Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the 2013 `Collector's Edition' of Jethro Tull's `Benefit'
Released in April 1970, `Benefit' was Jethro Tull's third album after the successful but unremarkable R&B-themed debut `This Was' and its best-selling follow-up `Stand Up'.

It was on `Benefit' that the band finally found its definitive sound, introducing jazz-influenced syncopated rhythms and changes of pace, more complex song structures and thoughtful, clever...
Published 12 months ago by The Guardian

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK
one of my favourite albums ever (not just Jethro) but unfortunately this is not much better than the reissue some years ago. Would have liked more demos or talk from Ian Anderson on the contents, instead we get 3-4 versions of singles which were issued around the time but have little relevance to Benefit. As for the DVD, how about concert material as per the recently...
Published 11 months ago by Robert Hill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the 2013 `Collector's Edition' of Jethro Tull's `Benefit', 28 Oct 2013
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benefit (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
Released in April 1970, `Benefit' was Jethro Tull's third album after the successful but unremarkable R&B-themed debut `This Was' and its best-selling follow-up `Stand Up'.

It was on `Benefit' that the band finally found its definitive sound, introducing jazz-influenced syncopated rhythms and changes of pace, more complex song structures and thoughtful, clever lyrics. Flute, acoustic guitar and cascading piano runs share the soundscape with hard rock guitar and a tight but never over-dominant rhythm section. Every track is a star, and the album is a complete listening experience with a distinctive character unlike anything heard before or since; an album you can listen to year after year and always find something in the music you never heard before. It's full of distinctive individual songs, rather than (like the later `Thick as a Brick' and `Passion Play') an attempt at a single-story concept album. The result has more than a hint of that eccentric genius so characteristic of the best English rock music of the period: it stretches the envelope, breaks the rules and is anything but formulaic.

This 2013 `Collector's Edition' is remixed by sound wizard Steven Wilson, who has performed minor miracles with the classic King Crimson `40th Anniversary' series. It's presented in a fine 4-gatefold sleeve with the original vinyl album artwork, with three chunky plastic inserts for the disks (2x CDs & a sound-only DVD) and a fourth slot for a lavish 48-page booklet dominated by a long essay on the history of the recording of `Benefit' by Martin Webb. You also get an exhaustive track-by-track analysis, full details of the 1970 promotional tour, period photos of the band and shorter essays by manager Terry Ellis and Steven Wilson himself.

The first CD is the original album with its 10x tracks, plus 5 bonus tracks:

* Singing all Day
* Sweet Dream
* 17
* Both the UK and US single releases of `Teacher'

The second CD consists of 16x tracks of `associated recordings' including the promotional single `Benefit' issued to US radio stations in April 1970, and several different recordings of `The Witch's Promise' and `Teacher' together with alternative takes of the originally-released album tracks.

The sound-only DVD offers Steven Wilson's 2013 mixes in DTS and Dolby AC3 5.1 surround & stereo 96/24 LPCM, plus a flat transfer of the original LP master in 96/24 LPCM. The sound quality on the CDs is as clear and wonderful as we have come to expect from Wilson's recent work, but sonically the DVD is the star of the show, especially the DTS. Wilson has resisted the temptation to make everything loud, and the music retains all its glorious dynamics whilst (as he says) "preserving that 1969-70 sound".

All in all, this is an exemplary package of a delightful classic. If you're a younger music fan and don't know Jethro Tull's extensive back-catalog that well, this is a great place to start. If you're a Tull fan, then buying this ought to be a no-brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Package, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benefit (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
They've done well with this re-issue. The booklet is very detailed, with interviews and recollections of the band and the album remaster sounds excellent.

The highlight for me is the 5.1 mix that comes with the bonus DVD. The sound is crisp and full, and is a fantastic effort as the liner notes say the original recordings were done on 8 track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benefit (DVD & 2 CDs), 9 Nov 2013
This review is from: Benefit (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
This is a comprehensive collection of the album Benefit and the singles/B-sides that were produced in 1969-1970.
The main album has been remixed by Steven Wilson once again which improves the sound dramatically from the original CD release I also own.
The 2nd CD has all the mono mixes, singles, B-sides etc and some alternative versions which is ok to have if you are a collector. The big plus for me is the DVD in 5.1 mixed in 96/24 mHz digital audio.
The sound is stunning for a recording that was recorded on 8 track tape. This is a very enjoyable listening experience.
I have played the 5.1 mix several times and continue to hear small things that the CD does not reveal.
A must get for any Tull fans and music fans in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid remixes!, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benefit (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
In my opinion, this release sounds much better than last year's disappointing 'Thick As A Brick' reissue which, sadly, was spoiled by the rather muffled quality of the cymbals and drums.

This new 'Benefit' stereo mix has a very similar soundstage to the original but this time around each individual instrument is more defined and separated. A definite improvement.

The 5.1 version is a real treat to the ears! I hadn't previously realised how many guitar overdubs had been recorded originally, these are clearly audible through the various speakers. I particularly like the way the backwards flute on 'With You There To Help Me' appears from the rear right, while Martin Barre's wonderful guitar solo comes from the rear left. Great stuff!

It's also good to hear '17' in stereo (and 5.1) for the first time....and it's unedited as on the 'Sweet Dream' single (other versions of this song also appear here). The UK and US versions of 'Teacher' are excellent in 5.1.

My only disappointment is that the multitrack tape of 'The Witch's Promise' couldn't be located for this project so there's no remix treatment of this song unfortunately.

There are lots of other bonus tracks though and the booklet's very informative. All in all this is a very worthwhile release for JT fans like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's all been Said, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benefit (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
Quite simply one of the greatest albums ever released by anyone, anywhere.
As powerful today as when I first bought it well over 40 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another brilliant steve wilson remaster!, 2 Nov 2013
By 
Alison E. O'Connor (melbourne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benefit (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
One of tull's best albums gets the steve wilson makeover and what a great job the man has done! comparing this cd to my 1st pressing lp ( which is mint) I would have to say it is almost as good as it sonically speaking. Lovely 2nd cd of extras also very welcome! can' t comment on disc 3 as I do not have 5.1. Excellent notes round out a little gem of a re issue. Buy it and do yourself a favour! Tull show the way with these great re issues of timeless music. Good one Ian & Steve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one for the fans, 12 Mar 2014
This review is from: Benefit (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
The notes are comprehensive and interesting on the background to the album.
The comments from each band member on each track are illuminating.
I think the Steve Wilson remix makes the guitars a lot clearer and I like it.
Six versions of 'Teacher' is too many.

One for fans and collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tull Collectable Dvd and Cd, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Eamonn Durning (2,Ashleigh Close, College Farm Road, Letterkenny, Co. Donegal Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benefit (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
A very good bargain for The Collectors edition of Jethro Tull's "Benefit".price was very good and I am very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Edition, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benefit (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
This is an excellent edition of one of the great TULL albums. Every aspect is covered. The price means incredible value for your buck. Congratulations to all concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic release with a flaw., 26 Nov 2013
By 
Zoltán Szávai (Budapest Hungary) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Benefit (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
This is really a must have release for all Tull fans. My only problem is (as occurred with the Aqualung deluxe anniversary release, too), why on Earth cannot the lyrics be included? Anyway, it should be a must for any progressive rock releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Benefit (Collector's Edition)
Benefit (Collector's Edition) by Jethro Tull (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews