Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another enthralling book from Elizabeth Gill
An excellent book which I struggled to put down with twists and turns you would never expect. I was sorry when I finished it
Published 14 months ago by Stephen Dent

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lost Lives
Set in the period immediately following the First World War this is the story of Lucy Charlton, the daughter of a solicitor who is studying at Durham University. The fall of poor Lucy is a shocking one and the consequences are not hers alone.

Joe went off to fight in the war against the wishes of his father who had bought him up in London on his own since the...
Published 14 months ago by C. Bannister


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another enthralling book from Elizabeth Gill, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book which I struggled to put down with twists and turns you would never expect. I was sorry when I finished it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing better, 11 Mar. 2014
By 
Mrs. Mary Grant "Mary" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton (Kindle Edition)
I love Liz's stories with the background of Co Durham. In this book I fell in love with the characters which I could easily imagine in the lovely old city with the cathedral towering on the skyline -what a setting. A book to take you out of yourself. Keep writing Liz we're waiting....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful story, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton (Kindle Edition)
Elizabeth Gill has done it again. Another book you cannot put down, filled with passion and glorious writing. Should be a winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As always.., 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton (Kindle Edition)
Another brilliant story from Elizabeth Gill. Like the rest of her books, it was hard to put down. Interesting how everything works out and a very enjoyable read. Hope it's not too long before Ms Gill pens her next book. Totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton (Kindle Edition)
This book was very good and I could not put it down I have read quite a few of her books and enjoyed them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant read from an author at the top of her game, 28 Feb. 2014
By 
P. Ashley "aka trisha ashley" (Conwy United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton (Kindle Edition)
This is classic Elizabeth Gill, but as always there are new elements, new twists and turns, to keep me enthralled. Well researched and believably set in its place and time, Lucy Charlton is a heroine we can all sympathise with and root for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, 9 Feb. 2014
By 
Yvonne (loughborough ; leicester ' england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton (Kindle Edition)
This is my third elizabeth gill book I have read wonderful reading going to read all her books love her style of writing very refreshing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For dog and north east lovers everywhere, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful story set in magical locations in the north east. My favourite character being Frederick who reminded me of my childhood. Couldn't put it down and found Joe's story unpredictable and kept me guessing. I have read everything . Liz gill has written and can truly recommend all her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lost Lives, 23 Feb. 2014
By 
C. Bannister (Jersey, CI) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton (Kindle Edition)
Set in the period immediately following the First World War this is the story of Lucy Charlton, the daughter of a solicitor who is studying at Durham University. The fall of poor Lucy is a shocking one and the consequences are not hers alone.

Joe went off to fight in the war against the wishes of his father who had bought him up in London on his own since the death of his mother. When Joe returns he finds he has lost not only his father but also his fortune and his girlfriend. His fortune he accepts as lost forever, he has letters from his father which he ekes out through the course of the story reading one on my reckoning every three months or so, but he will not accept the loss of Angela. He is determined to find out what has happened to her.

This tale is told from the viewpoints of Lucy and Joe over a period of years as their lives are intertwined by some of the minor characters in the book, some of whom are delightful like the Misses Slater who Lucy helps when she finds them in straightened circumstances.

The parts I was less enamoured with is the fact that Joe ‘sees things!’ Not only that but you would not believe the number of dreams that are mentioned in this book! This either results with the character on awakening suddenly knows something that was either already obvious, or conversely, leads to the next big discovery which moves the plot along.

As a romance I am sure this book works well, as a historical romance the actual historical details were quite light. No-one except Joe seems to have fought in the war nor does it appear to have had a huge impact on their lives which was disappointing for me as this was why I chose to read this particular novel.

I received a free copy of this book from Quercus in return for my honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 9 Sept. 2014
The year is 1920, a time when young ladies were meant to be happy to aspire to be good homemakers and wives. However, Lucy Charlton is different. From an early age, Lucy has aspired to be a solicitor, spending time at her father's practice when most girls of her class were at home learning sewing, painting and housekeeping skills. On the eve of her sister's wedding an event happens which sees all of Lucy's dreams and aspirations extinguished in a flash.
Joe, has returned to London from the horrors of the trenches only to find that everything has changed and his life will never be the same again. He discovers that he has been left a house in Durham by a mysterious benefactor. As Joe moves to Durham to start his life over - the worlds of Lucy and Joe collide and friendship blossoms but this is short lived as the past comes back to haunt both of them.
A superb read - this is more than just a saga. It explores the role of women at the start of the 20th century as well as offering a gripping mystery storyline.
I really glad that I picked up this book after reading a review of it. It is a shame that the cover makes it look like an family saga Catherine Cookson type book because it isn't and would certainly appeal to a younger age group than the cover suggests!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton
£3.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews