Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Acerbic and original look at Dylan
This is a complex, beautifully written, at times exhausting biography of Bob Dylan which does things differently. Bell has carried out no interviews. All the anecdotes come from other biographies and from interviews with Dylan. So, at times, Bell seems to be critiquing Shelton, Heylin, Howard Sounes, Michael Gray and many more. Bell gives us the standard version and then...
Published on 10 Oct. 2012 by Mick Gold

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but...
..flawed, I would say. On the positive side I really appreciate getting a lot of background - both musically and historicaly. Here, I'd say the biography is unsurpassed. On the not so good side, I really find it rather infuriating how the author makes a very simple point and manages to stretch it out over maybe twenty pages, sometimes more. Dylan changed his name. Right...
Published 20 months ago by helen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars embraced as true was Dylan's alleged love of Robbie Burns, 18 Sept. 2014
The only fact about Dylan which Ian Bell, a Scottish, Edinburgh based writer, embraced as true was Dylan's alleged love of Robbie Burns! According to Bell, this was absolutely true. Dylan loved and loves Burns writing!! Everything else which had previously been written over the years by people who knew Bob Dylan, had interviewed and written about him , Bell mocked and derided. And here's the thing, Bell didn't conduct a single interview with Dylan! The history and background to the singer songwriter's songs and poems were well researched and interesting however which is why I have given the book 3 stars. But what a biased account. Who has the right to say with any authority as Bell does in this book that all the other facts written in hundreds of accounts of this great man were false? I found his writing intensely biassed and irritating although I did finish the book. But it was hard hard work and very anti English which surprised me somewhat as the book is a biography about an American!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once Upon a Time, You Feel So Fine, 15 Nov. 2012
"Once Upon a Time: The Lives of Bob Dylan", the title says a lot about the book Ian Bell has written. A lot. This is a tremendous book in it's research and just plain prose writing; it is critically analytic. It's a pleasure and instructive to read. The historicity seems to be very well researched. As a fan of Dylan who has not even heard all of his music, what I do know Bell gets quite right.

That said: what gets said by Bell as well seems a bit petulant to put it mildly as he slowly berates Dylan for his song pilferage or plagiarism, for Dylan's "expansive" self-histories, the "borrowed" records and Dylan's manipulations of the press that are at once cruel and self-promoting. Dylan reworked a lot of stuff and put his stamp on it; and, perhaps more importantly, he did it at the right place and at the right time.

It's good to be lucky and Dylan made the best of the luck he'd made and stumbled upon; (it feels like Bell thinks this is unjust or unfair). It seems that from about age 19 Dylan just "got it" all very naturally just like Morrison did later when it came to dealing with the press; not many people did. The crushing press and public spotlight doomed many, many more to short public lives. It also seems a little inexcusable when Bell criticizes Dylan on account of his father's death for his lack of creativity in the 70's. Despite all of his prior "dis-owning" of family Dylan did, the fact that Dylan flew his mom and dad to see him "make it finally" (a condition his father tried to apply earlier) to his first New York Carnegie Hall show argues loudly against the creative lies he told the press about them; it's kind of funny now reading about the BS Dylan was slinging to anyone who would listen and write it down for further consumption. But when Bell implies some deep family hatred as symptomatic of Dylan's faults it is a bit much ( who can claim to not have any family issues?). On father/son conflicts: Show me a son who hasn't got 'em; Freud said a fathers death for a son is the greatest of psychological events, the most traumatic. Does Bell really hold Dylan up to so high a standard fairly?

Largely, Bell thinks Dylan's behavior was calculated, coldly and clearly: the plagiarism the little family lies, etc. Well, he did do that stuff. But, it's as though Bell thinks Dylan planned all of his actions in advance even though he finally get's Dylan to admit late in the book that all his 60's work was unconscious and that he only became conscious some time in the 70's. Dylan was all of 19 when he rolled into New York City. Bell wants to hold Dylan to account for actions all of us have made without plan, or, at least it seems that way in retrospect: anyone who has made it to be 60 or so can look back and wonder how it is exactly they got to where they are and as to how much it was all planned out. It's doubtful many can take the position and say it happened just as planned even AFTER they became conscious of self. Who of us are not driven by unconscious desires and fears? Jimmie, Janice and Jim couldn't make it past their 27th birthday while "doing time in the universal mind" as Jim put it.

Being the center of attention places even more strain on one man's life: being in the spotlight is no easy task and performing "thoughtfully" all of the time cannot be expected either, quite the contrary (unconsciously is more like it). Dylan managed to ride this chiming freedom flashing well; he's still doing it to some extent now 50 years later. Bell should perhaps be less critical of Dylan but it seems to give him focus; it is perhaps necessary. It's OK (Ma); the book is well worth the read, if you have an interest in Americana, and, especially the history surrounding the era. Bell's knowledge of "the times", music, poetry and writing in general is admirable; it's huge. This is a very, very good book; a great read and worth the effort. (The book covers Dylan's career to age 34. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Verbose but nevertheless full of "Factoids", 29 Oct. 2013
By 
J. H. Mccarthy "Rex Glevi" (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon a Time: The Lives of Bob Dylan (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book although it is definitely for those who are into minutiae! It is also "poetically" verbose so if you are just after facts then this is not for you. It moves along quite slowly yet doesn't become boring. There are a lot of background filling details which although interesting in themselves do make the book much longer than it could otherwise have been. I think this is definitely for the "Bobcats" and not for the general reader...... Me? I'm a Bobcat. He made my youth in the 1960s so enjoyable: and "No"...I was not one of those who disliked "Electric Bob". As a Brit I loved everything that Bob did in the 1960s, 1970s, 1980s and so on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Bobness., 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon a Time: The Lives of Bob Dylan (Kindle Edition)
Ian Bell has written a very fine look at the early life of The majestic Bob Dylan. He has managed to squeeze even more mileage out of a car that I had long since thought to be near the end of the road. Not to be missed by all Bob fanatics like myself!! Peace to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book about Bob Dylan yet!, 6 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. R. Nightingale (Sunny Stockport!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
During the last 20 years so many books have been written about Bob Dylan, it's become exhausting. However, Ian Bell has done some incredible research and new interviews and managed to come up with the most revealing and rivetting book about Dylan ever published. Beautifully written, he also poses some interesting questions too. Some unanswered, but that just adds to the mystique that often surround this period in Dylan's life. Concentrating on Dylan's beginnings and running through to the masterwork that is Blood On The Tracks, I found it hard to put the book down. This is volume 1 of a 2 volume work. I can't wait for volume two to be published, as I'm sure it will carry on the great work achieved here. Clinton Heylin, you've just been knocked off your throne! Ian Bell has written a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read many many biographies over the years. This is one of the better ones.
Nothing startling new for a Dylan obsessive like me, but it is well written and has insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have many books on Dylan but this still manages to provide new information. An excellent read which is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Softcover not available in US yet--love it. Looking forward to the chapter 2 of this series in paper back soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A huge disappointment, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An incredibly opininiated book with no room for dissension which is grossly overwritten. Charity shop , here it comes today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Busy to Burn, 21 Nov. 2013
Insanity is believing that...

A human being can create art...

Insanity is knowing Bob Dylan can't hold a note...

And calling him a great artist...

Insanity is his response to the Holocaust...

"I resented it"

Insanity, Robert Allen Zimmerman...

Or how the Holocaust...

Just ain't your bag...

Insanity...

Too Busy to Burn Or How Bob Dylan...

Can't Make the Trek to Honor Auschwitz Victims...

Insanity is a just another gig...

Who else but Dylan is there?

Chris Roberts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews