Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful emotional roller coaster, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes of The Line (Kindle Edition)
Heroes of The Line is a wonderful small e-book with a big heart. Addington's description of his cycle ride across the trench lines of the Western Front is a warts-an-all diary of the journey; Brutally honest (especially when he talks about how unfit/unprepared he was) and often funny, his writing style transports you to directly onto the French and Belgian roads so you get the feeling you are pedaling with him. In contrast, his treatment of the eight `Heroes' is respectful and insightful, giving the reader a glimpse into what ordinary soldiers and officers on both sides (there is a German soldier included too) went through. These stories both inspiring and sad at the same time.

The mix of the diary and the soldier stories works really well and there is the added warm feeling that you have contributed to a great charity in the Royal British Legion. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heroes of the Line, 1 July 2014
By 
I. McCulloch "SempaiScuba" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heroes of The Line (Kindle Edition)
This is the story of an adventure. It is the tale of a gruelling cycle ride along the entire Western Front of the First World War, from the Vosges Mountains on the Swiss border to the Belgian coast. But it is also something much more, because along the way, Scott tells the stories of nine men who fought in the war but who never came home.

Scott tells the story of their journey in a very accessible, reader-friendly way. The two men were cycling the length of the Western Front to raise money for the British Legion. Scott is almost brutally honest about how under-prepared, under-equipped and unfit they were at the start of the challenge. The account is both entertaining and engaging, letting the reader share the moments of exhaustion, frustration and humour with the two cyclists. It goes without saying that this should be a must-read for anyone contemplating a similar journey.

The stories of the nine eponymous "Heroes of the Line", seven British, one Irish, and one German are interspersed through the journey. They are told with respect and give the reader a brief insight into what the officers and men of both sides went through during that terrible conflict. The stories are both inspiring and very, very sad.

I really enjoyed this book. The fact that every sale of the book raises much needed funds to support the work of the British Legion is just the cherry on the cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An epic journey through an epic landscape, 7 Feb. 2014
By 
Mrs. G. Mawson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heroes of The Line (Kindle Edition)
The book tells of a great adventure of a gruelling cycle ride alolng the entire Western Front, but also tells the story of eight men who fought in the war but never came home. Once the book is picked up, it is difficult to put it down. I have visited some of the places mentioned in the book and Scott captures the atmosphere perfectly. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heroes of the Line, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes of The Line (Kindle Edition)
Scott Addington is an enthusiastic amateur military history with a strong presence on Twitter and someone keen to make the complex world of military history understandable to the ordinary person. As such he has produced an interesting general account of WW1 and a good iPhone App using infographics; he currently has some more titles in the pipeline for the WW1 Centenary.

This book is somewhat different as it chronicles a journey he made and which few ever have - following the entire length of the Western Front from the far end in the Vosges mountains on the border of Switzerland up to the Belgian coast where it petered out in the sand. The journey was made in October and November 2009 and rather than walk it as others, such as Nigel Jones, have done they instead decided to cycle the route. The book is an entertaining and engaging account of this journey, and regular visitors to the battlefields will find much to enjoy here. It is not a literary masterpiece but it is a good read and gives an insight into the changing, and often challenging nature of the Great War battlefields. One of its strengths is that it dips in and out of personal stories of men connected to the places Scott and his friends visited; these are the `heroes of the line'; and in some cases he goes into great detail about them. A recommended title for anyone even remotely thinking of a similar journey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heroes of the line, 18 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Heroes of The Line (Kindle Edition)
Heroes of the line - Scott Addington
First off I would like to saw wow! What an adventure this book tells. From the makeshift `Satnav' to a hit and run incident, so to speak, with an elderly Frenchman but still able to portray a message and stories of those men who willingly enrolled to lay down their lives fighting for their king and country.
This book tells the tale of an epic bike journey up the First World War western front starting at Franco-Swiss border and ending very aptly on the 11th November in Ypres. Whilst this book is told in a chronological fashion, describing the adventures of two men's journey down the western front, it is also able to include 8 heroic short biographies of soldiers ranging from high ranking officers to pilots on both the German and British side to regular infantry.
The book is written in a very easy, reader-friendly way that allows one to get easily stuck in and engrossed in the journey. It also goes without saying that although Mr Addington is able to use humour in his writing and express the lighter side of a mates cycling holiday, there is still an underlying sombre tone due to the path and footsteps they were following.
Having been to some of the towns and war graves mentioned, I can empathise with the feelings and experiences of the story and felt like I was part of the journey while reading this. There were many engaging sections of the journey that i could relate to, from being declined entry to a supermarket in the middle of the day to the emotion sparked by the Menin Gate memorial service.
At this point I would also like to add that this trip was not only put together for the enjoyment of the author but also because both men were looking to raise funds for the British Legion and for every e-book bought around £1 goes straight to the charity.
Heroes of the line was a very enjoyable read and one I would highly recommend not simply because of the epic journey and incredible stories that it tells but also because of the reason the journey and book were written- to help those who have fought for our today. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr Addington for a truly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable from the first pedal to the last puncture, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes of The Line (Kindle Edition)
Lovely, and easy to read, road trip along the battle lines of World War One tales of broken spokes and smelly fleeces mixed with tales of some of the heroes of the Great War
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Both lighthearted and serious perspective on a major moment in history, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes of The Line (Kindle Edition)
To begin with, I was really intrigued about the idea of 'riding the line'. That intrigue morphed into an emotional rollercoaster as the author easily moves between the seriousness of the issue at hand to a whimsical description about the trip itself. What really brought it alive were the stories of soldiers from both sides of the line. It really paints a picture in the mind.

Easy to read, great pictures. Enjoyable!

I'm glad the Royal British Legion get the profits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Humorous, informative, moving and raising money for a great cause, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes of The Line (Kindle Edition)
This is a funny and very honest account of a 580 mile bike ride along the Western Front raising money for the British Legion. Interspersed with the stories of some of the heroes from the Great War. A great read for virtually all ages it brings a very different perspective.

Buying this book raises money for the British Legion a fabulous charity and costs you less than a high street coffee !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect combination, 25 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Heroes of The Line (Kindle Edition)
This was a nice, quick, fun-filled charity read. For less than the cost of a takeaway coffee, you get 1)humorous account of the journey 2) bios of some of the greatest heroes (in my mind) 3) the warm knowledge you've given to charity.

Scott has written a few books, and I'm happy to say that I'll be taking a look at them too, I'm not a huge history buff, but I like to read what I can, when I can in bitesize chunks - and I think Scott's style is spot on.

Two thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes of The Line (Kindle Edition)
I was pointed in the direct of this book via a different social networking site, and I'm glad that I took the time to read the book and review. The author, Scott Addington (biography below), put together an ebook describing his charity ride along the entire WWI Western Front. Just under 600 miles of gruelling terrain and breathtaking countryside.
The book is short, around 100 pages I believe, and feels like a humorous diary. There's an easy tone in Scott's authorial voice, and I found it to be a smooth read. It disheartening and all too real to read about how some companies failed to put their hand in their pocket. Every penny helps, and for large corporations, charity donations are tax deductible, so in some ways - there's no excuse... Anyway, back to the book.

The first section fully explains the route he took (with his friend Steve) and then comes the day by day diary of cycling and interaction with the locals. This was fun, but for me - the real interest comes with the biographies of fallen soldiers, their photos and then pictures of their graves. It's amazing to read about heroes, real heroes, not celebrities, and being reminded that these men sacrificed their lives for their country. Poignant.
Personally, I think including photos of the gravestones was a great contrast to the joviality of the first third of the diary. It reminds the reader just why Scott and Steve put themselves through the challenge: Money for the British Legion - a fine, fine charity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heroes of The Line
Heroes of The Line by Scott Addington
£2.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews