Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm only looking for fun...
As others have said, I was sceptical about the quality or necessity of yet another remastering of all the clash material.
I purchased this to sample the quality before deciding whether to shell out on the box set (not the sound system, I can't justify spending £100 and I'm a bit old for badges, posters, etc).
Not all tracks immediately struck me as vastly...
Published 14 months ago by Sergeant Fury

versus
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very odd track listing
I very much doubt if the track listing for disc 1, as posted here, is accurate: although a Clash version of Ave Maria would certainly be intriguing.
Published 12 months ago by E. R. Holland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SONGS, WRONG IDEA, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clash Hits Back (Audio CD)
The Clash's whole back catalogue is getting remastered and is available in various editions from the ultimate must-have 12 disc "Sound System" to each album studio album being available on their own as well as that they are also releasing "Hits Back" which (for the most part) replicates a gig they played in Brixton in the summer of 82.

While all these songs are all great it's a pity that it is all studio versions which really means that is just another in an already long list of Clash compilations that most long time Clash fans can easily put together as a playlist themselves as there is nothing here that has not been unavailable before. Of course if they could have found the live recordings that would be a totally different situation as it stands official live albums by The Clash stands at a measly two "From Here To Eternity" and "Live At Shea Stadium" so another live album would have been a welcome addition. Yes you do get a copy of the hand written Joe Strummer set list played that night and there is a whole bunch of extra tracks tacked onto the end of disc 2 to round out the set to give you 32 tracks in total.

So while the songs themselves are all great and as a long-time fan of The Clash I can appreciate it covers their early days of being a full on punk band to their latter days of experimenting with dance and Rap such as "The Magnificent Seven" and "This Is Radio Clash" showing how talented and diverse they had become over a short space of time, this collection is for collectors only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Back [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Excellent from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Back [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Great item, excellent service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clash Hits Back (Audio CD)
exactly what i expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the clash do hit back, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clash Hits Back (Audio CD)
I already have all these clash tunes but not on two discs
If you don't have any clash cd s then this is the compilation for you as it covers all the styles the clash were great at
Enjoy loud !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clash Hits Back (Audio CD)
This is a lesson in mastering. Quite simply the best in balanced sound quality. Stunning and fantastic track listing. Joe would be very happy with this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clash Hits Back (Audio CD)
brilliant tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars el clash combo!!, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clash Hits Back (Audio CD)
Can't give 5 stars as i didn't notice any sound improvement with the new remaster apart from tracks off the first 2 albums,the other later songs don't seem any different than the 1999 remaster! Packaging is fairly ordinary-this comp aimed at the 'casual' Clash fan like the previous Essential & Singles comps.If you're a die-hard get the Sound System box with all the extra stuff-a Clash fan delight!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars greatest hits!, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clash Hits Back (Audio CD)
love the clash and thought it would be different to a greatest hits compilation but it is not.no live tracks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl edition The Clash hits back!, 2 Oct 2013
By 
M. P. James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Back [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Bought this for my stepson. Arrived on time and well packaged. He reckons this is one of the best re-mastered albums he has heard! Great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hits Back
Hits Back by The Clash
Buy MP3 Album£8.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews