket with no real design elements. The only noticeable thing is a slightly lighter fabric on the inside of the zip - but you can't even see this when the zip is done up. The dark blue colour isn't particularly exciting either - and if you are walking in dark winter streets or country lanes I strongly suggest you wear something reflective and lighter coloured trousers to avoid getting run over - as you basicly become invisible in this jacket at night. But it is longer than most jackets, which is good for harder weather conditions, and it is lightweight and so far durable and well made - this isn't a serious jacket though - so don't expect it to take much of a hammering (rough rocks will kill it in no time). If the rain is hard enough to get in to the side pockets, or you haven't fastened the storm flaps - then it will come through and soak your fleece and trousers, as the pockets are not Goretex on the inside. It does have the facility to zip a lightweight Berghaus fleece inside as a liner (I got one with it) - but I personally find this facility a bit of a gimmick and impractical and uncomfortable in practice - so I prefer to just put the jacket on over whatever fleece I am wearing instead. Because it is so lightweight it is good for rolling up small and putting in a daysack (if you haven't got the fleece liner zipped in). One thing about this jacket though which was a surprise - is the unbelievably huge chest pocket - it takes up half of the left side of the jacket - and this has proved surprisingly useful on numerous occasions. As to waterproofing - it's a Goretex jacket and does what it's supposed to, the hood is a fairly decent design too. But at £200 original retail price, it is very expensive for what it is - typical over inflated Berghaus prices as usual. Remember to get a jacket size big enough to get sufficient thermal layering underneath if you intend to go out in very harsh winter conditions - but if you intend winter mountaineering in this - buy something else :-). I've seen some of these going for £89 in sales - if you can get one at that price you've got yourself a real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent jacket for my son - he's off to Uni ..., 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent jacket for my son - he's off to Uni to study Geography and this is a suitable jacket for those field trips in the cold and wet! Longer in the body than most jackets and has a peaked hood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Husband, 28 Aug. 2014
By 
L. Highton (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband is thrilled with this jacket. It keeps him dry and warm when out with the dogs in bad weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Wrapped Up, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Used it up Snowdon and on a 26 mile hilly walk. Very good and looks good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great winter coat., 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great quality jacket just as i expected , and a good fit ,even with the fleece attached which is bought separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent waterproof jacket, 11 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this to replace my previous (and very similar) Berghaus shell jacket, which lasted about ten years. I go walking almost every weekend with a local walking group, and I walk to work, so the old jacket has seen much use.

I hope this one lasts as well as the previous one. So far it has proved very effective in the recent wet weather.

Note that this is not the latest version of the Berghaus cornice shell jacket, which is why it's more reasonably priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 2 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rustles too much and very high neck. Makes me feel that I can't look down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smart looking and waterproof, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a present for my brother who loves it. I also got him a Berghaus fleece which zips into it. He looks smart in it and finds it useful for all sorts of situations - walking, popping out to the shops etc. It is windproof which keeps him warm in the winter wind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you want from jacket to hike in..., 16 Feb. 2015
By 
A. Shelton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Needed to XL, which is at £200 on here - cheaper elsewhere if you look.
Very pleased - looks good; wore it today on a 2 hour hike in rain, wind and sunshine...
It kept me warm and dry inside and out.
Brilliant jacket for walking in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews