Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars110
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2013
This free ep is just a great way to find out about a great new bluesy rock rock band. The 3 songs here 2 from the new album and one from the first EP are delivered with power style and real talent. If this band does not get some real success then there is no justice and the music world is doomed!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
An english band with an american feel for the blues great tunes, great playing, great vocals this band are the real deal unlike some in the past who have flattered to deceive these guys know how to do the blues cant wait for the album.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
For what it's worth, the following is a review of the July gig of The Temperance Movement in Exeter where amongst other comments I observe how much I'd like to hear a live recording [as I'm sure many have felt lucky enough to see them live]. And now we have one - only three tracks, including 'Chinese Lanterns', but getting there:

There's a scene in the recent Eagles documentary where a key point in the band's rise to stardom is plotted as the moment producer Glyn Jones heard them singing a cappella harmony and decided that this was the sound to define them as a band. Up to that point he hadn't been overly keen on their rock aspirations, and the fact they never became an ostensibly rock band is apparently a fact Glenn Frey and Don Henley rue to this day.

At tonight's outstanding The Temperance Movement gig at the Cavern , Exeter, there was a moment where the band went `off mic' to sing their song 'Chinese Lanterns' and the five part [with one guitar] a cappella harmony was as exquisite as anything the Eagles can do, and yet this occurred within the context of the band's absolutely stonking rock-core performance. Indeed, the band happily cited influences such as Little Feet, The Allman Brothers and The Rolling Stones - and my goodness they have the credentials and talent to write and perform songs bearing those influences with panache - and yet I also heard the harmonies of the Eagles and America to name but two obvious echoes.

I had wondered before hearing them live if there would be a guitar focus too. Their excellent EP 'Pride' obviously features the fine work of Luke Potashnick and Paul Sayer, but not the kind of soloing you might get played live. I'm still buzzing with the delight to observe that the band's individual and dual guitar work is stunning. There was plenty of slide as well as sharp playing from both, but on the slow number 'Smouldering', Luke and Paul played an extended and deeply layered guitar duet that reminded of the very best of the past when such breaks were expected as well as lauded from the great rock bands of the 60s/70s.

Fronted by Glaswegian `spokesperson' [his jest], but more importantly exceptional vocalist Phil Campbell, The Temperance Movement played a stunning set in, as Paul rightly described it, the `classic' small but atmospheric Cavern venue where such a performance resonates because of that size but also the history and vibe inherent in such an environment. Campbell's singing is itself `classic' when heard on record/cd, but he can certainly deliver and sustain this live, moving effortlessly and emotively between ballads and rock stormers. Nick Fyffe's bass and Damon Wilson's drumming are integral parts of the consummate tightness of the band as a whole, and as already stated, all members can and do contribute beautiful vocal harmonising.

They certainly deserve their own much bigger stardom and success in the near future. With their first album due out in September, and the continued support of Planet Rock, one would hope this will happen. I certainly feel the retro-rock tag is inappropriate for The Temperance Movement who displayed for me in this gig more breadth and sense of self than that label can embrace. As I said, the band seems content with and enthused by the influences that shape their sound, accepting the lineage and its roots.

And if I could exploit that sense of being rooted, to a degree, in the past, I'd urge them to bring out a live album as soon as possible! Having invoked The Allman Brothers Band who brought out At Filmore East three years into their career, perhaps TTM could resurrect this once quite common tradition from rock's heyday. I'd certainly love to have a recording of tonight's gig or similar as it was one of the best I have attended in a long time of enjoying live music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Fantastic - a 'new' band with such a future ahead of them. Lets hope they never lose their magic and keep banging out great tunes......future headliners at Glasto for certain......
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
These guys are great, fantastic ep. Will be seeing them in Leeds soon, can't wait for what will be a highlight for me this year.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
This showcases the pure talent of a band which is destined for huge success. Catch them live if you can - they're truly awesome!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Great band. Can't wait for the album so that I can listen properly. Saw them live in Steelhouse festival and they were awesome!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Love all tracks & they were free! Can't wait for new album and looking forward to seeing them live at Norwich. Great band!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Great tracks and be good to get the album when its out and look forward to seeing the band live.........
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
If you've experienced this band live and enjoyed their 'Pride' E.P.; this 'Live-takes In a studio' E.P. will keep you happy while you wait for their debut album. It has a slightly different version of 'Only Friend' from 'Pride', bundled with a gloriously frantic version of 'Midnight Black' and a seductively sensitive take of 'Chinese Lanterns'.
All these tracks are gonna be available on the debut album, but these versions are worth grabbing for their immediate live-ish feel.
Many shallow people may say that this bluesy-rock stuff has all been done before, but who cares when these young guys do it so well right now? Afterall, classic orchestral and folk music keep on being played and re-interpreted long after the original formats were perfected, so why not rock? All Music is about enjoyment & entertainment, and these fine musicians obviously enjoy what they do and want to entertain you. Have fun,....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)