Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immensely enjoyable,with room for improvement.....
Fast moving and full of action and intrigue,this 1st season has plenty going for it with the potential for something special if the writers of the storylines broaden the premise that they have set up.

Leiv Schreiber plays the eponymous role with sensitivity,both brutal and hard when necessary and with a gentleness that's almost embarassing when confronting his...
Published 29 days ago by robert stirling

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as expected
I purchased this based on the 5 star reviews. Yes - I suppose it's OK. Am I waiting to get Series Two. No!. It is hard to put a finger on what is wrong with it. Too much explicit sex? Well I purchased Boardwalk Empire Series One at the same time, again based on a friend's recommendation, and the explicit sex is just as bad or worse so perhaps this is now the trend...
Published 21 days ago by Brian J.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immensely enjoyable,with room for improvement....., 22 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Fast moving and full of action and intrigue,this 1st season has plenty going for it with the potential for something special if the writers of the storylines broaden the premise that they have set up.

Leiv Schreiber plays the eponymous role with sensitivity,both brutal and hard when necessary and with a gentleness that's almost embarassing when confronting his own family at times.

Ray Donovan is the 'fixer',a man who solves the problems of the Hollywood rich,famous and degenerate for a price;undoubtably the old film studios did this kind of work since the invention of celluloid over 100 years ago,hiding the misdemeanors of the stars who were contracted to the studios.
For instance not many people knew that Errol Flynn often had sex with under-age girls(at that time 16years old)until he was eventually taken to court and charged with statutory rape,or that James Dean and Rock Hudson were rampantly gay during the height of their careers,when homosexualty was frowned upon.All hidden by the Mr Fixits of Universal,MGM,Warner,Fox,etc.

Donovan's clientele include sports and pop stars which gives this series huge potential.

Unfortunately,in my view,the 1st season got bogged down with too much involvement with some members of the Donovan family:the threads involving his wife and daughtor reminded me of the waste of screen time enjoyed by Jack Baur's wife and daughtor in 24: Season One DVD Collection [DVD] (memory loss of wife,daughtor caught up in a supermarket seige etc.???).

But thats my personal opinion and maybe the writers and producers will learn from their research exactly what drives the popularity of season 1---I certainly think this show could and will run and run.
Jon Voight is creepily superb playing the role of Mickey,Ray's father.
As is Eddie Marsan (Who?Terry,Ray's brother). He is the obligatory Brit in the cast and has had very minor roles in many soaps and films over the years:here at last is a meaty role for him to show his talent(not easy, cast as a punch-drunk ex-fighter).But he has stepped up to this high profile(for him)slot excellently----a dream break for him I'd say.Well done,Eddie.

Excellent and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Liev Schreiber, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
And so I took a chance on this although I hadn't heard of it before.It's well cast - all the characters are completely convincing. The plot is gripping and Liev Schreiber commands your sympathy despite his violent approach to problem solving. Would highly recommend. Can't wait for series 2 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A world where money can fix any indiscretion, 20 Aug 2014
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Ray Donovan drama series is a narrative that deals with the problems and possible scandals of the rich and famous of Los Angeles. These people need their problems to disappear, and this is when they hire Ray Donovan (Liev Schreiber) a as Hollywood “fixer” extraordinaire. However, the return of his ex-convict father (Jon Voight) brings unsettled and complications issues that Ray may not be able to fix. Where Ray excels at solving other people’s problems, it’s the problems closer to home that seem to be the most daunting and difficult for him to resolve, or control. Ray’s regular business of fixing the major screw-ups of the opulent and well-known, he is aided by a tight team of consisting primarily of Avi (Steven Bauer) and Lena (Katherine Moennig).

Elliott Gould as Ezra Goldman plays, a confidant, collaborator and patron of Ray’s - but who is slowly losing his rationality. Then there is Rays’ wife Abby (Paula Malcomson) who wants to be part of the good life in Los Angeles. Abby has an almost obsessive need to push - to attain more and more has stressed their relationship. Then of course there are their two children who are rather impressionable. Bring into the mix Rays’ dysfunctional siblings and a father (who Ray wants to keep well away from) who has just left prison who is both devious, a prime manipulator and petty criminal Mickey played aptly by Jon Voight.

The series has the cultural sub-text of being Boston Irish, Catholicism, church abuse, old- family roots versus the fresh-start and new beginnings of California. It’s a culture clash that adds that extra depth to the series. As creator and writer Ms Ann Biderman has fashioned a testosterone driven, coarse and clever series, which seems to break new ground for good drama – a rather addictive series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "It coulda been a contender...", 4 Aug 2014
This review is from: Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A mix of The Sopranos and Brotherhood with a soupcon of Entourage this eminently watchable Showtime series is soldily made but gets bogged down too much with the family dynamics of the Donovans (shades of the similarly named/themed "Black Donnelly`s"). The programme-makers imagine we`ll find the internecine ructions of the family as interesting as the Hollywood backdrop that Ray operates so violently within. They`re wrong and as a result we spend far too much time in Ray`s brother`s boxing gym and sorting out the hopelessly broken life of his other brother Bunchy. Jon Voight redeems much of this family [melo]drama with an outstanding career-best performance as RD`s father, fresh out of jail and causing mayhem from the first ep. Good series overall but not brilliant - Here`s hoping they get the balance right in season 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best new TV box set, 13 Feb 2014
This review is from: Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved Ray Donovan!

I was worried I was running out of a next great TV show to watch (being a massive Dexter and Breaking Bad fan) but I've found it in Ray Donovan.

Gritty, gripping well-acted and I can’t wait until season 2 starts. A must have for any TV fan wanting to get into the next best thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series!, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Really liked this when it was one and going back and watching again just confirms it. Would recommend this to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like the concept of the sopranos you might like this, 12 Jan 2014
This review is from: Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Ray Donovan (Liev Schreiber) is about a guy who has a role of " a mister fixit " for a law firm, he fixes problems for his firms clients, but like the Sopranos, all the episodes deal with his family/personal situations as well, the main one being the story behind the release from prison of his father (Jon Voight), and a dark secret involving his brothers/sister. I was hooked from episode 1, the acting is fantastic, the story is deeply riviting and i look forward (hopefully) to a second series.

for more info go here [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 28 Jun 2014
By 
Ms. M. C. Lynch "sales" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this... brilliant characterisation and well acted. Jon Voight and Liev Schreiber are so enjoyable to watch. Can't wait for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best series of 2013 by a mile, 21 Feb 2014
By 
Geraint Davies "sad old git" (marches) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the first episode found it just ok but then no2 just took off. John voight gives an acting master class
The whole cast is excellent. If series two is as good this might just replace boardwalk empire as my favorite from the
Last ten years or so. If you've not seen it yet get it ASAP. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant show!!!, 20 Feb 2014
This review is from: Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Quality show, I was addicted from episode one!! Season two can't come soon enough!! Up there with the sopranos, the wire and boardwalk empire in my opinion!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD]
Ray Donovan - Season 1 [DVD] by Liev Schreiber (DVD - 2014)
20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews