Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars33
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2013
This is a comprehensive collection of the album Benefit and the singles/B-sides that were produced in 1969-1970.
The main album has been remixed by Steven Wilson once again which improves the sound dramatically from the original CD release I also own.
The 2nd CD has all the mono mixes, singles, B-sides etc and some alternative versions which is ok to have if you are a collector. The big plus for me is the DVD in 5.1 mixed in 96/24 mHz digital audio.
The sound is stunning for a recording that was recorded on 8 track tape. This is a very enjoyable listening experience.
I have played the 5.1 mix several times and continue to hear small things that the CD does not reveal.
A must get for any Tull fans and music fans in general.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
In my opinion, this release sounds much better than last year's disappointing 'Thick As A Brick' reissue which, sadly, was spoiled by the rather muffled quality of the cymbals and drums.

This new 'Benefit' stereo mix has a very similar soundstage to the original but this time around each individual instrument is more defined and separated. A definite improvement.

The 5.1 version is a real treat to the ears! I hadn't previously realised how many guitar overdubs had been recorded originally, these are clearly audible through the various speakers. I particularly like the way the backwards flute on 'With You There To Help Me' appears from the rear right, while Martin Barre's wonderful guitar solo comes from the rear left. Great stuff!

It's also good to hear '17' in stereo (and 5.1) for the first time....and it's unedited as on the 'Sweet Dream' single (other versions of this song also appear here). The UK and US versions of 'Teacher' are excellent in 5.1.

My only disappointment is that the multitrack tape of 'The Witch's Promise' couldn't be located for this project so there's no remix treatment of this song unfortunately.

There are lots of other bonus tracks though and the booklet's very informative. All in all this is a very worthwhile release for JT fans like me!
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
They've done well with this re-issue. The booklet is very detailed, with interviews and recollections of the band and the album remaster sounds excellent.

The highlight for me is the 5.1 mix that comes with the bonus DVD. The sound is crisp and full, and is a fantastic effort as the liner notes say the original recordings were done on 8 track.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Released in April 1970, `Benefit' was Jethro Tull's third album after the successful but unremarkable R&B-themed debut `This Was' and its best-selling follow-up `Stand Up'.

It was on `Benefit' that the band finally found its definitive sound, introducing jazz-influenced syncopated rhythms and changes of pace, more complex song structures and thoughtful, clever lyrics. Flute, acoustic guitar and cascading piano runs share the soundscape with hard rock guitar and a tight but never over-dominant rhythm section. Every track is a star, and the album is a complete listening experience with a distinctive character unlike anything heard before or since; an album you can listen to year after year and always find something in the music you never heard before. It's full of distinctive individual songs, rather than (like the later `Thick as a Brick' and `Passion Play') an attempt at a single-story concept album. The result has more than a hint of that eccentric genius so characteristic of the best English rock music of the period: it stretches the envelope, breaks the rules and is anything but formulaic.

This 2013 `Collector's Edition' is remixed by sound wizard Steven Wilson, who has performed minor miracles with the classic King Crimson `40th Anniversary' series. It's presented in a fine 4-gatefold sleeve with the original vinyl album artwork, with three chunky plastic inserts for the disks (2x CDs & a sound-only DVD) and a fourth slot for a lavish 48-page booklet dominated by a long essay on the history of the recording of `Benefit' by Martin Webb. You also get an exhaustive track-by-track analysis, full details of the 1970 promotional tour, period photos of the band and shorter essays by manager Terry Ellis and Steven Wilson himself.

The first CD is the original album with its 10x tracks, plus 5 bonus tracks:

* Singing all Day
* Sweet Dream
* 17
* Both the UK and US single releases of `Teacher'

The second CD consists of 16x tracks of `associated recordings' including the promotional single `Benefit' issued to US radio stations in April 1970, and several different recordings of `The Witch's Promise' and `Teacher' together with alternative takes of the originally-released album tracks.

The sound-only DVD offers Steven Wilson's 2013 mixes in DTS and Dolby AC3 5.1 surround & stereo 96/24 LPCM, plus a flat transfer of the original LP master in 96/24 LPCM. The sound quality on the CDs is as clear and wonderful as we have come to expect from Wilson's recent work, but sonically the DVD is the star of the show, especially the DTS. Wilson has resisted the temptation to make everything loud, and the music retains all its glorious dynamics whilst (as he says) "preserving that 1969-70 sound".

All in all, this is an exemplary package of a delightful classic. If you're a younger music fan and don't know Jethro Tull's extensive back-catalog that well, this is a great place to start. If you're a Tull fan, then buying this ought to be a no-brainer.
77 comments|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When Tull fans clapped their weary lugs on Steve Wilson's spectacular Remaster of Jethro's legendary 1971 LP "Aqualung" – they promptly sat bolt upright and took notice. Since then there's been a steady stream of Wilson-wonders and now its time to get perpendicular again for "Benefit" - their under-appreciated 3rd album from the spring of 1970. Having lived with this multi-disc baby for some months now – there's no doubt in my mind that this 2013 '2CD/1DVD' overhaul is yet another sonic jewel in a growing crown of audio-restoration achievements. Here are the breathy details...

UK released 28 October 2013 (29 October 2013 in the USA) – "Benefit: A Collector's Edition" by JETHRO TULL on Warner Brothers/Chrysalis 825646413270 (Barcode is the same) is a 2CD + 1DVD Reissue/Remaster featuring 'New 5.1 & Stereo Mixes with Associated Recordings 1969-1970' and plays out as follows:

Disc 1 – The Steven Wilson 2013 Stereo Mixes (65:01 minutes)
1. With You There To Help Me
2. Nothing To Say
3. Alive And Well And Living In
4. Son
5. For Michael Collins, Jeffrey And Me
6. To Cry For A Song [Side 2]
7. A Time For Everything?
8. Inside
9. Play In Time
10. Sossity: You're A Woman
Tracks 1 to 10 make up their 3rd album "Benefit" – released 20 April 1970 in the USA on Reprise RS 6400 and 1 May 1970 in the UK (delayed from 24 April 1970) on Chrysalis/Island ILPS 9123.

EXTRA TRACKS:
11. Singing All Day (Stereo)
12. Sweet Dream (Stereo)
13. 17 (Stereo)
14. Teacher – (4:58 minutes, UK Single Version, Stereo)
15. Teacher – (4:03 minutes, US Album Version, Stereo)

Disc 2 – Associated Recordings 1969-1970 (58:28 minutes):
1. Singing All Day (Previously Unreleased 1969 Mono Mix)
2. Sweet Dream (Mono Single Mix)
3. 17 (Mono Single Mix)
Tracks 12 and 13 are the A&B-sides of a non-album UK 7" single released 17 October 1969 on Chrysalis/Island WIP 6070
4. Sweet Dream (Previously Unreleased 1969 Stereo Mix intended as a Promo)
5. 17 (Previously Unreleased 1969 Stereo Mix intended as a Promo, B-side of "Sweet Dream")
6. The Witch's Promise – Original 1969 Mono Mix used in Europe and USA - double A-side with "Teacher" (UK used the Stereo version, see Track 9)
7. Teacher - Original 1969 Mono Mix used in Europe and USA – double A-side with "The Witch's Promise" (UK used the Stereo version, see Track 10)
8. Teacher – US Album Version in Mono. Also issued as a double-A side with "The Witch's Promise" in Reprise Records territories
9. The Witch's Promise – original 1969 UK 7" single Stereo Mix issued 16 January 1970 on Chrysalis/Island WIP 6077, double-A with "Teacher"
10. Teacher - original 1969 UK 7" single Stereo Mix issued 16 January 1970 on Chrysalis/Island WIP 6077, Double-A with "The Witch's Promise"
11. Teacher – US Album Version, Stereo. Also issued as a US Promo 7" single with "Witch's Promise" on Reprise 0899
12. Inside (Single Edit, Mono) – Original 1970 UK 7" single Mono Mix/Edit – released May 1970 on Chrysalis/Island WIP 6081 – shorter in length to the LP version
13. Alive And Well And Living In (UK Single Mix, Mono) – released May 1970 on Chrysalis/Island WIP 6081 as the B-side to "Inside". A Stereo variant prepared in 1971 appeared on the 1972 double-album "Living In The Past"
14. A Time For Everything – A Mono Reduction of the 1970 Stereo Album Mix used on the Reprise Records LP - also a B-side to "Inside" in certain Reprise Records territories
15. Benefit AM Radio Spot No. 1 (Mono)
16. Benefit FM Radio Spot No. 2 (Stereo) – issued to US Radio Stations May/June 1970 on Reprise PRO 395

DVD, NTSC, All Regions (0), Aspect Ratio 16.9
Steven Wilson's 2013 Stereo Mixes of "Benefit" and 5 Extra Tracks in DTS and Dolby AC3 5.1 Surround & Stereo 96/24 LPCM (65:06 minutes)
Flat transfers of the Original UK and US LP Master in 96/24 LCPM (59:59 minutes)
Additional Tracks "Sweet Dream", "17" and "The Witch's Promise"
AUDIO Formats: DTS 96/24 5.1 Surround, Dolby AC3 5.1 Surround 96/24 Stereo LPCM

The 42-page booklet is superbly done and properly packed with fan-pleasing info. MARTIN WEBB gives a hugely detailed and deft history of that 'difficult' third album. After a successful tour supporting Led Zeppelin in the USA – Tull popped back to Blighty to record tracks. But the text cites Tull's inner-camp suspicion that singles were breaking the band. And even though the 45s were chart successes - the group felt it was album-buyers who loved them most (and they were proven right). Alongside all the discussion of American Tours and songwriting - you're treated to trade adverts for the LP (advertised as due 24 April 1970 but more likely to have arrived 1 May 1970) and rare Euro picture sleeves for "Sweet Dream" and "Witch's Promise/Teacher" (with or with the prefix 'The' on both tracks). On top of that there's caustic and witty track-by-track discussions by Ian Anderson (Lead Vocals, Flute, Principal Songwriter), Martin Barre (Guitars), Glenn Cornick (Bass) and Clive Bunker (Drums). It even references a 1999 interview with John Evans who was called in to lay down Piano and Organ (credited as John Evan on the LP). There's a 'Sessionography' page cleverly laid out in the text style of a Morgan Studios Tape Box (3 September 1969 to 25 February 1970), a list of US and UK Tour Dates for 1970, Terry Ellis notes on ‘Managing and Touring with Jethro Tull’ and finally STEVEN WILSON explanations on the Remasters in all its transfer complexity.

SOUND: I have to say that Wilson has once again done wonders with a Tull album. I’ve had my A1/B2 matrix LP of ILPS 9123 for way too many decades now and it's sounded brill – but these CD Remasters are glorious – full of warmth, detail and a musicality that I’ve not heard on any Previous CDs or Vinyl pressings. The Stereo imaging is noticeably better – not harsh left and right panning – but more centred. I don’t have a 5.1 system but a mate does and he’s been raving about the 'band in the living room' and sense of 'awe' that the Surround Mixes offer. Niggles – with all that effort and number of pages – it would have been good to include the lyrics this time around (songs like "For Michael Collins, Jeffrey And Me" cry out for it).

As you can see from Disc 2 – Jethro Tull 7" singles in the UK, USA and other territories (Europe and Japan) were released in a plethora of Mono and Stereo Mixes and Edit variants that dizzies the brain. I never knew that the Double-A of "The Witch's Promise" and "Teacher" was issued in Stereo in the UK but only as Mono in European countries - while our American pals had to wait until the 1988 "20 Years Of Jethro Tull" Box Set to get their Mono version. At least this comprehensive issue sorts that out and other odd LP anomalies. The Steve Wilson Stereo Mix of "Teacher" on Disc 1 (Track 14) that runs to 4:58 minutes is a fabulous sonic revelation. Nearly 50 seconds longer than the American Reprise Records album version – US fans are going to love that stretched out guitar and the beautiful remaster. The notes also advise that the mixes for "Singing All Day", "The Witch's Promise" and "Teacher" that appeared on the 1972 "Living In The Past" double-album were actually done in 1971 so that would make the 1999 Mobile Fidelity 2CD versions of them exclusive. They've even fixed 'pitch' mistakes on both versions of "Teacher" faultily recorded on 8-track at the time. And of course those Previously Unreleased versions are amazing finds after all these years.

That wild Flute & Vocals flourish that begins "With You There To Help Me" opens Side 1 with a sinister almost creepy song of longing. The Remaster really accentuates those acoustic guitar strums from Barre. "Nothing To Say" is probably the most Prog song on the album and a musical fave of Martin Barre – sounding bigger now than ever. "Alive And Well And Living In" was the first track I really liked on the album and it's funny to read that in 2013 - Ian Anderson would 'bin it!' according to his typically forthright liner notes. Dustbin or no - the remaster on "Alive And Well And Living In" is wonderfully clear – especially those piano and acoustic battles between John Evans and Martin Barre supported so sweetly by the rhythm section of Glenn Cornick and Clive Bunker. "Son" is a nasty and hard-rocking 'father and son' parable with treated Ian Anderson vocals and at 1:29 minutes suddenly breaks into the most brilliant music/lyrics/in/tandem refrain. The largely Acoustic "For Michael Collins, Jeffrey And Me" is brilliant - my personal poison for this LP. Written in the USA about the Moon Missions while they absorbed musical breakthroughs like the first Crosby, Stills & Nash LP – it has fabulous acoustic interplay between Anderson and Barre – and the Remaster is so damn good.

That Tull signature guitar sound opens Side 2 with "To Cry You A Song" – a song about displacement and being far away (three US tours) – and it continues with the 'little song' that is "A Time For Everything" – another Tull winner that straddles complex and simple in their strange song-structure way. Glenn Cornick rightly espouses his Bass line contribution to the superb "Inside" – but if I'm truthful I prefer the more prominent vocal on the Mono single mix. Funny how they all seem to hate "Play In Time" – a lyrical pun by Anderson on the difficulty of the band's time signatures. But I actually like its riffing guitars and mock Psychedelic sound effects. Even better is awesome audio quality to "Sossity: You're A Woman" – the album's accomplished finisher. Overall the whole LP transfer is a rip-roaring success to my ears...

Jethro Tull would go global in 1971 with "Aqualung" and rightly so. And it has to be truthfully said that Benefit's illustrious follow up is a better crop of songs and a more coherent LP in every way. But this fabulous 2013 reissue of 1970's "Benefit" should surely mean that this forgotten bow in Tull's arsenal of strings should be reappraised. Well done to all involved...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
Very much one of my big fave albums of Jethro Tull and one that had a much better original recording and production than Aqualung which followed, and strangely enough I always felt as if Aqualung always sounded as if it came before Benefit, and the material on Benefit was more of a way forward more so than what we got on the Aqualung album even thou I love both albums of coarse and everything they did in the 70's which was by far the bands best material.

This one I deffo feel is a must for 5.1 version even though I do feel Steve Wilson as done a superb job on the new mix. Personally I think the amount of bonus material on here is way over the top, and far too much of the same thing, and for me I doubt very much if CD 2 will get much benefit at all for my ears.

Why on earth bother with mono mixes I mean come on are we now expected to live with the dodo's. The fact that the 1st CD has got quite an amount of bonus material on it I think having a 2nd one was far too much, and even though I love the cracking songs that never made it on his studio albums and were mainly singles, I would of felt piling these perhaps on a collectors edition of say the compilation album Living In the Past would of been far more fitting.

Still gets 5 stars from me though and it's a lovely 5.1 mix done here by Wilson and he as utilised all 6 channels very well indeed, and done a superb job.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
The notes are comprehensive and interesting on the background to the album.
The comments from each band member on each track are illuminating.
I think the Steve Wilson remix makes the guitars a lot clearer and I like it.
Six versions of 'Teacher' is too many.

One for fans and collectors.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
One of tull's best albums gets the steve wilson makeover and what a great job the man has done! comparing this cd to my 1st pressing lp ( which is mint) I would have to say it is almost as good as it sonically speaking. Lovely 2nd cd of extras also very welcome! can' t comment on disc 3 as I do not have 5.1. Excellent notes round out a little gem of a re issue. Buy it and do yourself a favour! Tull show the way with these great re issues of timeless music. Good one Ian & Steve!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Fantastic! A marvellous album, and six whole incredible, raucous, visceral minutes of 17!!! I've alway's wanted more; I wonder is there anymore that's being held back for the 50th edition? 17 and The Teacher make this excellent compilation worth the price alone. The rest is merely brilliant. Keep 'em coming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
This is really a must have release for all Tull fans. My only problem is (as occurred with the Aqualung deluxe anniversary release, too), why on Earth cannot the lyrics be included? Anyway, it should be a must for any progressive rock releases.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)