Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric thriller that delivers.
The story is strong, well plotted, and opens for viewers speculation without loosing strength or direction all the way to the ending (where I was genuinely surprised). The setting is beautifully done. The house in which the story takes place is full of atmosphere and sett a chilling mood for the telling. Definitely a spooky place. The cast delivers strong, believable and...
Published 1 month ago by K. I. Refseth

versus
8 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea but...
The idea is very good and I'm assuming is inspired by the tragic Joyce Vincent case. The actual development and script however is very average and at times laughable. There is so many cliches that I lost count (every overweight person stuffs themselves with chocolate, apparently) and Russell Tovey is absolutely awful. A certain school photograph scene still has me...
Published 10 months ago by N. Forbes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Archer, 30 Sep 2013
By 
tallpete33 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
What Remains is a great bit of English drama that I thoroughly enjoyed. It is dark and bleak but not overly so, just an enthralling story concerning the tenants of a large London house.

When a young couple move into one the flats, water dripping through the ceiling leads Michael into the loft where a grisly discovery awaits. It is the heavily decomposed body of Melissa, another tenant who everybody thought had just "left the building" two years earlier but clearly had not. Enter DI Len Harper (Threfall) who takes on the sad case just days before his retirement. Lacking evidence of foul play it is soon on the back burner much to his disappointment.

Given a bow and arrow and his marching orders soon after, he has a nagging feeling about Melissa's sad demise and won't let it go despite not being a rozzer anymore. Failing to adjust to life outside the force he doggedly digs into her dusty flat and lonely existence forgetting to enlighten witnesses that he no longer has the authority to do so. Harper gradually discovers unsavoury connections with the other tenants that they had been unwilling to reveal - the drunken one-night stand, the co-erced photo shoot and the abusive teenager to name but a few. The motley array of tenants all have secrets to conceal and the web is skillfully woven and keeps you guessing as to who (if anyone) dunnit right up until the classy endgame.

A sad indictment of modern life where virtual friends are often paid more attention than real ones on your doorstep, this is hugely watchable all the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unflinching, 16 Sep 2013
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
Although this drama begins as a seemingly run-of-the-mill whodunit it quickly becomes apparent that it is in fact far superior to the usual morality tale with happy ending brought about by a renegade detective. The intertwining stories of these characters are gritty and expose uncomfortable truths about relationships and the private worlds that exist behind closed doors. The plot has been well crafted and the peformance of the cast is both moving and beguiling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tense drama, 16 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
Very tense thriller/drama with twists & turns around every corner. The body of Melissa Young is found in the attic of the shared house where she lived. Police think it could have been there for years yet no-one has noticed or even reported her missing. As the series goes on, we learn about the lives of those who shared the house with Melissa & after many red herrings & twists we finally learn her fate.
The series keep me intrigued throughout & by the end I had pointed the finger at the majority of the cast. David Threlfall as Len Harper the unwillingly retired detective was the star of the show for me but I was also impressed with Alexander Arnold's performance as the creepy teenage son Adam & downstairs neighbour Indira Varma (Elaine). Very gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling Drama, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
What remains is a brilliant BBC Drama. Thrilling up to the surprising end. It reminded me of living in a house with mad neighbours.Everyone has a secret to hide. I wanted to see this Series because of Steven Mackintosh, who i like so much, since i have seen him in Luther und Inside men. But all actors in this drama are brilliant. Dont't miss watching this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
Ooh this draws you in to the picture, very dark and clever (if you like "The Fall") then this is one for you too.Its nice to see David Threfall as a different character and not Frank Gallager
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Remains, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best dramas I've seen! Thank you. I love crime movies and this matched my expectations for 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Dec 2013
By 
J. R. Miles "Music novice" (sleaford england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
Great TV extremely well acted and gripping. really enjoyed every minute of it. Very well filmed from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fabulous, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent plot that left me exhausted as it drew to a conclusion. Wonderful acting. Must watch it again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this on telly but, my son missed it and so bought this as a xmas present. Arrived in excellent condition and on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Remains DVD, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the first two episodes on the television, but missed the last two, hence the purchase of this DVD.
Unfortunately the killing spree towards the end of the last episode, took it from what could have been reality and possible into fantasy realms, shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Remains [DVD]
What Remains [DVD] by David Threlfall (DVD - 2013)
19.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews