Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You're All Nicked!
This is a splendid piece of work as a body is found in a loft of a building split into a number of flats. The place has enough red herrings to start a small fish shop but gamely gives you every possible clue (and then a few more). Every flat-owner has issues. The investigating officer has a few of his own too, but is played with admirable calm by David Threlfall. In a...
Published 12 months ago by Charles Vasey

versus
9 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea but...
The idea is very good and I'm assuming is inspired by the tragic Joyce Vincent case. The actual development and script however is very average and at times laughable. There is so many cliches that I lost count (every overweight person stuffs themselves with chocolate, apparently) and Russell Tovey is absolutely awful. A certain school photograph scene still has me...
Published 17 months ago by N. Forbes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Serious and entertaining, 17 Jan. 2014
By 
Valentina D'urso "valentina" (Padova, Italy and Muenchen,, Germany) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
A very well written and conceived story. As a foreigner, I specially appreciated the language and the style. Serious and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I missed episode 4!, 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
I recorded and watched the first three episodes and as we were to be away for the fourth and final episode I set the recorder. On our return disaster! The recorder had let me down! To make matters worse the episode was no longer available on the iPlayer. Friends were sworn to secrecy as to what had happened, as I presumed it would be repeated. Then I saw that What Remains was available on Amazon.

I sent off for it. My husband (it is not his thing!) went to Spain to visit his mother and at last I could find out what happened. I watched the first three episodes and then the final one and my it did not disappoint. A totally unexpected series of events made this a brilliant drama.

The setting for this is house, where a diverse set of people live. The body of a woman is found in the loft and David Threlfall plays the detective who investigates, even after his retirement. A series of flashbacks shows the young woman when she was alive and living in the house.

Absolutely worth watching. I doubt whether anyone can foretell the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars briiliantly entertaining, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this on TV but couldn't wait to purchase it once it was released on DVD. Am so glad I did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Archer, 30 Sept. 2013
By 
tallpete33 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
What Remains is a great bit of English drama that I thoroughly enjoyed. It is dark and bleak but not overly so, just an enthralling story concerning the tenants of a large London house.

When a young couple move into one the flats, water dripping through the ceiling leads Michael into the loft where a grisly discovery awaits. It is the heavily decomposed body of Melissa, another tenant who everybody thought had just "left the building" two years earlier but clearly had not. Enter DI Len Harper (Threfall) who takes on the sad case just days before his retirement. Lacking evidence of foul play it is soon on the back burner much to his disappointment.

Given a bow and arrow and his marching orders soon after, he has a nagging feeling about Melissa's sad demise and won't let it go despite not being a rozzer anymore. Failing to adjust to life outside the force he doggedly digs into her dusty flat and lonely existence forgetting to enlighten witnesses that he no longer has the authority to do so. Harper gradually discovers unsavoury connections with the other tenants that they had been unwilling to reveal - the drunken one-night stand, the co-erced photo shoot and the abusive teenager to name but a few. The motley array of tenants all have secrets to conceal and the web is skillfully woven and keeps you guessing as to who (if anyone) dunnit right up until the classy endgame.

A sad indictment of modern life where virtual friends are often paid more attention than real ones on your doorstep, this is hugely watchable all the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Remains (DVD)
Great story and acting, Really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unflinching, 16 Sept. 2013
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
Although this drama begins as a seemingly run-of-the-mill whodunit it quickly becomes apparent that it is in fact far superior to the usual morality tale with happy ending brought about by a renegade detective. The intertwining stories of these characters are gritty and expose uncomfortable truths about relationships and the private worlds that exist behind closed doors. The plot has been well crafted and the peformance of the cast is both moving and beguiling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tense drama, 16 Sept. 2013
By 
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
Very tense thriller/drama with twists & turns around every corner. The body of Melissa Young is found in the attic of the shared house where she lived. Police think it could have been there for years yet no-one has noticed or even reported her missing. As the series goes on, we learn about the lives of those who shared the house with Melissa & after many red herrings & twists we finally learn her fate.
The series keep me intrigued throughout & by the end I had pointed the finger at the majority of the cast. David Threlfall as Len Harper the unwillingly retired detective was the star of the show for me but I was also impressed with Alexander Arnold's performance as the creepy teenage son Adam & downstairs neighbour Indira Varma (Elaine). Very gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
Very original. Fascinating and creepy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
Great Viewing, thoroughly enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dvd what remains, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Remains [DVD] (DVD)
very good story well worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Remains [DVD]
What Remains [DVD] by David Threlfall (DVD - 2013)
£8.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews